See other Tokyo properties

JGH Tokyo

2-11-11 Nishi-Kawaguchi,kawaguchi-shi,, Saitama Prefecture, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 13.8km

Rating: 72% from 9 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 66%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • 1 the japanese girl at the recepetion is very warm-hearted,nice and helpful! the big advantage of this hostel. 2 what surprised me is that if u check after 22:00 u have to pay extra money. pay attention to this. 3 although this is the cheapest hostel i can find in tokyo, i probably wont come to here again.the dorm room very crowed, and poor facility.no locker, not convenient at all. no window, noisy.i stayed 2 weeks in tokyo, this hostel not good for someone who needs a rest.
  • 54%
  • 11 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • Although the price for the location near Tokyo was reasonable, the accommodations were poor at best. The living quarters had a strong odor when we initially stepped into them. The toilet also had a strong odor. The sleeping quarters were so cramped that one had to literally step sideways to get in and out of bed.
  • 40%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Steven USA
  • Security: No locks on entrance to building (anybody could enter and exit freely), wouldn't risk leaving valuables in my room unattended Location: Saitama is far from Tokyo, took half an hour to get to Akihabara/Ueno etc., I spent ~500yen/day on train fare Staff: politely friendly, never intrusive, helpful when asked Atmosphere: a bit cramped but nice photos on wall Cleanliness: Multiple people using shower Value: $20+train fare was the best part Facilities: Must use own towel or rent one
  • 71%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was great! JGH is a traditional Japanese house located in the most adorable suburbs outside of Tokyo. It's a few blocks away from the train which will take you to any major station in downtown tokyo for maybe less than 4 usd. the facilities are tight but clean and for the really cheap price i was really satisfied. what more do you really need but a hot shower, and a warm bed to lay your head? jGH provides just that. Love would stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Kimberly USA
  • The BEST value for price in Tokyo (at least that you can find online searching in english). No weak points. A bit far from the center, but you can't expect that price downtown. I read a couple of not so good references here and they are just ridiculous... Hei Sisi princesses, do you understand how cheap is this place, and even so it's really clean, staff goes the extra mile to help you and it's tiny (this is Japan princesses!) but has a definetly good atmosphere? Two thumbs up about JGH!
  • 97%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Sergi Russia
  • Meiko-san and Ayumi-san were quite lovely; understanding and helpful when we needed to cancel and book additional days. The hostel itself is quiet and comfortable. I was in love with all of the fabrics and decorations. It felt like a home! The location, while in the suburbs, easy to navigate, plenty of stores! The only downside was the rooms are not soundproof. I imagine that it gets hot and cold! Still, the people we met were fantastic. We had a wonderful time! I would definitely stay again!
  • 97%
  • 01 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is a total bargain!! As long as: - sleeping in a shack is ok - you can sleep in hot places (aircon hardly touched the awful Tokyo August heat/humidity) - sleeping in a 'capsule' slightly larger than your body is ok - having no locks or lockers or dressing space (excluding shower room) is ok - you can sleep with noisy people around you - having tiny social space is cool - you are friendly and want to meet fellow cheap travellers Ok for my 3 nights, but prob best in winter!
  • 77%
  • 08 Aug 2013 Justine Wales
  • I have stayed in dozens upon dozens of hostels in my life. This one ranks very close to last.
  • 37%
  • 10 Jul 2013 Shawn USA
  • Although quite small, JGH had a very fun, worldly vibe to it. The decor is great and the staff are very friendly and unobtrusive. It was in a nice quiet neighborhood that was a bit outside of Tokyo, but it presented no problems when we wanted to get anywhere in Tokyo. I will say that the rooms are very small, so people traveling with lots of stuff may find it a bit cramped, and for those people over 6 ft tall, the beds are a bit short. That being said, my wife and I had a great time there!
  • 86%
  • 07 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »