See other New York properties

International Students Residence

2147 2nd avenue, Manhattan, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 80% from 21 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Essentially a brand new condo building that had new flooring, new lighting, new bedding and bunks.Super clean. It's not exactly right next to time square, but in my opinion there is no such thing as being "far away" from anything in Manhattan, NY. The subway was like 2 blocks away which is fine. I don't care where you stay, you have to use the subway anyway. The only down side is that the lockers are fairly small, although someone is at the front desk 24/7 so you can have them watch your stuff.
  • 89%
  • 15 Aug 2014 BRanon Canada
  • The hostel is very clean and the bed and shower are good. The room is big and has an inside kitchen, which can be useful. The location is not so good. I didnt feel safe at the neighbourhood, but the subway is two blocks away. At nights is. Better to take a taxi.
  • 77%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I had previously stayed in another hostel years ago and it was disgusting. I was booked at a hotel but lost my job so had to change. I wasn't expecting much but I was VERY IMPRESSED! The room (or apartment) was big.. Only complaint I have is I had asked the girl at front desk if anyone in a bottom bunk was leaving in the next few days so I could swap and she said no. Got back next day and it was free so went to her and she said sorry already given it to someone else.
  • 97%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Tracey Australia
  • The room and lounge are excellent. It's near to the subway and another facilities (laundry, market, bus). Good option to save money.
  • 94%
  • 31 May 2014 Luiz Brazil
  • We had an awesome time at this hostel! We had our own room , the whole "apartment-like" idea was great! No wonder why this place seems to be booked all the time! Everything was clean, quiet, friendly staff, well located and close to the train, so for us everything was a short train ride away! Will come back here for sure!
  • 94%
  • 29 May 2014 Frank Switzerland
  • The hostel is located near east halem and north central park. It takes only 5 mins to subway station from the hostel. One of the staff, he was not kind and friendly... but overall atmosphere was nice. You can cook inside your own room. The room is big enough for 4 person and has bathroom also.
  • 60%
  • 25 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The rooms were quite large and didn't need that many amenities. It would be more interesting to have smaller, cheaper smaller rooms. We chose this hostel mainly because it advertised parking space. We were told upon arrival that street parking was the only option. We had to look for an enormous amount of time to find space. We then had to repeat the process altogether during our stay which made it extremely difficult, time consuming, and inconvenient. You shouldn't advertise parking at all.
  • 69%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Expansive for the few quality, no light in the bedroom, 2 chairs for 4 people , very small table to eat, a few things to cook,nothing to order the clothes, lock boxes too smalls to put a computer inside,nothing to close the doors of the windows
  • 40%
  • 06 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • The hostel was clean and quiet. It is new, freshly repainted and furnished but some things are stil to be completed.
  • 86%
  • 19 Apr 2014 JESSICA Italy
  • I stayed in the delux double room, 9A, I think and abosolutly loved it. Thank you!
  • 83%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Ella Sofia Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »