See other San Diego properties

International Travelers House Adventure Hostel

1658 Front Street, San Diego, CA, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 91% from 47 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice hostel. Had some trouble with a broken bathroom but otherwise a nice place. A lot of Germans though...
  • 63%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Felix Sweden
  • A 2 story Victorian house built around 1936 which has been converted into a “Hostel” House. Painted white with a rich burgundy trim that fits the character that awaits the traveler as soon as the cross the threshold of this most charming place. The bathroom is co-ed and has two showers which are very small but complete with shampoo and shower gel with a nice bath rug to step out onto. Hair dryer for those of you who forgot yours at home. It was always kept neat and tidy. Fun Place to be.
  • 100%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Room was tiny for four people. Couldn't all stand on the floor at the same time. We were in a room off a lounge room 'hang out room' and it was really awkward if we wanted to enter or leave and people were watching TV in that room. It got really annoying. Breakfast was good. Staff really nice but give off a bit of a 'don't really know what we're doing' vibe and wing it often. I would still recommend to friends but would suggest to request a bungalow.
  • 80%
  • 02 Dec 2014 michelle Australia
  • We had a great experience! The atmosphere was great and I met so many great people. I went here with two friends for the Thanksgiving wknd. We were welcomed with a fantastic thanksgiving dinner and lovely company.
  • 97%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Nice hostel, the staff was fun! Free dinner six nights a week was a plus and the food was great. Lot of activities. The only minus is that the front yard of the hostel is very loud because some people like to stay there and party almost every night. Might not be a problem though if you stay in the back houses. Also the upstairs restroom didn´t have toilet paper like ever.
  • 80%
  • 26 Oct 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Had a unreal Time at the hostel. The staff was very friendly and more than helpful to point you in the direction of a good time. If your looking for spotless clean then stay at the Hilton down the street. But for hostel standards it was pretty clean. The food was good but the company was better. so cool to meet people from all over the world. Meal times were a great chance to share stories and experiences. I would 100% go Back to the International Travelers Hostel. GREAT TIMES!!!! HIXXX
  • 86%
  • 01 Oct 2014 jason Canada
  • It was the best hostel in all of California that we stayed at. Thumbs up!! Awesome place and people
  • 100%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Jula Germany
  • was good and new experience for me.. will try it again
  • 80%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Marc
  • This was an amazing place, you can really called it your second home. No matter what time of the day, there was something you can do It was really helpful to have free breakfast and dinner and every day it was something different. The staff was so friendly and helpful on any questions. I loved the rooms and the outside sitting area. You really get a chance to connected with everyone. And the best part was the free activities!! I can't express how great of a time I spent there! Best hostel!!
  • 100%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Clorrica Canada
  • Love the idea of having breakfast and dinner as an added bonus. But needed a quiet area o just chill.
  • 86%
  • 18 Sep 2014 SHANNON Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »