See other Hida Takayama properties

J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guesthouse

5-52, Nada-machi, Hida Takayama, Japan, Distance from city centre: 12.5km

Rating: 89% from 13 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Cheap an clean hostel near the centre of Takayama. It worth the money, but don't expect luxury.
  • 80%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • The staff was really really nice, friendly and forthcoming (actually by far best staff met in our 4 week journey!). The position is really good aswell, near to bus and train station and some of the most interesting places in takayama. Really nice experience overall!
  • 91%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Super good hostel, bed with curtains, and good size room. 3 minutes walk from station and close to the old street too.
  • 100%
  • 08 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We had a Private Tatami mat style room. It was comfortable and had a large closet so we could keep our things organized. We were close to the bathroom which was good and bad-other guests would slam the bathroom door late at night when the door could shut quietly. This was a great hostel for hanging out with others in the kitchen area and getting to meet people. Staff was amazing, you really felt welcome here.
  • 91%
  • 24 May 2015 Anonymous
  • Very kind and friendly staff. Place was clean and close to the station.
  • 100%
  • 08 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Staff was friendly & chatty. Ian & You chan was helpful on recommending the good food around Takayama & provide snacks to the guests.
  • 80%
  • 06 Apr 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • If it is a last minute booking, I guess is ok. The hostel is in general a little bit tight (Toilets and showers are kinda uncomfortable.). However during my stay, my duvet (quilt) smelled bad.
  • 69%
  • 02 Apr 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Very nice and warm hostel, great location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, free rental of umbrellas and snow boots, I had a great 1-night stay, wish I could stay longer.
  • 97%
  • 21 Jan 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Good llocation.
  • 83%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Han-yun Taiwan
  • nice location for a stay in hida, great staff with lots of information to share!
  • 83%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »