See other New York properties

International Students Residence

341 Broadway, Brooklyn, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.3km

Rating: 75% from 60 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is good if you have like no other options. There's no privacy at all whatsoever. The dorms are essentially cubicles with high side walls, but you have no ceiling, so u can hear when your neighbors move in their beds, look through their luggages, everyone has to whisper at night. The private rooms are Surrounded by the other dorms, so I had no noise privacy and heard everything around me. Pretty cheap concept. Come on guys, really? Finish the work, your walls aren't tall enough!
  • 57%
  • 11 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Hordes of teens and tweens, apparently on some kind of foreign-exchange program, make this hostel uncomfortable to stay in. They shout, run down hallways, slam doors, and take over all common areas — and the hostel doesn't seem to mind. I think the hostel should either cater to them or regular adult guests, not both. That the property has two names — Int'l Students Residence and B Hotel — makes it unclear which guests are prefered.
  • 74%
  • 24 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Miserable staying here, don't expect to be able to sleep at all. You can hear everything on the entire floor.
  • 40%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Cleanliness of restroom could be a little bit better. Rooms are ok but to this day I don't get it idea of sleeping in open space... if someone snore or talk- everyone has it listen it, even if it middle of the night.
  • 74%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • The hostel has a really good kitchen, also has couches with a TV, pool table and fuss ball table. Unfortunately, I wouldn't of been able to get any sleep at all if I didn't have headphones. The wall to the room don't go all the way to the top so you can hear EVERYTHING! The rooms are also very cramped so if you like your space you won't like it. They clean the bathrooms daily which is good.
  • 66%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Lauren
  • Umm..doesn't have a roof on the roof, so you're basically sleeping in a cubical with walls and a door. I hated it! I hated hearing everyone, hearing the bunk beds squeak, hearing the conversations everyone was having, I hated every second that I had to spend there. No matter how cheap, it's still not worth it!!!
  • 46%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Rochelle Australia
  • I enjoyed my experience at B Hostel. As long as you come in knowing that you will hear people in other rooms and that the bathroom stalls are somewhat see-through on the sides, you will have no other major problems owing to the hostel. The common area is nice and big and stays open late into the night, so if you dont feel like going out to a bar, you can hang out in the lounge and still meet cool people!
  • 83%
  • 27 Jul 2015 Jamie USA
  • Great location, only about a block from the nearest subway stop, and lots of nearby shops and restaurants. The bathrooms and showers looked new and were very clean. My only complaints are that the rooms were a bit cramped, and because the walls don't go all the way to the ceiling, there isn't much sound privacy between rooms. However, they do provide free earplugs at the front desk. Overall, I had a comfortable stay and found it to be a good value for the price.
  • 89%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Walls don't go all the way to the ceiling therefore you'll hear every footstep, alarm clock, snore and whatnot of the twenty people in adjacent rooms.
  • 74%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Anonymous Hungary
  • B Hotel is great if you are not: 1) over 6' 2) a light sleeper 3) expecting privacy The bunk beds are too short for a 6ft 3in fellow like myself. The trains roaring past or the sounds of other guests will keep up light sleepers. And the walls don't go to the ceiling, so the people around you can hear much of what you do. Still, it's dirt cheap, spotlessly clean, and in an awesome neighborhood. Perfect for many.
  • 71%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Adam USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »