See other Rome properties

Ivanhoe Hostel

Via Urbana, 50, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 78% from 37 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location of the hostel is the best. We could easily walk to the Colosseum and other historical places. The atmosphere and staff of the hostel is very welcoming and always at your service. The rooms were clean. It was a definitely a fun place to stay. We had hostel party and pasta night(they do not charge you for it) on both the night and followed by free entry to clubs and pub by the hostel. Had a great time .......
  • 89%
  • 05 Oct 2014 siddharth India
  • I think it is an ideal place to stay for a few nights and visit the city. Very friendly staff. The kitchen was a bit poorly equipped. The cheap breakfast is an excellent choice to get you started. The air conditioning in the room was a bit too much for me.
  • 89%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Anonymous Romania
  • I recommend to eyeryone who wants to have a great time in Rome. Who has energy to walk all day long and still want to enjoy the night. The atmosphere at the hostel is incredible. We made a lot of new friends there. The staff is amazing. When we left the hostel we forgot our camera there and we just realized it in Paris. Although this was no problem at all. We called them and they found our camera. Then we received without a problem. So I highly recommend this hostel for backpackers. 100%
  • 100%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Nice place to stay. Good wifi sign. 10 minutes walking from to Roma Termini and Colosseum. Staff very friendly e helpfull.
  • 86%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Marco Antonio Brazil
  • I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Ivanhoe. The staff were so friendly, making sure we were comfortable, happy to offer additional assistance. The kitchen is great and the buffet breakfast (only €2) was amazing. I was worried about its status as a 'party hostel' (being forced to party/not getting any sleep), but it wasn't like this at all! Drinks in the common area around 9:30, guests invited to hang out if they want, and quiet time starts at midnight. Really chill hostel, perfect for budget
  • 86%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The hostel was easy enough to find from termini just a 10 minute walk and you could use the metro if needed and walk about 2 minutes. Once there the staff were really friendly and talkative and would help you with anything you needed including organsing your next hostel! The rooms were standard but if you slept on the very top bunk you got a free buffet breakfast and a 20% discount. Perfect location 10 minutes from termini and 10 minutes from the coleceum. Some times they'd even cook dinner!
  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2014 isaac
  • Very good atmosphere. Location is excellent, just one metro stop away from the Colloseum. It could do with another coat of paint and a deep clean plus some secure lockers.
  • 71%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • Staff were so fun at this hostel, they make the hostel a good party vibe and they are genuinely nice people who are wanting to make your stay enjoyable. The hostel is very small but has a family vibe to which makes you feel at home in a way. They are so generous aswell. They made us dinner one night and every other night provided alcohol to play drinking games with us. They are awesome people!!! If the staff weren't like this, our stay would have been very very average
  • 80%
  • 30 May 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • I stayed in 8 beds dorm with girls only. The bed was really bad, there was almost a hole in the mattress, bed buggs, the bathrooms are disguting, not safe at all. The staff is maybe nice but that's it.
  • 40%
  • 30 May 2014 Celine Belgium
  • SUCH A FUN HOSTEL! It is what it says it is, a party hostel. The staff become your friends, and they make you feel so welcome. Every night they organize an event, whether it's making pasta or drinks for everybody and then get everyone together to go out! They know the best places to go, and they make sure you get there safe. It's also 10 minutes from the coliseum, and within walking distance of the Vatican. 10/10 would recommend.
  • 91%
  • 22 May 2014 Rachel Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »