See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 80% from 78 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Amazing!!! I have to say I will certainly be visiting New Orleans again and when I do my first move will be to book with the India house. The staff was very friendly and helpful always. I was new to the ways of a hostel as well as New Orleans, and they were more than happy to help me in any way. The main house, grounds and dorm were beautiful. It gave off great vibes and a very safe and relaxing feeling. I loved everything about the hostel and will be back guaranteed.
  • 100%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous
  • We loved this place! People were all so kind, both staff and travellers. Very easy to meet people. And location is awesome, just 20 metres away from the trolley taking you to the French Quarter
  • 94%
  • 17 Jan 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • This place was extraordinary! I am over 40 and I was nervous about staying in a hostel with young people. The staff was not as friendly as I expected, when I walked in and said hello, I foolishly expected a response of hello, but they were very knowledgeable about the city and could answer all my questions. India House is NOT a luxury hotel but it was clean, safe, and affordable. Excellent location!!
  • 83%
  • 16 Jan 2014 LaTina USA
  • Where do we start... To pre-emptively explain to you where this review is coming from it must be said that it is being written by two american soldiers. We decided we would like to get away from the job but had to save some cash so we picked a hostel, The India House was our choice. The choice seemed almost by design of the New Orleans Gods. The staff was incredible, The travelers were incredible. The food was incredible. This place is incredible. I will never stay anywhere else in NOLA.
  • 97%
  • 16 Jan 2014 jared
  • 'Clean' sheets had hair on them. It was a very cold night and with the sheets not being clean and the very thin throw blanket they privide it was not enought. If you are staying long maybe pack an additional blanket. My room backed up to the courtyard where the picnic tables were and it was very loud until about midnight. I wouldnt recommend walking around solo at night if you are a girl, the area is a little rough. Over all, I got what I paid for.
  • 63%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Ruthie
  • it is not excellent compare with some other really good one,but i have nothing to complain about. It is a place you can know people and new friends. Bathroom could be better, but I believe if you told the staff they will clean it really soon.
  • 71%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • LOVED OUR TIME IN NEW ORLEANS!
  • 89%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had a hard time trying to cancel first few days. Couldn't do it online without canceling my whole stay and the Mgr was pretty much MIA most of the time and supposedly he was the only one who could reserve a bed. Pretty stressful in the beginning. Lost online deposit also. Hostel Staff was Great and the Hostel was pretty clean, besides roaches in the kitchen....in Dec? The slamming doors downstairs need to be buffered. How hard would that be to do!! Really annoying when your trying to sleep.
  • 66%
  • 27 Dec 2013 sandra USA
  • Enjoyed my stay here. As a solo traveller it was a fantastic hostel to meet likeminded travellers. I would highly recommend this hostel for its price, location and atmosphere. I will be back for sure.
  • 71%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Andrew Australia
  • Come here if you want to have an experience that you won't forget, due to the people you'll meet and international atmosphere due to the travelers constantly coming and going. Stay way if you want luxury, but come on if you stand a little discomfort but want to experience some wonderful moments and meeting new people from all around the world. I have stayed here on three different occasions and every time there is someone new to talk to, to hang out with, and to meet. Highly recommend it!
  • 86%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Anonymous Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »