See other New York properties

International Student Center

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 77% from 20 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff was kinda rude to me. Location is ok, easy access by subway. It's not really clean and they don't have wifi. Also, you have to pay if you want to leave your bags before/after check in/out. First hostel I've seen doing that. If it's something just to spend the night, it's fine. But if you're staying more than a couple of days there are some other options in NYC that would fit best.
  • 71%
  • 20 Mar 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Just a decent place to crash. If you are a mysophobic, you should find another place. A little away from Midtown Manhattan but still accessible via Metro. Basement lounge is quite cozy and lots of sofa. It was funny that there was no ladder for the upper bunk in my room! Anyways, friendly staff and very convenient if your itinerary is visiting Central Park and nearby Museums. Everyone's young there due to the age limit so it is not that awkward as opposed to older folks.
  • 66%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Really good hostel for position, atmosphere, socialization and price. Some service could be improved; for example there should be a wi-fi connection. The level of services offered seem anyway more than good, considering the cheap price paid per night.
  • 91%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Carlo Italy
  • The staff was beyond amazing and accommodating. I stayed several nights and they were always pleasant to coordinate with and helped me immensely with my travels. The hostel is an amazing safe neighborhood with lots of bars and restaurants and such within walking distant. The basement with the lounge was great and the have a fully operational kitchen available for use at all hours of the day. They also have lockers for storage and go above and beyond to foster a communal atmosphere.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jan 2015 Mark USA
  • The people in the hostel were mostly around their twenties
  • 63%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Cecilia Argentina
  • I had a great time there the staff is really cool and the location of the place is perfect! You can feel the real spirit of New York! Upper west side is a great place to stay. We were 10 people in a room but everyone was quiet so i managed to sleep very well troughout my entire stay.Downstairs you can find a nice big livingroom with a kitchen. You can cook and meet new people from all over the world. Or you can just watch TV or play games (they have like tones of games). I had a great time ! :)
  • 97%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • Good enough to sleep ONLY. That's all I can give to this place. The location sure is great! 2 blocks from central park, but the place itself looks kind of sad and abandoned. It appears to be clean but could be better. ( a roach crawled up my friend's backpack while checking in) staff too serious, only the girl would give you a smile now and then, the other two guys barely speak lol.
  • 63%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Would have liked to see some additional services such as towel and lock rental / sale.
  • 77%
  • 12 Jun 2014 William USA
  • Location is prime! Proximity to subway was great. Facilities were average. Wish that lockers were available in rooms - felt a little worried about leaving my stuff on my bed. A/C units would be a great addition in bedrooms.
  • 74%
  • 26 May 2014 Lauren USA
  • very good
  • 100%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »