See other Washington DC properties

International House of Washington

1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 89% from 45 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • it's a nice place.It is clean and good location.the staff is very kind and give you a lot of suggestions for your tour.i will choose it again next time.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2014 LIYAN China
  • Excellent, Personal, and International. Stayed for 2 days. I was greeted with full, personal customer service. Ideally, I would have loved to stay at a hotel. However, after my stay, I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to experience the International House of Washington. Everyone is really friendly, internationally minded, and unique. Communal and warm. 5 stars.
  • 97%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Gabriela Venezuela
  • It's a very good hostel because of the nice staff. They told me where to go and what to see and where I could get cheap food :) He even helped me carry my lauguge to the 4th floor without extra fee! So amazing that can be happened in the US!!! The hostel is very clean and the room is big among most of the hostels with this price.
  • 91%
  • 15 May 2014 Yanwei China
  • Nice location close to the national monument
  • 80%
  • 14 May 2014 CHI USA
  • The owner was very nice and helpful, took me in when I couldn't find anywhere else to stay, twice. Also provided a lot of tips and directions. With lesser than usual beds in each room, this place is more like a house than a hotel, and the atmosphere is more friendly.
  • 94%
  • 14 May 2014 Yibo
  • the location is good. we walk to the attractions everyday. all the staffs are friendly.
  • 94%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous
  • I stayed at this hostel from April 30th to May 3th. It was located near the China town and a big supermarket. The White House was 15minutes away and US Capital and Lincoln Memorial were 20 minutes away, so it was very convenient. Especially this hostel staff was very kind. His explanation with maps was very helpful to travel around. I want to say "Thank you" to him.
  • 100%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Jeepers creepers! I thought I was in front of the wrong place when I arrived. What a bizarre place. Crooked stairs, strange host, red snag carpet in the lockers, overly warm bedroom (I could hardly sleep it was so hot). If I hadn't been so exhausted, I would have left immediately. Pros - the host did stay up to let me in.
  • 34%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location is close to major sightseeing spot but around the hostel, looks not good neighbours and loud at night.
  • 54%
  • 28 Mar 2014 shunsuke Japan
  • I love this hotel!!!!! the breakfast was good! the service is good! the location is good!( not far from subway and very closed to supermarket, the hotel also will give you discount card to buy the stuffs in supermarket!) eapecially the people there!!! I love samia !!!!she was so nice, friendly, kind and helped us a lot. I left my iPad there and she helped me keep it and figure out a way to send it back!!!! I appreciate all the things she did for us!!!!! Highly recommend this hotel!
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »