See other Dublin properties

Isaacs Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 85% from 82 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Arrived sat and a nice friendly Dublin guy a warm welcome nice to hear local accent. I was working and stressed had to wait until 2 left me rushing as i would have liked a shower i came back and card wouldnt work to get into room l others were coming in next morning i had knock up people to get in from shower. It would have been better if ensuite was there. Reception didnt say Had change rooms which was stressful moving to locker and waiting to get room at 2 again. Very Clean
  • 77%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anne Marie Ireland
  • Overall, awesome hostel. The staff really went the extra effort and were very helpful and welcoming. The bathrooms were separate and rooms were big but worth the money. Getting into the rooms was secure but no security for luggage in the room. 24 hour reception was great!
  • 89%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Samantha USA
  • Great stay at Isaacs, my only issue was loud guests in my dorm style room the first night.
  • 80%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Decent hostel. Andy is a super nice guy. Personally an 8 bed hostel was not right for me. Lots of noise and very little sleeping. Facilities were adequate and staff was friendly. Has a locked area which is secured. Breakfast is toast and cold cereal which is the norm. Bar craw was a good time - if you search elsewhere you can find a better deal. Don't believe that it's "going to sell out". Unlimited bar craw will not happen. Shots are not shots.
  • 83%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Michael USA
  • It's a great hostel, especially if you're traveling alone and looking to meet people. The common area is very conducive to socializing. All the great spots are within walking distance and it's also located close to the train station and central bus station.
  • 91%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The location was great, other than that it is right next to the train tracks. Our window was about five feet away from it so it was very loud in the morning, but that was the only negative thing. Thanks for giving us a good place to stay in Dublin.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Mark USA
  • I really wanted to like Isaacs more than I did. Two main things stopped me. First, there's no wifi in the rooms. Maybe I missed that note while booking, and if so that's my bad, but when a hostel advertises free wifi, I don't expect it to be only in common areas. Second, there are 3 showers per gender per floor. Each floor houses upwards of 150 people- there was a line literally every time I went into the bathroom. Showers are reminiscent of pool showers. Not ideal.
  • 74%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Rachel USA
  • I loved it here! The bathroom was clean, just that the people weren't. 😞 and there were inconsiderate people who occupied the bathrooms for a long time so others had to wait for quite awhile before being able to use them. Otherwise, the staff were really helpful, especially the guy "Andy" was very helpful, even helped my friend carry her bag up three flights of stairs when we couldn't find our room. Breakfast was simple but much appreciated and the common room very warm and cozy. 😁
  • 86%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Lynell Malaysia
  • Very good value for money!
  • 89%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Timo Germany
  • BE CAREFUL WITH THE AIRPORT SHUTTLE. It did not arrive on time, there was a miscommunication between the hostel staff and the shuttle staff. We had to take a taxi and almost missed our flight. Definitely paid for the location. The lockers are not convenient. The bathrooms were not always clean.
  • 66%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »