See other Fukuoka City properties

International Hostel Khaosan Fukuoka

11-34, Hiemachi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka City, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 86% from 18 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Clean place, plenty of bathrooms/showers (rare in NE Asia), friendly and helpful staff, good common space. Kind of far from Hakata station and directions need to be updated as there is also a ¥160 bus direct from FUK international terminal stopping very close to the hostel or there is another subway stop closer (and cheaper) to the hostel than Hakata. They charge ¥1000 if you use the upstairs facilities (kitchen/ TV lounge) after checkout. And why is hostels.com $ conversion rate fraudulent?
  • 77%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very pleasant hostel but my stay was ruined by a snorer in the dormitory.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • The hostel is very good! Staff is awesome, very helpful and informative. Everything is clean, and rooms are really nice! The common room is also great. It's too bad that when we went there, nobody really talked to each other much. But that's not specific to the hostel I guess :) The location is secure, and has combinis all around, but it's a bit away from where you will actually want to go, so do expect a bit of walking or bus riding :-)
  • 91%
  • 05 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • I loved this hostel, good rooms, great atmosphere and friendly guests to hang out with, very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean, free tea and coffee and plenty of guide books and information about Fukuoka and other areas in Kyushu
  • 97%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Matthew England
  • i luv this hostel! it made me soooo happy during my vacation! all of the staff is very nice and kind :D although the location of khaosan is far from subway stn. but i am sure that u never regret to choose this hostel!
  • 91%
  • 05 Mar 2014 INYE South Korea
  • Good location but the directions from Hakata Station was poor (an exit number would be nice!) Facilities were good but there was no real atmosphere in the hostel, felt more like a budget hotel. That being said, still quite comfortable and good value for money.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel is easy to find using the given directions, but it's a bit of a walk from the station. The staff was really nice, and the common room was well furnished. The actual bedroom was a little unimpressive; it was small and outdated. But it served it's purpose well, the beds were comfortable enough for us to get a good night's rest. Overall, for the price, I recommend this hostel. My only complaint is that there didn't seem to be enough showers, and the one I used was a little dirty.
  • 86%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Not just a cheap, clean, soulless place to lay your head....this place actually was a kind of home to me for three days. The volunteers were really professional and yet friendly and personable, the owner was both behind and on the scene making stuff happen, like the free gyoza party (with a coupon for a free sake coming from the hostel). Very clean I gave slight downmarks for location and security but this was personal; I had a bike so location was not an issue, just place to lock bike is all.
  • 94%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • as I said before, outstanding. Location is ok if you want to be near Hakata station, and there's an excellent supermarket nearby. I had a bike so location was immaterial but some would like to be closer to Tenjin; also the lockup area for bikes isn't terrribly secure but that is probably the same for all the rest. Great place, good vibes and people!
  • 100%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel has everything you need.
  • 80%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »