See other Rome properties

Ivanhoe Hostel

Via Urbana, 50, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 77% from 38 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I recommend to eyeryone who wants to have a great time in Rome. Who has energy to walk all day long and still want to enjoy the night. The atmosphere at the hostel is incredible. We made a lot of new friends there. The staff is amazing. When we left the hostel we forgot our camera there and we just realized it in Paris. Although this was no problem at all. We called them and they found our camera. Then we received without a problem. So I highly recommend this hostel for backpackers. 100%
  • 100%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Nice place to stay. Good wifi sign. 10 minutes walking from to Roma Termini and Colosseum. Staff very friendly e helpfull.
  • 86%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Marco Antonio Brazil
  • I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Ivanhoe. The staff were so friendly, making sure we were comfortable, happy to offer additional assistance. The kitchen is great and the buffet breakfast (only €2) was amazing. I was worried about its status as a 'party hostel' (being forced to party/not getting any sleep), but it wasn't like this at all! Drinks in the common area around 9:30, guests invited to hang out if they want, and quiet time starts at midnight. Really chill hostel, perfect for budget
  • 86%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The hostel was easy enough to find from termini just a 10 minute walk and you could use the metro if needed and walk about 2 minutes. Once there the staff were really friendly and talkative and would help you with anything you needed including organsing your next hostel! The rooms were standard but if you slept on the very top bunk you got a free buffet breakfast and a 20% discount. Perfect location 10 minutes from termini and 10 minutes from the coleceum. Some times they'd even cook dinner!
  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2014 isaac
  • Very good atmosphere. Location is excellent, just one metro stop away from the Colloseum. It could do with another coat of paint and a deep clean plus some secure lockers.
  • 71%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • Staff were so fun at this hostel, they make the hostel a good party vibe and they are genuinely nice people who are wanting to make your stay enjoyable. The hostel is very small but has a family vibe to which makes you feel at home in a way. They are so generous aswell. They made us dinner one night and every other night provided alcohol to play drinking games with us. They are awesome people!!! If the staff weren't like this, our stay would have been very very average
  • 80%
  • 30 May 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • I stayed in 8 beds dorm with girls only. The bed was really bad, there was almost a hole in the mattress, bed buggs, the bathrooms are disguting, not safe at all. The staff is maybe nice but that's it.
  • 40%
  • 30 May 2014 Celine Belgium
  • SUCH A FUN HOSTEL! It is what it says it is, a party hostel. The staff become your friends, and they make you feel so welcome. Every night they organize an event, whether it's making pasta or drinks for everybody and then get everyone together to go out! They know the best places to go, and they make sure you get there safe. It's also 10 minutes from the coliseum, and within walking distance of the Vatican. 10/10 would recommend.
  • 91%
  • 22 May 2014 Rachel Canada
  • This hostel was poorly run, gross, loud, and not secure. The "lockers" they provide are tiny, poorly constructed lockers that can barely fit a laptop. The staff were arrogant and not very welcoming. Everyone is locked out from 11-4pm for "cleaning" but nothing seemed very clean… ever. The bathrooms were disgusting and the atmosphere was uncomfortable. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone, especially if your priority is to see the city (you won't get too much sleep). Overall bad experience
  • 34%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Hannah USA
  • This hostel is amazing I had so much fun, all the staff was great and they helped me in everything, they adviced me where to go and best places to eat. I was in a 8bed room just for girls with a bathroom, the beds were comfortable and the bedroom was good. I stayed there for 4 days and I had breakfast for 2 euro and it was totally worth it. I went by myself and the staff made me feel so comfortable I met a bunch of new people . I am going to retun to this hostel for sure. thanks Ali & Justin.
  • 100%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Aranza María Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »