See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 80% from 82 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • when we check in the lady quickly showed us round but missed loads to rush back to her mates on the porch.our room door lock was quite loose and only given one key so could not double lock it.The mattress was dipped in middle so my partner found it hard to sleep.The bedding had not been changed as it had stains and hairs on it- took 2 days to get new pillowcase...it was just as dirty.kitchen-empty of all useful tools required.Its a shame as I really wanted to like it here,but I wouldnt go back.
  • 71%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • The location outside downtown was not a problem because the streetcars take 10/15 minutes to go downtown. But there is not even an effort done for the cleanliness of the hostel, and we can wait for a less durty place, even if the prices are very low.
  • 66%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Marie France
  • The location is walking distance to the French Quarter (maybe 25 mins) and is next to Canal St. which is great for catching the trolley. The staff was very friendly and they offer delicious home cooked meals for around $5 which is awesome. The only issue we had was that the bathrooms were always full because only one person can use them at a time, so that was a bit difficult at times. Overall a lovely experience and great value, I would definitely recommend staying here!
  • 77%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Alexandra USA
  • Great location (just a short street car ride to everything), great staff, and the atmosphere was unbeatable. Truly an amazing experience!
  • 97%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Shannon USA
  • This hostel may be for younger group that come to party all night. We had 5 young people (late teens or early 20's) standing in front of our door from 10 p.m. to 2 a.m. talking really loud. They were back in front of our door at 4:30 a.m. Only got 2 1/2 hours sleep. Also, there were no towels for shower. You had to buy one!!!! Being that we had limited space in our backpacks, I had to dry off with the sheet off the bed. My husband was not happy at all. :(
  • 69%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Joany USA
  • Excellent! Great staff, great set up, cheap computer use (although bizarre OS), cheap food with massive portions, comfy beds, party atmosphere, close to street cars, and shops.
  • 91%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Hannah Australia
  • I stayed at two hostels during Mardi Gras this year: India house and Marquette House. India house was so much cleaner and nicer. The showers were fantastic, the living areas are comfy and chill, and the staff was friendly and helpful. If you are choosing between the two, definitely go with India house.
  • 94%
  • 05 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • People live here are very friendly. You can put your food in the refrigerator. You can cook here. The painting on the wall is interesting. The room is really small. That's why most people will stay in the dining room or in the garden. The room smelled very old and wet. not very clean. Just a place to sleep. They provide bicycle for rent. Only two minute walk to the streetcar station. Very convenient to French Quarter. They can help you reserve different tours, shuttle, cab. Very convenien
  • 91%
  • 23 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I loved my stay at the india house. it's as much a part of my NOLA experience as anything else i did there. Awesome set-up, great value on all the rooms, but esp the private rooms. communal feel was great. people from all over had a lil community area to meet and greet and dine (cheap). and the folks that work there are always available, always accomidating. i'll be back and i'm sending anyone i can
  • 86%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Burley USA
  • Amazing!!! I have to say I will certainly be visiting New Orleans again and when I do my first move will be to book with the India house. The staff was very friendly and helpful always. I was new to the ways of a hostel as well as New Orleans, and they were more than happy to help me in any way. The main house, grounds and dorm were beautiful. It gave off great vibes and a very safe and relaxing feeling. I loved everything about the hostel and will be back guaranteed.
  • 100%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »