See other New York properties

International Students Residence

2147 2nd avenue, Manhattan, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 77% from 37 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Unfortunately I had some very unrespectful people sharing the room with me. I think there should be stricter rules to noise policy and this should also be communicated clearly. having a kitchen in the dorm does not contribute to less noise. also no individual light at the beds is a bad solution as the people have to leave the main light on till the last person feels like going to bed. I did not get much sleep in the hostel.
  • 60%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Jana Switzerland
  • It's really a nice place ! strongly recommend!
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2014 zhiyun China
  • Good place to crash if you r on a budget , location can seem horrific but as you hardly spend any time there it seems good value for money to crash for the night ... Very clean rooms , good internet and good staff as well makes it worthwhile Had no bad experience to moan about hence would recommend it
  • 83%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Anonymous India
  • Nice hostel Stayed in westway before, i liked the int students residence way more. Nice large room, modern and big bathroom and kitchen in your own dorm room. If you're arriving before check in time and hope they'll watch your bag, no. You can leave it next to the reception, but they don't check who is picking it up again.
  • 71%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Jeroen Netherlands
  • I found this place to be good overall; it is clean, well-maintained, free of bugs and pests, and the sheets and towels were replaced twcie in three days during my stay there. There is someone at the front desk constantly.The dorms were mostly quiet, though I was surprised to find that while I had booked the "2 Bed Mixed Dorm" option, I was in placed in a bunkbed in a room that held six. There are small lockers in each room to secure valuables, but they are not large enough to hold a laptop.
  • 80%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Nicholas Canada
  • The cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in! Loved, loved, loved, my room!
  • 100%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I booked one night before I arrive 3 days before. Then I received an email from the hostel saying that they can't give me a place to stay on the day I arrived. They wasted my deposit and booking fee and precious time in New York cause I had to find another place at the same day I arrived. And I barely can find a place to stay. They are not responsible and professional! Avoid this hostel and Don't take this risk.
  • 20%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I got to the hostel and was told that unfortunately they had overbooked and had sent an email informing me, I could not access said email as I had no internet connection. When I did eventually see the e mail it was sent just over 3 hours before I was due to arrive at the hostel, I had no choice but accept there offer to put me in another hostel in queens not Brooklyn. Overall the organization was extremely poor I would not recommend using this hostel
  • 20%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Paul England
  • Very clean organized. it would be better if larger lockers were provided so that guest can lock their suitcase and everything.
  • 94%
  • 17 Aug 2014 selim Turkey
  • Essentially a brand new condo building that had new flooring, new lighting, new bedding and bunks.Super clean. It's not exactly right next to time square, but in my opinion there is no such thing as being "far away" from anything in Manhattan, NY. The subway was like 2 blocks away which is fine. I don't care where you stay, you have to use the subway anyway. The only down side is that the lockers are fairly small, although someone is at the front desk 24/7 so you can have them watch your stuff.
  • 89%
  • 15 Aug 2014 BRanon Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »