See other New York properties

International Student Center

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 78% from 21 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was beyond amazing and accommodating. I stayed several nights and they were always pleasant to coordinate with and helped me immensely with my travels. The hostel is an amazing safe neighborhood with lots of bars and restaurants and such within walking distant. The basement with the lounge was great and the have a fully operational kitchen available for use at all hours of the day. They also have lockers for storage and go above and beyond to foster a communal atmosphere.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jan 2015 Mark USA
  • The people in the hostel were mostly around their twenties
  • 63%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Cecilia Argentina
  • I had a great time there the staff is really cool and the location of the place is perfect! You can feel the real spirit of New York! Upper west side is a great place to stay. We were 10 people in a room but everyone was quiet so i managed to sleep very well troughout my entire stay.Downstairs you can find a nice big livingroom with a kitchen. You can cook and meet new people from all over the world. Or you can just watch TV or play games (they have like tones of games). I had a great time ! :)
  • 97%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • Good enough to sleep ONLY. That's all I can give to this place. The location sure is great! 2 blocks from central park, but the place itself looks kind of sad and abandoned. It appears to be clean but could be better. ( a roach crawled up my friend's backpack while checking in) staff too serious, only the girl would give you a smile now and then, the other two guys barely speak lol.
  • 63%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Would have liked to see some additional services such as towel and lock rental / sale.
  • 77%
  • 12 Jun 2014 William USA
  • Location is prime! Proximity to subway was great. Facilities were average. Wish that lockers were available in rooms - felt a little worried about leaving my stuff on my bed. A/C units would be a great addition in bedrooms.
  • 74%
  • 26 May 2014 Lauren USA
  • very good
  • 100%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous China
  • I like the hostel. I wish there was a bit more ventilation in the bathroom because it got super moist after somebody took a shower.
  • 80%
  • 12 May 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • You have to leave your baggage at the door and there is NO wi-fi. It is weird because it is 2014 and New York!!!
  • 43%
  • 10 May 2014 Gokhan Turkey
  • The most horrible place of those that I have attended. Disgusting attitude of staff to clients. The main attraction - you need to leave the suitcase at the reception! and all things out of the suitcase you can take in room in the hands or bags! The kitchen is dirty. There is not even a kettle. The only plus of this hostel - its location and all!!
  • 31%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Natalia Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »