See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 81% from 66 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Second time staying, enjoyed it. Good location other than being a little out of the way. Liked the unique and laid back feel of the place. The only real down side I had was the showers didn't have hot water in the dorm the first 2 nights and we had an issue about the deposit. Either the girl at the desk honestly forgot to give us $5 change back from our deposits or she did and we somehow forgot even through we both clearly remember giving her $10 each. Asked for video to clarify, waiting...
  • 86%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent location, trolley stop is 3 min from hostel's door. Apreciated clean bathroom in our room. Free cofee, breakfast and lunch for money. Cozy shared space, swimming pool. We left our food in shared fridge and had nothing to complain. It's mostly a student's place.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jan 2015 Fedor Russia
  • Staff was great. Food was great. Room was A little cold until we alerted the staff and they took care of it immediately.
  • 100%
  • 28 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • THE Hostel to stay at in New Orleans. From the moment you step foot in the front door you realise how much character and history the place has. The staff are friendly and super helpful. The meals are value for money and taste amazing. The common areas are great for sitting around and meeting new people. Do yourself a favour and don't look any further for accommodation!
  • 94%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Andrew Australia
  • Cheap food available all day. Helpful staff. Bathrooms everywhere. No complaints.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jan 2015 Kenneth USA
  • Had a wonderful time! The staff was exceptional, the room was comfortable and quiet, and it was an absolute delight to meet the other guests who came from all over the world and from different walks of life. I would highly recommend India House for a cultured experience with great hospitality. We will be repeat customers for sure!
  • 89%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Casey USA
  • A top hostel!
  • 94%
  • 14 Jan 2015 Janne Finland
  • Excellent community feeling and atmosphere! Loved the ability to have a private room for my small group of four, as well as the ability to be around others traveling also. The location was great, just a step away from the streetcar on Canal Street.
  • 86%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This place is legit! The cook was awesome and sweet. I inhaled the breakfast and its such a good price! Dinner was also really good and cheap! True New Orleans flavor. The atmosphere is fun and the place is so upbeat. We stayed in a private 2 bed room and it had its private bathroom which was a great surprise! Defiantly come back and stay at this place for future visits.
  • 97%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel with wonderful people on bew Orleans. Perfect backpacker atmosphere and many places to hang out!
  • 83%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »