See other Fukuoka City properties

International Hostel Khaosan Fukuoka

11-34, Hiemachi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka City, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 83% from 15 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is a little bit off the shinkansen station, but still ok. Cleanliness is ok. No dryer, but space on roof to dry clothes.
  • 83%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • the upper berth is noisy !
  • 74%
  • 11 Oct 2014 JIH YANG Taiwan
  • very nice stay, easily can reccomend need a litte bit of renew
  • 97%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • Clean place, plenty of bathrooms/showers (rare in NE Asia), friendly and helpful staff, good common space. Kind of far from Hakata station and directions need to be updated as there is also a ¥160 bus direct from FUK international terminal stopping very close to the hostel or there is another subway stop closer (and cheaper) to the hostel than Hakata. They charge ¥1000 if you use the upstairs facilities (kitchen/ TV lounge) after checkout. And why is hostels.com $ conversion rate fraudulent?
  • 77%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very pleasant hostel but my stay was ruined by a snorer in the dormitory.
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • The hostel is very good! Staff is awesome, very helpful and informative. Everything is clean, and rooms are really nice! The common room is also great. It's too bad that when we went there, nobody really talked to each other much. But that's not specific to the hostel I guess :) The location is secure, and has combinis all around, but it's a bit away from where you will actually want to go, so do expect a bit of walking or bus riding :-)
  • 91%
  • 05 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • I loved this hostel, good rooms, great atmosphere and friendly guests to hang out with, very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean, free tea and coffee and plenty of guide books and information about Fukuoka and other areas in Kyushu
  • 97%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Matthew England
  • i luv this hostel! it made me soooo happy during my vacation! all of the staff is very nice and kind :D although the location of khaosan is far from subway stn. but i am sure that u never regret to choose this hostel!
  • 91%
  • 05 Mar 2014 INYE South Korea
  • Good location but the directions from Hakata Station was poor (an exit number would be nice!) Facilities were good but there was no real atmosphere in the hostel, felt more like a budget hotel. That being said, still quite comfortable and good value for money.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »