See other Inverness properties

Inverness Tourist Hostel

24 Rose Street, Inverness, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 81% from 23 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fantastic hostel - the rooms were clean and the kitchen well stocked. I deeply appreciated the drying room after hiking all day and getting my pants/shoes sopping wet; I had to leave the next morning and they were perfectly dry! (Not to mention, when it's not misty the view of the Aonach Eagach and the Pap is absolutely gorgeous.)
  • 94%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • They seemed really nice at first, but after a required morning check out I wasn't allowed to hang out and rest while waiting for my bus. I was hot and tired and had nowhere to go, which isn't really what I expected after paying for a hostel.
  • 63%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first ever hostel experience and I had low expectations given hostel stories that involve the worst case scenarios. However everything about this experience disproved that notion- staff and facility were awesome! Was really surprised and pleased at the cleanliness and set up. Everything was provided and bathrooms were really nice as well. I'm grateful for this time and if every in Inverness again, you couldn't go wrong by staying here. Thank you!
  • 94%
  • 20 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The location is great (very close to the bus station). The kitchen is well equipped but the main disadvantage is small number of showers.
  • 80%
  • 18 May 2014 Leonid Israel
  • Hostel should not forget to tell guests that the door code changes often !!
  • 83%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The staff made up for everything it lacked. We had a couple of rude guests in our room that were very loud in the middle of the night, and they broke the door down. I was very impressed on how the staff handled the situation. Cudos to them!
  • 83%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Philip USA
  • Hostel looks a bit suspect from the outside but it is not at all. It is a great place. Everything is clean and well maintained. Its right in Inverness and close to bars and music. All the tourist attractions are in walking distance. Not to mention the staff is wildly helpful. My friend's shoe was breaking and Rick gave her liquid nails to hold it together and her boots lasted our entire trip which included a lot of walking and hiking around Loch Ness and in Glen Nevis. Thanks!
  • 100%
  • 26 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The kitchen facilities are really great!
  • 86%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Janina Germany
  • The hostel is very nice
  • 100%
  • 09 Feb 2014 BRUNO Brazil
  • Great time had whilst staying at hostel, staff were friendly and very helpful, location is ideal and free tea and coffee is always a bonus. would recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay while in Inverness.
  • 100%
  • 15 Dec 2013 geoff England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »