See other Fukuoka City properties

International Hostel Khaosan Fukuoka

11-34, Hiemachi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka City, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 87% from 13 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved this hostel, good rooms, great atmosphere and friendly guests to hang out with, very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean, free tea and coffee and plenty of guide books and information about Fukuoka and other areas in Kyushu
  • 97%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Matthew England
  • i luv this hostel! it made me soooo happy during my vacation! all of the staff is very nice and kind :D although the location of khaosan is far from subway stn. but i am sure that u never regret to choose this hostel!
  • 91%
  • 05 Mar 2014 INYE South Korea
  • Good location but the directions from Hakata Station was poor (an exit number would be nice!) Facilities were good but there was no real atmosphere in the hostel, felt more like a budget hotel. That being said, still quite comfortable and good value for money.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel is easy to find using the given directions, but it's a bit of a walk from the station. The staff was really nice, and the common room was well furnished. The actual bedroom was a little unimpressive; it was small and outdated. But it served it's purpose well, the beds were comfortable enough for us to get a good night's rest. Overall, for the price, I recommend this hostel. My only complaint is that there didn't seem to be enough showers, and the one I used was a little dirty.
  • 86%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Not just a cheap, clean, soulless place to lay your head....this place actually was a kind of home to me for three days. The volunteers were really professional and yet friendly and personable, the owner was both behind and on the scene making stuff happen, like the free gyoza party (with a coupon for a free sake coming from the hostel). Very clean I gave slight downmarks for location and security but this was personal; I had a bike so location was not an issue, just place to lock bike is all.
  • 94%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • as I said before, outstanding. Location is ok if you want to be near Hakata station, and there's an excellent supermarket nearby. I had a bike so location was immaterial but some would like to be closer to Tenjin; also the lockup area for bikes isn't terrribly secure but that is probably the same for all the rest. Great place, good vibes and people!
  • 100%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel has everything you need.
  • 80%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Single room: nothing special; stool was extremely small though. For some weird reason I wasn't greeted back even once by the other residents in my whole three days stay (not the staff's fault).
  • 71%
  • 02 Sep 2013 Harald Germany
  • Nice place, well located. Since we arrived late for check-in they left us a note to call a number for check-in. Rooms were simple and fine (better mattresses than average in Japan)
  • 80%
  • 05 Aug 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »