See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 80% from 87 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • 'Clean' sheets had hair on them. It was a very cold night and with the sheets not being clean and the very thin throw blanket they privide it was not enought. If you are staying long maybe pack an additional blanket. My room backed up to the courtyard where the picnic tables were and it was very loud until about midnight. I wouldnt recommend walking around solo at night if you are a girl, the area is a little rough. Over all, I got what I paid for.
  • 63%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Ruthie
  • it is not excellent compare with some other really good one,but i have nothing to complain about. It is a place you can know people and new friends. Bathroom could be better, but I believe if you told the staff they will clean it really soon.
  • 71%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • LOVED OUR TIME IN NEW ORLEANS!
  • 89%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had a hard time trying to cancel first few days. Couldn't do it online without canceling my whole stay and the Mgr was pretty much MIA most of the time and supposedly he was the only one who could reserve a bed. Pretty stressful in the beginning. Lost online deposit also. Hostel Staff was Great and the Hostel was pretty clean, besides roaches in the kitchen....in Dec? The slamming doors downstairs need to be buffered. How hard would that be to do!! Really annoying when your trying to sleep.
  • 66%
  • 27 Dec 2013 sandra USA
  • Enjoyed my stay here. As a solo traveller it was a fantastic hostel to meet likeminded travellers. I would highly recommend this hostel for its price, location and atmosphere. I will be back for sure.
  • 71%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Andrew Australia
  • Come here if you want to have an experience that you won't forget, due to the people you'll meet and international atmosphere due to the travelers constantly coming and going. Stay way if you want luxury, but come on if you stand a little discomfort but want to experience some wonderful moments and meeting new people from all around the world. I have stayed here on three different occasions and every time there is someone new to talk to, to hang out with, and to meet. Highly recommend it!
  • 86%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • If you're young and traveling to New Orleans, this is a great place. The building is old, but regularly cleaned. The staff was nice and helpful. You can just take a street car right into the French Quarter. Day passes are $3. Its less than one block from Canal St.
  • 86%
  • 02 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The only thing that is missing is a recycle bin!!! Not quite popular in NOLA it seems...
  • 89%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Maxime Canada
  • Good location near Canal St. streetcar, or just 1/2 hour walk to French Quarter. Quiet neighborhood but guests, many Australian & British, are quite loud into the night while mostly smoking and drinking outdoors. I stayed in 8-bed female dorm on 2nd floor which had only one bathroom (shower, toilet, sink) so it was usually occupied; another bathroom downstairs & then a few more outside. Sheets & pillow included, but $5 charge for towel. $5 deposit for room key, refunded at check-out.
  • 77%
  • 20 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The building is falling apart and some of the staff are quite rude, but the amazing atmosphere of this hostel completely makes up for it. It's easy to meet people, and I had so much fun there. Loved the cat! Would definitely stay again.
  • 86%
  • 18 Nov 2013 Sara Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »