See other Washington DC properties

International House of Washington

1110 6th st. nw, Washington, DC, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 83% from 26 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • really nice stuff! We had a great stay.
  • 94%
  • 12 Dec 2015 David Germany
  • The hostel is very good isutated, 15 minutes walking from the munoments. I arrived at 1h30 of the night, and someone was here to welcome me (you need to call before, and also to pay a 10 $ fee for late arriving). The room was clean, you have a small closet with a locker with a key, that is great. Just, when you pay, the taxes are not included and they forgot to tell me about the late arriving fee. Well, it was cool.
  • 77%
  • 04 Dec 2015 Juliette France
  • I stayed this hostel only 1 night though, stuffs are very kind and the room and bathroom that I used was very clean and good as well. And there is the room for only females. This is great for safety of women. Another reason that I recommend this Hostel is location! It's close to the subway station, maybe only 3 minutes walk. I had a amazing time! :)
  • 83%
  • 20 Nov 2015 Anonymous
  • Really enjoyed this place. The room was rather small, but what can you say, it was super cheap! the location was great and very convenient! The facilities were lacking but I didn't spend too much time in the room so it's okay. I really enjoyed speaking to the staff though, Barbara and Zoe are very friendly, helpful and often invited me out with them! Great time at this hostel!
  • 83%
  • 17 Oct 2015 Huong USA
  • Nice hostel, clean, quiet plus cooking staff & air condition. It's worth money. The people there also allowed me to check in at 11 am! 3-min walk to subway. You better look for the building address number on street - there is no sign of the hotel name.
  • 89%
  • 29 Sep 2015 Tanakarn Thailand
  • The staff were really friendly and very very helpful. The only think at fault was when I arrived there was no staff members around to check in so didn't know what to do. Luckily another guest let me in. Other than that I really liked the hostel and would stay again.
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Tara England
  • Even though the staff was very friendly and the location was pretty nice, you really should go somewhere else. It is really dirty, the air conditioner is noisy and it feels like everything you touch is broken. After I've been in the bathroom, I felt dirtier than before. At top of that, I saw a mouse climbing out of the toaster, which everybody used in the morning.
  • 54%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Anonymous Austria
  • Because it was convenient for the work I was doing, I stayed here most often. The place is extroardinarily warm, I felt more and more at home. It was smaller and more intimate. The lockers are accessible and very large, which is unfortunately rare. You get a proper bed, not a bunk, for the price of a bunk at many other hostels. The check in process can be a bit slow, but bear with it - you have to realize, the place has a different style; in the end, I'd trade the efficiency for warmth.
  • 100%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Nitin USA
  • The old guy was kind of funny, and all the female roommates are quite nice. The location is close to the China Town, and it is in the middle to the Capitol and the White House, so it was quite convenient. The house gave you supermarket card to save money, and provide easy and simple breakfast and dinner, like cereal, fruits, rice, and instant noodles. I feel much happier to stay here, although the facilities are not so brand new, the house gives a feeling of home, and help you to feel good.
  • 71%
  • 31 Jul 2015 DONGDONG China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »