See other Washington DC properties

International House of Washington

1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 89% from 47 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was a great location for my purposes in Washington DC. Quiet. They do not have a secure luggage keep. If you arrive early with luggage, or check out at 10am and want them keep your luggage for a few hours, they just leave it sitting in the living room.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Linda USA
  • It really is a good place to stay. Enjoy your trip there!
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
  • The owner is very very friendly, we had great talks, he showed me on a map all the nice places to go to and he was working very hard (all day and all night long) to be available to answer any questions the visitors could have. I had a great stay and I hope you'll keep this place as nice as it is! Thank you very much from Belgium!
  • 86%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous France
  • it's a nice place.It is clean and good location.the staff is very kind and give you a lot of suggestions for your tour.i will choose it again next time.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2014 LIYAN China
  • Excellent, Personal, and International. Stayed for 2 days. I was greeted with full, personal customer service. Ideally, I would have loved to stay at a hotel. However, after my stay, I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to experience the International House of Washington. Everyone is really friendly, internationally minded, and unique. Communal and warm. 5 stars.
  • 97%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Gabriela Venezuela
  • It's a very good hostel because of the nice staff. They told me where to go and what to see and where I could get cheap food :) He even helped me carry my lauguge to the 4th floor without extra fee! So amazing that can be happened in the US!!! The hostel is very clean and the room is big among most of the hostels with this price.
  • 91%
  • 15 May 2014 Yanwei China
  • Nice location close to the national monument
  • 80%
  • 14 May 2014 CHI USA
  • The owner was very nice and helpful, took me in when I couldn't find anywhere else to stay, twice. Also provided a lot of tips and directions. With lesser than usual beds in each room, this place is more like a house than a hotel, and the atmosphere is more friendly.
  • 94%
  • 14 May 2014 Yibo
  • the location is good. we walk to the attractions everyday. all the staffs are friendly.
  • 94%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous
  • I stayed at this hostel from April 30th to May 3th. It was located near the China town and a big supermarket. The White House was 15minutes away and US Capital and Lincoln Memorial were 20 minutes away, so it was very convenient. Especially this hostel staff was very kind. His explanation with maps was very helpful to travel around. I want to say "Thank you" to him.
  • 100%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »