See other Dublin properties

Isaacs Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 86% from 82 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location was great, other than that it is right next to the train tracks. Our window was about five feet away from it so it was very loud in the morning, but that was the only negative thing. Thanks for giving us a good place to stay in Dublin.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Mark USA
  • I really wanted to like Isaacs more than I did. Two main things stopped me. First, there's no wifi in the rooms. Maybe I missed that note while booking, and if so that's my bad, but when a hostel advertises free wifi, I don't expect it to be only in common areas. Second, there are 3 showers per gender per floor. Each floor houses upwards of 150 people- there was a line literally every time I went into the bathroom. Showers are reminiscent of pool showers. Not ideal.
  • 74%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Rachel USA
  • I loved it here! The bathroom was clean, just that the people weren't. 😞 and there were inconsiderate people who occupied the bathrooms for a long time so others had to wait for quite awhile before being able to use them. Otherwise, the staff were really helpful, especially the guy "Andy" was very helpful, even helped my friend carry her bag up three flights of stairs when we couldn't find our room. Breakfast was simple but much appreciated and the common room very warm and cozy. 😁
  • 86%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Lynell Malaysia
  • Very good value for money!
  • 89%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Timo Germany
  • BE CAREFUL WITH THE AIRPORT SHUTTLE. It did not arrive on time, there was a miscommunication between the hostel staff and the shuttle staff. We had to take a taxi and almost missed our flight. Definitely paid for the location. The lockers are not convenient. The bathrooms were not always clean.
  • 66%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Breakfast was awesome. Great atmosphere
  • 94%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Isaacs hostel was really cool. Pros: Everyone (staff included) is very friendly and hangs out in the lobby. It's just a short walk to the pubs and the temple bar area. Everything is clean and they have hot water. Only cons is that they only have wifi in the lobby.
  • 91%
  • 23 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very welcoming, I loved the staff! I also felt safe with how they checked everyone when they came in, I also saw a guy get kicked out who was sneaking in. So I knew the staff was diligent about our safety! The breakfast was yummy and the rooms were very clean and nice!
  • 89%
  • 15 May 2015 Amanda USA
  • Very nice hostel. It was cozy and the staff was friendly. Would have liked lockers in the bedroom though.
  • 91%
  • 15 Apr 2015 Courtney USA
  • Excellent service. Friendly staff. Good location. New and clean toilet and shower facilities. Really cheap. And nice, big common area. Will definitely come back.
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Alisa Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »