See other New York properties

International Student Center

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 74% from 52 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location is half a block from central park and half a block from decently priced restaurants and bars. The neighborhood is fairly upscale, and I never felt unsafe. It is indeed rather hard to spot, especially if you'll arrive after the sun sets, but it's nestled in between some beautiful brownstone townhomes, almost exactly halfway down the block, face south and you should be right there. An overall great experience on my first trip to NY, I recommend this hostel and will stay here again!
  • 100%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Not for a party animal! You have to leave all your luggages down stair and it's very inconvenient because the office that you leave you luggages is close at 11pm! Plus in the morning you have to leave the hotel at 11am because it's close to clean the room!!!!!!!
  • 71%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Very nice place to spent time in new york city. The staff is so nice people. I'm very happy to book my order there.
  • 100%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous Peru
  • The rooms are crowded and they are always open, there is no lock, so anyone can enter to your bedroom. There is no policy of noise, so people enter to the room at 3am drunk and making noise because nobody say anything.
  • 57%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Jose Vasquez (sorry in advance if I didn't get your last name right) who works front desk is an amazing person, friendly, attentive, and enthusiastic. He will make your stay a very satisfying one.
  • 100%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Giang
  • My experience was bad because mu flight from los angeles got 5hours delay because of the snow and when I reach nyc at 4am I went to the hostel and it was closed since 11pm. So I had to take a cab and find another hostel to stay. Thats why I didnt had a good experience with that hostel.
  • 51%
  • 03 Feb 2014 Tatiana Brazil
  • Having only one bathroom for a shared dorm space was a bit inconvenient but otherwise, most of the stay was average, not great but not terrible
  • 57%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Todras USA
  • - very unfriendly staff - no wifi but possibility to use internet on their computers for 1$/min - borrowing towels costs extra (1$) - very rude signs ("items left in the bathrooms will be thrown away") - i really didn't enjoy my stay
  • 43%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Benjamin Germany
  • NO WIFI..........
  • 74%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »