See other New York properties

International Student Center

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 73% from 34 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The rooms are crowded and they are always open, there is no lock, so anyone can enter to your bedroom. There is no policy of noise, so people enter to the room at 3am drunk and making noise because nobody say anything.
  • 57%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Jose Vasquez (sorry in advance if I didn't get your last name right) who works front desk is an amazing person, friendly, attentive, and enthusiastic. He will make your stay a very satisfying one.
  • 100%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Giang
  • My experience was bad because mu flight from los angeles got 5hours delay because of the snow and when I reach nyc at 4am I went to the hostel and it was closed since 11pm. So I had to take a cab and find another hostel to stay. Thats why I didnt had a good experience with that hostel.
  • 51%
  • 03 Feb 2014 Tatiana Brazil
  • Having only one bathroom for a shared dorm space was a bit inconvenient but otherwise, most of the stay was average, not great but not terrible
  • 57%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Todras USA
  • - very unfriendly staff - no wifi but possibility to use internet on their computers for 1$/min - borrowing towels costs extra (1$) - very rude signs ("items left in the bathrooms will be thrown away") - i really didn't enjoy my stay
  • 43%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Benjamin Germany
  • NO WIFI..........
  • 74%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • You have to pay for everything because there is nothing inclused in this hostel. No lockers, no internet, no breakfast. The only thing really good is the price
  • 66%
  • 11 Dec 2013 Ana Carolina Brazil
  • Overall a lovely place to stay in NY. Be prepared to either get out your walking boots or pay up for the subway as is a fair hike into the city centre. Kitchen could do with being a little bigger as lots of people all trying to cook at the same time. Shower cubicles would make the morning queue go down quicker than one bathroom between 10. However the atmosphere was great and met lots of lovely people.
  • 83%
  • 20 Nov 2013 Charlie England
  • The only downpoint is the lack of wifi, which for international travelers is a big problem! Other then that I had a great experience.
  • 94%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Pedro Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »