See other Washington DC properties

International House of Washington

1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 84% from 53 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a great experience at this hostel--friendly staff, great value for booking the day before, spacious mixed dorm room and a great location.
  • 89%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A very cluttered room. The room wasn't clean. We got too many bites when we were there. Blood on one mattress and public hair in the uncleaned shower. Very disappointed and wouldn't return.
  • 31%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Lisa Ireland
  • Great location and friendly staff. More than one bathroom up near the bedrooms would be ideal but this is one annoying issue amongst a sea of highlights.
  • 86%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Ryan Australia
  • It was like my house. You can even do the ironing. Everything is avaliable from boiler,to microwave.. One of the things i liked very much is that huge lockers are provided including the locks. You can fit even 2 suitcases in it, that big. So you do not feel worried when you are not in the hostel. The owner is very kind and helpful, gives a very nice map of sightseeing Washington. You can easily walk around using the map. You can also take ur souvenir for free when leaving:)
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2014 selim Turkey
  • Good location but poor facilities and breakfast was restricted. All in all Ok because it's very close to the center and you meet new people in this place.
  • 51%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Duygu Germany
  • Great location, nice staff, and a fantastic way to meet with other travelers to DC from all over the world!
  • 91%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • Distribution of beds were confusing and some of my things were taken, they didn't try to facilitate anything with the existing people staying. They didn't mention really to anything. Some of the people had stayed for eight weeks.
  • 57%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Devin USA
  • I really wish that would be something for me to evaluate about this hostels. But I got there by 10pm on a friday night (the hostels policy said the check in would be til 11pm), and simply didn't get an answer. The doors were closed, the phone they sent me simply didn't answer and no one came to the door to answer me. I was just lucky enought to have some friends staying in another hostel and they managed to get me a bed there, otherwise I would have slept in the streets.
  • 29%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Renata Brazil
  • It was a great location for my purposes in Washington DC. Quiet. They do not have a secure luggage keep. If you arrive early with luggage, or check out at 10am and want them keep your luggage for a few hours, they just leave it sitting in the living room.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Linda USA
  • It really is a good place to stay. Enjoy your trip there!
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »