See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 80% from 81 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's an amazing hostel. Near from the street car and the french quarter. The staff is very helpful and nice. The place Is very beautiful and the ambiance great. I was always hanging out on the porch and the people there are great. I recommand it a 100%
  • 91%
  • 25 May 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • People can walk freely in and out of the hostel lobby and main area, with the only checkpoint being the room doors requiring a key. Some of the staff clearly lack the disposition required to work in customer service, being cold and aloof. While the location is decent considering the really low price, it is offset by the poor cleanliness of the place in general - saw cockroaches scurrying in and out of holes and crevices (there was a huge dent/hole in a wall right beside a bed). Very noisy too.
  • 46%
  • 25 May 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • This hostel is great - brilliant communal areas, great atmosphere, seems to be an old institution and works like a well oiled machine. Main complaint, though its not a super serious one, was that they only accept cash payments. Seems pretty silly when they have an online booking system, and the whole place is such a big operation. Anyway, they do have an ATM onsite, though it's withdraw fees are significant.
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2014 Vaughan Australia
  • This is a great place. 24 hour reception was really handy as I didn't end up arriving until midnight. The swimming pool and deck area is a nice place to just chill out and relax. The common area outside is great for having a few drinks and meeting other travelers. Location is really good as it is virtually outside a tram stop so very easy getting to downtown and the French Quarter.
  • 91%
  • 18 May 2014 Anthony New Zealand
  • On the phone the staff was very helpful in confirming reservations, upon arrival (late due to weather en route) the hostel's private rooms had been overbooked, so I had to spend the night in a bunk room. No complaints on the bunk room, just not what I was expecting. The next morning as soon as a room was cleared I was moved in to a Twin Private. The room was very clean and private bathroom were very clean. The only interruption was sound carrying in the AM from people in the hallway.
  • 94%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Overall, a very good expierence. Guests and staff were very friendly, bed was very comfortable. Not so pleased that we paid for a room with an en suite bathroom but got a room with the bathroom down the hall. That being said, we were not so put out with that arrangement as the bathroom was very close. I was dismayed with the amount of mosquitoes in our room caused by a hole in the main house door right next to our room. That should be fixed asap, west nile is not a joke.
  • 77%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I liked staying at India house because of the use of the kitchen and commons areas.
  • 100%
  • 20 Apr 2014 brian USA
  • I wish that I would've been told about the $5 deposit key ahead of time. Also the $80 amount for debit transactions is ridiculous. Please get more comfortable and secure beds.
  • 66%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Ashley USA
  • India House was recommended to me by a friend, and I wasn't disappointed! It's ridiculously easy to get to the city center on the street car, and the staff was very helpful in recommending things to do. I was also great that their front desk is 24/7. I had to check out at 3am and there was still someone there to take my key and see me off. Also the courtyard is a great place to relax and meet other travelers. Some parts of their bathrooms are falling apart a bit, but overall I had a great time.
  • 83%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Gwendolynne USA
  • Very affordable and in great location right by trolly to French Quarter. Accommodations are a bit rustic but everything was clean enough. Had a cute bed and breakfasty vibe. Other reviewers complained about noise but I did not find this to be an issue in the private dorm we rented, maybe go for the slightly more expensive private room if you are not there to party.
  • 71%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Jared USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »