See other Rome properties

Ivanhoe Hostel

Via Urbana, 50, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 77% from 37 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice place to stay. Good wifi sign. 10 minutes walking from to Roma Termini and Colosseum. Staff very friendly e helpfull.
  • 86%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Marco Antonio Brazil
  • I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Ivanhoe. The staff were so friendly, making sure we were comfortable, happy to offer additional assistance. The kitchen is great and the buffet breakfast (only €2) was amazing. I was worried about its status as a 'party hostel' (being forced to party/not getting any sleep), but it wasn't like this at all! Drinks in the common area around 9:30, guests invited to hang out if they want, and quiet time starts at midnight. Really chill hostel, perfect for budget
  • 86%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The hostel was easy enough to find from termini just a 10 minute walk and you could use the metro if needed and walk about 2 minutes. Once there the staff were really friendly and talkative and would help you with anything you needed including organsing your next hostel! The rooms were standard but if you slept on the very top bunk you got a free buffet breakfast and a 20% discount. Perfect location 10 minutes from termini and 10 minutes from the coleceum. Some times they'd even cook dinner!
  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2014 isaac
  • Very good atmosphere. Location is excellent, just one metro stop away from the Colloseum. It could do with another coat of paint and a deep clean plus some secure lockers.
  • 71%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • Staff were so fun at this hostel, they make the hostel a good party vibe and they are genuinely nice people who are wanting to make your stay enjoyable. The hostel is very small but has a family vibe to which makes you feel at home in a way. They are so generous aswell. They made us dinner one night and every other night provided alcohol to play drinking games with us. They are awesome people!!! If the staff weren't like this, our stay would have been very very average
  • 80%
  • 30 May 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • I stayed in 8 beds dorm with girls only. The bed was really bad, there was almost a hole in the mattress, bed buggs, the bathrooms are disguting, not safe at all. The staff is maybe nice but that's it.
  • 40%
  • 30 May 2014 Celine Belgium
  • SUCH A FUN HOSTEL! It is what it says it is, a party hostel. The staff become your friends, and they make you feel so welcome. Every night they organize an event, whether it's making pasta or drinks for everybody and then get everyone together to go out! They know the best places to go, and they make sure you get there safe. It's also 10 minutes from the coliseum, and within walking distance of the Vatican. 10/10 would recommend.
  • 91%
  • 22 May 2014 Rachel Canada
  • This hostel was poorly run, gross, loud, and not secure. The "lockers" they provide are tiny, poorly constructed lockers that can barely fit a laptop. The staff were arrogant and not very welcoming. Everyone is locked out from 11-4pm for "cleaning" but nothing seemed very clean… ever. The bathrooms were disgusting and the atmosphere was uncomfortable. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone, especially if your priority is to see the city (you won't get too much sleep). Overall bad experience
  • 34%
  • 16 Apr 2014 Hannah USA
  • This hostel is amazing I had so much fun, all the staff was great and they helped me in everything, they adviced me where to go and best places to eat. I was in a 8bed room just for girls with a bathroom, the beds were comfortable and the bedroom was good. I stayed there for 4 days and I had breakfast for 2 euro and it was totally worth it. I went by myself and the staff made me feel so comfortable I met a bunch of new people . I am going to retun to this hostel for sure. thanks Ali & Justin.
  • 100%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Aranza María Mexico
  • That Hostel was really cool!! Party in the evening, super friendly staff and always someone who was there to help and support.
  • 89%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Alexander Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »