See other New York properties

International Student Center

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 73% from 34 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good enough to sleep ONLY. That's all I can give to this place. The location sure is great! 2 blocks from central park, but the place itself looks kind of sad and abandoned. It appears to be clean but could be better. ( a roach crawled up my friend's backpack while checking in) staff too serious, only the girl would give you a smile now and then, the other two guys barely speak lol.
  • 63%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Would have liked to see some additional services such as towel and lock rental / sale.
  • 77%
  • 12 Jun 2014 William USA
  • Location is prime! Proximity to subway was great. Facilities were average. Wish that lockers were available in rooms - felt a little worried about leaving my stuff on my bed. A/C units would be a great addition in bedrooms.
  • 74%
  • 26 May 2014 Lauren USA
  • very good
  • 100%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous China
  • I like the hostel. I wish there was a bit more ventilation in the bathroom because it got super moist after somebody took a shower.
  • 80%
  • 12 May 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • You have to leave your baggage at the door and there is NO wi-fi. It is weird because it is 2014 and New York!!!
  • 43%
  • 10 May 2014 Gokhan Turkey
  • The most horrible place of those that I have attended. Disgusting attitude of staff to clients. The main attraction - you need to leave the suitcase at the reception! and all things out of the suitcase you can take in room in the hands or bags! The kitchen is dirty. There is not even a kettle. The only plus of this hostel - its location and all!!
  • 31%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Natalia Russia
  • The location is half a block from central park and half a block from decently priced restaurants and bars. The neighborhood is fairly upscale, and I never felt unsafe. It is indeed rather hard to spot, especially if you'll arrive after the sun sets, but it's nestled in between some beautiful brownstone townhomes, almost exactly halfway down the block, face south and you should be right there. An overall great experience on my first trip to NY, I recommend this hostel and will stay here again!
  • 100%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Not for a party animal! You have to leave all your luggages down stair and it's very inconvenient because the office that you leave you luggages is close at 11pm! Plus in the morning you have to leave the hotel at 11am because it's close to clean the room!!!!!!!
  • 71%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Very nice place to spent time in new york city. The staff is so nice people. I'm very happy to book my order there.
  • 100%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous Peru
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Undoubtedly one of the prettiest and most other-worldly sights you're going to see on this planet, this natural phenom is caused by the collision of electrically charged particles from the sun. To us, it's an eerie sheet of coloured light, like a big rave in the sky. And here are the top spots to watch it!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »