See other New York properties

International Student Center

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.7km

Rating: 71% from 43 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 69%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There was no Wifi. It was the biggest problem for me. How can we search New York without internet? The building was very old enough to feel tilt especially stairs. No room keys. We had to leave luggage in the front desk any time. To carry my stuff from there to room on 3rd floor back and forth. That was tough. I stayed in this hostel for only one night, and I felt one night was enough.
  • 66%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • I don't understand how anyone could complain about this place - it's in a great location in Manhattan and at a price which you would struggle to beat even if you looked at places further out in Brooklyn. The whole luggage thing is a bit of a pain but it is nice to have a dorm room which doesn't look like a teenagers bedroom.
  • 89%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Anonymous England
  • no wifi ,no charger near the bed ,and just a thin blanket ,feel so cold at night.but the location is perfect.and the living room is good.
  • 86%
  • 15 Sep 2013 Anonymous China
  • Had no wifi
  • 66%
  • 06 Sep 2013 Adam England
  • No wifi sucked being an international traveller , since most of our phones only work on wifi networks. Location was great, safe and very easy to get around.
  • 71%
  • 06 Sep 2013 D-DRE South Africa
  • Horrible! I couldn't go with my bag to the room! The bathroom was all dirty!
  • 37%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Raquel Brazil
  • Aweful. Very bad experience. We can not take the bag in the room so : so privacy because we need to take our stuff in front of everyone. No wifi. Staff not friendly. No air conditioner ! It was so hot we couldn't sleep ! Except the location (Close to Central Park) nothing was good.... For this price if you are a group of people you better take a hotel
  • 40%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Berenice France
  • The location was very good but the place was dirty and hot. I mean its really cheap but there should be cleaner bathrooms.
  • 57%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Blessing USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »