See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 80% from 85 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I liked staying at India house because of the use of the kitchen and commons areas.
  • 100%
  • 20 Apr 2014 brian USA
  • I wish that I would've been told about the $5 deposit key ahead of time. Also the $80 amount for debit transactions is ridiculous. Please get more comfortable and secure beds.
  • 66%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Ashley USA
  • India House was recommended to me by a friend, and I wasn't disappointed! It's ridiculously easy to get to the city center on the street car, and the staff was very helpful in recommending things to do. I was also great that their front desk is 24/7. I had to check out at 3am and there was still someone there to take my key and see me off. Also the courtyard is a great place to relax and meet other travelers. Some parts of their bathrooms are falling apart a bit, but overall I had a great time.
  • 83%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Gwendolynne USA
  • Very affordable and in great location right by trolly to French Quarter. Accommodations are a bit rustic but everything was clean enough. Had a cute bed and breakfasty vibe. Other reviewers complained about noise but I did not find this to be an issue in the private dorm we rented, maybe go for the slightly more expensive private room if you are not there to party.
  • 71%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Jared USA
  • I was traveling with 3 other friends and we stayed in a 4 bed private room with our own bathroom/shower. The room was clean & perfect for our situation. It allowed us some privacy and personal space while still getting the hostel feel. The staff was very friendly and they have someone at their front desk 24/7 which is nice so you feel safe coming back at 9 pm or 4 am. They also do nightly dinners for $5 and breakfast. This is a nice, cheap way to get some good food quick & close to home.
  • 89%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Suzanne USA
  • when we check in the lady quickly showed us round but missed loads to rush back to her mates on the porch.our room door lock was quite loose and only given one key so could not double lock it.The mattress was dipped in middle so my partner found it hard to sleep.The bedding had not been changed as it had stains and hairs on it- took 2 days to get new pillowcase...it was just as dirty.kitchen-empty of all useful tools required.Its a shame as I really wanted to like it here,but I wouldnt go back.
  • 71%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • The location outside downtown was not a problem because the streetcars take 10/15 minutes to go downtown. But there is not even an effort done for the cleanliness of the hostel, and we can wait for a less durty place, even if the prices are very low.
  • 66%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Marie France
  • The location is walking distance to the French Quarter (maybe 25 mins) and is next to Canal St. which is great for catching the trolley. The staff was very friendly and they offer delicious home cooked meals for around $5 which is awesome. The only issue we had was that the bathrooms were always full because only one person can use them at a time, so that was a bit difficult at times. Overall a lovely experience and great value, I would definitely recommend staying here!
  • 77%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Alexandra USA
  • Great location (just a short street car ride to everything), great staff, and the atmosphere was unbeatable. Truly an amazing experience!
  • 97%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Shannon USA
  • This hostel may be for younger group that come to party all night. We had 5 young people (late teens or early 20's) standing in front of our door from 10 p.m. to 2 a.m. talking really loud. They were back in front of our door at 4:30 a.m. Only got 2 1/2 hours sleep. Also, there were no towels for shower. You had to buy one!!!! Being that we had limited space in our backpacks, I had to dry off with the sheet off the bed. My husband was not happy at all. :(
  • 69%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Joany USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »