See other San Diego properties

International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

1658 Front Street, San Diego, CA, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 91% from 41 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Thank you for the nice stay in San Diego. I really like your hostel. There was a nice atmosphere and it was easy to meet some people. If I should visit San Diego again, I definitely come to your hostel again.
  • 97%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Christina Germany
  • The environment and the staff were top-notch. The free food was a very nice addition to the cost of staying, making it an excellent value for the money. The only downside was the security around the hostel, as I had a rental bike stolen within a half-block of the hostel. This is not the fault of the hostel, but some additional security of the surrounding area would be nice, and would have saved some money for me in the long-run.
  • 89%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Robert USA
  • We had an excellent stay at ITH. Great people, great fun and great value.
  • 91%
  • 15 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice hostel. Had some trouble with a broken bathroom but otherwise a nice place. A lot of Germans though...
  • 63%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Felix Sweden
  • A 2 story Victorian house built around 1936 which has been converted into a “Hostel” House. Painted white with a rich burgundy trim that fits the character that awaits the traveler as soon as the cross the threshold of this most charming place. The bathroom is co-ed and has two showers which are very small but complete with shampoo and shower gel with a nice bath rug to step out onto. Hair dryer for those of you who forgot yours at home. It was always kept neat and tidy. Fun Place to be.
  • 100%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Room was tiny for four people. Couldn't all stand on the floor at the same time. We were in a room off a lounge room 'hang out room' and it was really awkward if we wanted to enter or leave and people were watching TV in that room. It got really annoying. Breakfast was good. Staff really nice but give off a bit of a 'don't really know what we're doing' vibe and wing it often. I would still recommend to friends but would suggest to request a bungalow.
  • 80%
  • 02 Dec 2014 michelle Australia
  • We had a great experience! The atmosphere was great and I met so many great people. I went here with two friends for the Thanksgiving wknd. We were welcomed with a fantastic thanksgiving dinner and lovely company.
  • 97%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Nice hostel, the staff was fun! Free dinner six nights a week was a plus and the food was great. Lot of activities. The only minus is that the front yard of the hostel is very loud because some people like to stay there and party almost every night. Might not be a problem though if you stay in the back houses. Also the upstairs restroom didn´t have toilet paper like ever.
  • 80%
  • 26 Oct 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Had a unreal Time at the hostel. The staff was very friendly and more than helpful to point you in the direction of a good time. If your looking for spotless clean then stay at the Hilton down the street. But for hostel standards it was pretty clean. The food was good but the company was better. so cool to meet people from all over the world. Meal times were a great chance to share stories and experiences. I would 100% go Back to the International Travelers Hostel. GREAT TIMES!!!! HIXXX
  • 86%
  • 01 Oct 2014 jason Canada
  • It was the best hostel in all of California that we stayed at. Thumbs up!! Awesome place and people
  • 100%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Jula Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »