See other Rome properties

Ivanhoe Hostel

Via Urbana, 50, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 79% from 41 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There weren't enough lockers in the room I was staying in, but I was able to leave my backpack unlocked for the day with no problem. The breakfast they offer for 2 euro is a great option if you're only in Rome for a couple of days and want to get an early (and cheap) start to your day! The staff was very welcoming and kind, I checked in after midnight and they were there ready to receive me. Overall a great experience, my first in a hostel and it went better than I could have ever hoped!
  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This place was fantastic! The guys who ran it looked after everyone, treating you like close friends, taking you out to various bars and nightclubs that you wouldn't have found otherwise. The description wasn't lying, if you want to party and enjoy your time in Rome, then this is the place to stay.
  • 89%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Anonymous England
  • I stayed in the hostel for 2 nights. Guys at the reception, you're amazing! I'm still keeping that piece of paper where you explained to me how to get to the best beach in Rome:). There were the two most important positive things at the hostel - comfortable beds (which means a lot at the end of the day when you come tired and your only need is a proper sleep), and the atmosphere which is very very friendly. It's a great value for the advertised price. I'd recommend the hostel to everybody.
  • 94%
  • 21 Oct 2014 Anna Russia
  • The location of the hostel is the best. We could easily walk to the Colosseum and other historical places. The atmosphere and staff of the hostel is very welcoming and always at your service. The rooms were clean. It was a definitely a fun place to stay. We had hostel party and pasta night(they do not charge you for it) on both the night and followed by free entry to clubs and pub by the hostel. Had a great time .......
  • 89%
  • 05 Oct 2014 siddharth India
  • I think it is an ideal place to stay for a few nights and visit the city. Very friendly staff. The kitchen was a bit poorly equipped. The cheap breakfast is an excellent choice to get you started. The air conditioning in the room was a bit too much for me.
  • 89%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Anonymous Romania
  • I recommend to eyeryone who wants to have a great time in Rome. Who has energy to walk all day long and still want to enjoy the night. The atmosphere at the hostel is incredible. We made a lot of new friends there. The staff is amazing. When we left the hostel we forgot our camera there and we just realized it in Paris. Although this was no problem at all. We called them and they found our camera. Then we received without a problem. So I highly recommend this hostel for backpackers. 100%
  • 100%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Nice place to stay. Good wifi sign. 10 minutes walking from to Roma Termini and Colosseum. Staff very friendly e helpfull.
  • 86%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Marco Antonio Brazil
  • I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Ivanhoe. The staff were so friendly, making sure we were comfortable, happy to offer additional assistance. The kitchen is great and the buffet breakfast (only €2) was amazing. I was worried about its status as a 'party hostel' (being forced to party/not getting any sleep), but it wasn't like this at all! Drinks in the common area around 9:30, guests invited to hang out if they want, and quiet time starts at midnight. Really chill hostel, perfect for budget
  • 86%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The hostel was easy enough to find from termini just a 10 minute walk and you could use the metro if needed and walk about 2 minutes. Once there the staff were really friendly and talkative and would help you with anything you needed including organsing your next hostel! The rooms were standard but if you slept on the very top bunk you got a free buffet breakfast and a 20% discount. Perfect location 10 minutes from termini and 10 minutes from the coleceum. Some times they'd even cook dinner!
  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2014 isaac
  • Very good atmosphere. Location is excellent, just one metro stop away from the Colloseum. It could do with another coat of paint and a deep clean plus some secure lockers.
  • 71%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »