See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 79% from 87 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good Location and Good Atmosphere!
  • 71%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Travis USA
  • Very nice place to meet new people. A little bit too far from downtown but the trolleys run all night long.
  • 80%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous France
  • I was only in New Orleans for a few days and I was out and about for most of those. The India house was comfortable and I was close to public transportation. It looked like a great place to hang out or to just as a layover for your New Orleans adventures.
  • 77%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Terence USA
  • India House was a great place to stay. It was very easy to get to the main attractions of New Orleans on just a few dollars using the street cars and buses. If you stay on Canal and don't venture farther than the first block it feels very safe. Glad for the 24 hour service since we checked in later at night.
  • 80%
  • 09 Oct 2013 Sarah USA
  • The kitchen was pretty well equipped, the oven, especially many refrigerators with enough room, ice etc... But it all doesn't make much sense if you can cook your stuff, but then don't have any silverware to eat it with! You should really do something about that.
  • 71%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Elise Germany
  • The hostel has flair, that is for sure. The neighbourhood is probably not the greatest around New Orleans and if you're looking for someting right at the center, this would not be the right hostel. But getting around is really easy, the street car that takes you downtown is right across the street. The staff is really friendly and helpful and there are always people hanging out around the backyard! If you're up for a little adventure: Go for it!
  • 77%
  • 06 Sep 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Some towels would have been nice.
  • 63%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Everything but the staff is excellent.
  • 77%
  • 29 Jul 2013 John USA
  • Nice place, good value for money, really close to public transportation!
  • 69%
  • 23 Jul 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • I think people who work there do not know the word called "cleaning"
  • 54%
  • 22 Jul 2013 Anonymous Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »