See other New Orleans properties

India House Backpackers Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 80% from 85 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great outdoor areas, relaxing and easy to meet people. My only negative comment would be that there weren't any dishes or silverware in the kitchen. Styrofoam is BAD!
  • 71%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Devon Canada
  • Friendly and welcoming staff. Good atmosphere. Great value. Trolley available to river and French Quarter.
  • 100%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Michael Ireland
  • The place and meal was sooooo good :D but atmosphere and blanket was ..... I can not say good . But I stayed only one night , so it was no problem :) I wanna stay there again :D
  • 66%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Tomonori Japan
  • Keeping in mind that it is a youth backpackers hostel, it was awesome! It is not a place to stay if you are looking for luxurious accommodations or a whole lot of quiet. We weren't looking for that though. If you want a place where you can meet other awesome travelers and compile a crew for the night within seconds than its the place!
  • 83%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Good Location and Good Atmosphere!
  • 71%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Travis USA
  • Very nice place to meet new people. A little bit too far from downtown but the trolleys run all night long.
  • 80%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous France
  • I was only in New Orleans for a few days and I was out and about for most of those. The India house was comfortable and I was close to public transportation. It looked like a great place to hang out or to just as a layover for your New Orleans adventures.
  • 77%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Terence USA
  • India House was a great place to stay. It was very easy to get to the main attractions of New Orleans on just a few dollars using the street cars and buses. If you stay on Canal and don't venture farther than the first block it feels very safe. Glad for the 24 hour service since we checked in later at night.
  • 80%
  • 09 Oct 2013 Sarah USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »