See other New York properties

International Students Residence

2147 2nd avenue, Manhattan, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 76% from 30 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice hostel Stayed in westway before, i liked the int students residence way more. Nice large room, modern and big bathroom and kitchen in your own dorm room. If you're arriving before check in time and hope they'll watch your bag, no. You can leave it next to the reception, but they don't check who is picking it up again.
  • 71%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Jeroen Netherlands
  • The cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in! Loved, loved, loved, my room!
  • 100%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I booked one night before I arrive 3 days before. Then I received an email from the hostel saying that they can't give me a place to stay on the day I arrived. They wasted my deposit and booking fee and precious time in New York cause I had to find another place at the same day I arrived. And I barely can find a place to stay. They are not responsible and professional! Avoid this hostel and Don't take this risk.
  • 20%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I got to the hostel and was told that unfortunately they had overbooked and had sent an email informing me, I could not access said email as I had no internet connection. When I did eventually see the e mail it was sent just over 3 hours before I was due to arrive at the hostel, I had no choice but accept there offer to put me in another hostel in queens not Brooklyn. Overall the organization was extremely poor I would not recommend using this hostel
  • 20%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Paul England
  • Very clean organized. it would be better if larger lockers were provided so that guest can lock their suitcase and everything.
  • 94%
  • 17 Aug 2014 selim Turkey
  • Essentially a brand new condo building that had new flooring, new lighting, new bedding and bunks.Super clean. It's not exactly right next to time square, but in my opinion there is no such thing as being "far away" from anything in Manhattan, NY. The subway was like 2 blocks away which is fine. I don't care where you stay, you have to use the subway anyway. The only down side is that the lockers are fairly small, although someone is at the front desk 24/7 so you can have them watch your stuff.
  • 89%
  • 15 Aug 2014 BRanon Canada
  • It was a great place to stay. I strongly recommend. clean, organized, helpful and kind staff. There is an oven and many pans to fry and cook something but it would be great if there was a microwave too:).
  • 94%
  • 13 Aug 2014 selim Turkey
  • The hostel is very clean and the bed and shower are good. The room is big and has an inside kitchen, which can be useful. The location is not so good. I didnt feel safe at the neighbourhood, but the subway is two blocks away. At nights is. Better to take a taxi.
  • 77%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I had previously stayed in another hostel years ago and it was disgusting. I was booked at a hotel but lost my job so had to change. I wasn't expecting much but I was VERY IMPRESSED! The room (or apartment) was big.. Only complaint I have is I had asked the girl at front desk if anyone in a bottom bunk was leaving in the next few days so I could swap and she said no. Got back next day and it was free so went to her and she said sorry already given it to someone else.
  • 97%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Tracey Australia
  • The room and lounge are excellent. It's near to the subway and another facilities (laundry, market, bus). Good option to save money.
  • 94%
  • 31 May 2014 Luiz Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »