See other Washington DC properties

International House of Washington

1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 81% from 30 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed this hostel only 1 night though, stuffs are very kind and the room and bathroom that I used was very clean and good as well. And there is the room for only females. This is great for safety of women. Another reason that I recommend this Hostel is location! It's close to the subway station, maybe only 3 minutes walk. I had a amazing time! :)
  • 83%
  • 20 Nov 2015 Anonymous
  • Really enjoyed this place. The room was rather small, but what can you say, it was super cheap! the location was great and very convenient! The facilities were lacking but I didn't spend too much time in the room so it's okay. I really enjoyed speaking to the staff though, Barbara and Zoe are very friendly, helpful and often invited me out with them! Great time at this hostel!
  • 83%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Huong USA
  • Nice hostel, clean, quiet plus cooking staff & air condition. It's worth money. The people there also allowed me to check in at 11 am! 3-min walk to subway. You better look for the building address number on street - there is no sign of the hotel name.
  • 89%
  • 29 Sep 2015 Tanakarn Thailand
  • The staff were really friendly and very very helpful. The only think at fault was when I arrived there was no staff members around to check in so didn't know what to do. Luckily another guest let me in. Other than that I really liked the hostel and would stay again.
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Tara England
  • Even though the staff was very friendly and the location was pretty nice, you really should go somewhere else. It is really dirty, the air conditioner is noisy and it feels like everything you touch is broken. After I've been in the bathroom, I felt dirtier than before. At top of that, I saw a mouse climbing out of the toaster, which everybody used in the morning.
  • 54%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Anonymous Austria
  • Because it was convenient for the work I was doing, I stayed here most often. The place is extroardinarily warm, I felt more and more at home. It was smaller and more intimate. The lockers are accessible and very large, which is unfortunately rare. You get a proper bed, not a bunk, for the price of a bunk at many other hostels. The check in process can be a bit slow, but bear with it - you have to realize, the place has a different style; in the end, I'd trade the efficiency for warmth.
  • 100%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Nitin USA
  • The old guy was kind of funny, and all the female roommates are quite nice. The location is close to the China Town, and it is in the middle to the Capitol and the White House, so it was quite convenient. The house gave you supermarket card to save money, and provide easy and simple breakfast and dinner, like cereal, fruits, rice, and instant noodles. I feel much happier to stay here, although the facilities are not so brand new, the house gives a feeling of home, and help you to feel good.
  • 71%
  • 31 Jul 2015 DONGDONG China
  • This was my first time booking a hostel and I'm really glad I did it, had a fantastic time beyond my expectations! I was fortunate to have picked a hostel closer to the city center than one cheaper but farther. The location was pretty optimal and was well worth the extra money. We were near a capital bikeshare station, a metro station, and Chinatown with a lot of restaurants. Everyone was truly international, social, and interesting. We felt safe and secure inside and outside the hostel.
  • 94%
  • 27 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • A localização do Hostel é excelente!! Fica ao lado da estação de metrô, perto de supermercado e dos monumentos. A única coisa a desejar é a limpeza.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Ana Brazil
  • Great stay, close to everything, and cozy atmosphere :)
  • 91%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Fernando Bolivia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »