See other New York properties

International Student Center

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 73% from 20 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location!! Cheap and nice service. The room have stinky smell because it's a old building. There is not enough plug in to charge a mobile phone for everyone in the room. However, it's worth the price $50 per bed
  • 66%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Anonymous Thailand
  • Not very clean but in a nice Neighborhood. You can not take your luggage in to your room, they will close the office from 11pm until 8am so you can not reach your staff ! No Wifi.
  • 57%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Carlotta Germany
  • Amazing location, steps from the AMNH, Central Park, and the subway, really fun staff, I found the other guests really fun, too (though I guess this is a matter of chance), didn't feel sketched out at all, good kitchen, and well stocked. Loved it. Loved it! And if you're lucky, you can get wifi from a neighbour guest account, so there's that, if you're worried. Otherwise, there's a Starbucks a block and a half away, and wifi almost everywhere in NYC.
  • 100%
  • 21 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This really doesn't feel like a hostel. There was hardly anyone there when I stayed there which is either a good or a bad thing depending how you look at it.
  • 63%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Richard Wales
  • Staff was kinda rude to me. Location is ok, easy access by subway. It's not really clean and they don't have wifi. Also, you have to pay if you want to leave your bags before/after check in/out. First hostel I've seen doing that. If it's something just to spend the night, it's fine. But if you're staying more than a couple of days there are some other options in NYC that would fit best.
  • 71%
  • 20 Mar 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Just a decent place to crash. If you are a mysophobic, you should find another place. A little away from Midtown Manhattan but still accessible via Metro. Basement lounge is quite cozy and lots of sofa. It was funny that there was no ladder for the upper bunk in my room! Anyways, friendly staff and very convenient if your itinerary is visiting Central Park and nearby Museums. Everyone's young there due to the age limit so it is not that awkward as opposed to older folks.
  • 66%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Really good hostel for position, atmosphere, socialization and price. Some service could be improved; for example there should be a wi-fi connection. The level of services offered seem anyway more than good, considering the cheap price paid per night.
  • 91%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Carlo Italy
  • The staff was beyond amazing and accommodating. I stayed several nights and they were always pleasant to coordinate with and helped me immensely with my travels. The hostel is an amazing safe neighborhood with lots of bars and restaurants and such within walking distant. The basement with the lounge was great and the have a fully operational kitchen available for use at all hours of the day. They also have lockers for storage and go above and beyond to foster a communal atmosphere.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jan 2015 Mark USA
  • My assigned bed was taken when I arrived early in the morning, so I took another and told the staff that I had switched. I told the guy at the reception that I had switched beds a bit later, just to be sure, and I was told that everything was ok. I went out for a walk in the park, and when I came back they had moved all my stuff from the bed and placed it in a "free" basket for people to serve themselves. Not cool.
  • 74%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • The people in the hostel were mostly around their twenties
  • 63%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Cecilia Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »