See other Dublin properties

Isaacs Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 83% from 63 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We were overall pretty disappointed. We booked a private room but the hallways were extremely loud at all hours making sleep basically impossible. We would go out all day and sometimes at night as well and then come back to go to sleep only to be awakened multiple times at 3 or 4 in the morning due to excessive noise. Also, there was no hot water which put a damper on the stay as well. The staff were greatly helpful and able to answer all questions.
  • 71%
  • 13 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I think they should make WIFI available in all rooms. Never had a hot shower and that was disappointing. Location is not amazing but probably could be worse. Walls are very, very thin and when you sleep on the top bunk and someone on the floor above drops a penny, you will think the world is ending. Breakfast could have had more selection. Overall just pretty average. Staff were nice. Room was clean.
  • 74%
  • 11 Oct 2016 Kathleen USA
  • I'm honestly a little confused as to why this place got such high ratings for location...it's situated pretty much on a commuter train track!! The train screams by the window all night and wakes everyone up so make sure you bring ear plugs. That being said, the hostel really isn't bad, but it could be better. The wifi only works in the entry room and there aren't a lot of good places to relax, just your bed. Also, age range is mostly 17-18 which was a little young for me/people that wanted slee,
  • 60%
  • 10 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Friendly staff and clean facilities! The staff checks every persons receipt as you enter at night and access to each floor requires a room key that corresponds to that specific floor which made us feel quite safe . They have a lot of resources to help you explore the city (we recommend the Cliffs of Moher tour that stops in Galway). They have great blow dryers which was a nice change and offer a light breakfast in the morning. Met a lot of cool people while traveling here.
  • 94%
  • 18 Sep 2016 Courtney USA
  • Very good hostel Well located
  • 100%
  • 20 Aug 2016 Anonymous France
  • Overall very good hostel. Friendly staff, good location, free breakfast (toast with jam, cereal, coffee, appel and orange juice). There are only three minor "complaints" or sugestions for improvement: 1. There are no lockers in the bedrooms. 2. There is no power outlet for every bed, so you have to be lucky to have one close to your bed or you can't charge your phone over night and use it as alarm clock. 3. It's was very warm in my room and not cosy warm, but really warm.
  • 91%
  • 25 Jul 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Everything was great except that the room I stayed in at least was extremely hot (and it was only 15 degrees out and raining my whole stay) and made being in the room and trying to sleep very uncomfortable. Also it would be helpful to have somewhere to put your toiletries, other than the floor, when you are trying to have a shower.
  • 80%
  • 09 Jun 2016 Eric Canada
  • I had an amazing experiemce, thanks to Isaacs hostel I took a tour to the Cliffs of Moher, had a blast and fell in love with the Ireland, its people, its culture and its random history. Thanks😃
  • 100%
  • 06 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • We were extremely disappointed with this hostel. There were three power outlets for a 10 person bedroom, and the room smelled horribly of body odor and feet--a sign it clearly had not been properly cleaned. Additionally, the showers and bathrooms were not very clean. However, the staff members were very nice as were the other travelers staying in our room.
  • 63%
  • 04 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This is a good hostel, staff are helpful and nice. Located within the walking distance to temple bar zone and aircoach stop, which is very convenient. Showers water is hot enough. The kitchen is nice.
  • 91%
  • 01 Jun 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »