See other Dublin properties

Isaacs Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 81% from 22 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice place, the staff there are friendly, good atmosphere. The bathrooms were cleaner than expected considering how many people they house there. The only negative was that I was unable to connect to the wifi through my phone, wifi is almost a necessity when you're traveling alone.
  • 83%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Joseph USA
  • Overall a good place to stay. It was in a very convenient location, just next to the bus/tram station. My only complaint was the fact that vending machines didn't work, and they don't sell sodas or snacks. It was frustrating when I was thirsty in the middle of the night and could get anything to drink. Wouldn't keep me from returning, but it was a bit frustrating.
  • 86%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Given tips were excellent,like O'Sheas Pub, Staff very helpful,also offered Shuttle-service to Airport very reliable and good price/
  • 94%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I was moved last minute to Jacobs Inn, the sister hostel, so this review is for Jacobs Inn. I found the constant key swiping excessive to get into any room. The kitchen was too crowded. The internet signal was weak and I could not access internet for hours at a time.
  • 83%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Mary USA
  • Noticed an number of security flaws I think it mybe needed to be high tend just a little bit my overall stay I enjoyed the staff where excellent and very professional the people staying there where very nice which added to the overall experience and I would highy recommend this place to any body
  • 91%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Niall Norway
  • Super friendly. Good humor. Really nice place overall
  • 94%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Fredrik Sweden
  • Bad: no lockers in rooms, the photos are not the rooms you get, no individual lamps for beds so if someone needs light the whole room is lit, the doors close very loudly, price not worth the hostel, no elevator, poor breakfast only coffee, cereal and toast. Good: great staff, location, lots of resources, pamphlets and maps, free tours in the morning
  • 71%
  • 06 Nov 2013 Salomeh Canada
  • love it there!
  • 94%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I love it here! i had to book a place before and after Galway and after being here just a few hours I knew it would be the hostel I'd come back to (and here I am, atm). Yeah the luggage is in the basement but it's not really a big deal, it's cheap and big so if you travel w/people it's really nothing. Everything is clean and it has a good vibe. The front desk was always really helpful. Wireless works fine, I don't really care about getting it in my room, whatever you're on vacation
  • 97%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This was the best place I stayed in! Free tea, milk, and sugar, clean well appointed kitchen, great staff who know their town, great facilities. You are literally in the middle of Dublin and you can't beat the funky charm of the place. The lower part of the place, with the rounded brick ceilings has everything you could need--pleasant desks to use the internet, clean and pleasant laundry facilities, and a great locker area. The rooms were quiet, the lower part of the place was always hopping.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2013 Erin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »