See other Hiroshima properties

J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse

5-16, Dobashi-cho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima-shi, Hiroshima, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 86% from 13 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything is clean and nice, but the atmosphere feels like one of a chain. But in rest, everything was good :)
  • 91%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous Romania
  • Good hostel, helpful and friendly staff, very good location. Only downside to the hostel is the somewhat sparse common room. Like a lot of Japanese hostels it seems that they haven't really caught on to how much a good area to meet / hang out with other travelers can do for a hostel. Other than that, it's a good place. Free rental bike for a day for every 3 nights you stay.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Very nice kitchen, well set up to actually cook in. Great to have LAN line in the rooms. Good wi-fi. Helpful staff. Very clean. Good value for money. Decent location near tram line. Very good directions on how to get there from tram stop. Hard beds on floor (tatami mat room). Reading lights at each bed. Enough room for bags, etc. Lots and lots of tourist information available. Good value for money.
  • 94%
  • 26 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very nice staff but the hostel is. Not that clean the carpet is desuet. I know it is cheap but was nicer to go to public bath.
  • 69%
  • 27 Apr 2014 ginette Canada
  • Excellent location, a short walk away from the Peace Memorial Park and city centre and closer to Miyajima than many other hostels. Staff were outgoing and friendly, and helped to build a very friendly atmosphere with theme parties and bar nights with locals and guests alike. The beauty of Hiroshima, along with my experience in this hostel, made the city a highlight in this trip.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The location is in a nice local location yet still close to all of the important attractions in Hiroshima. The faculties are nice and clean and the common room and kitchen is by far one of the best I've been to during my travels.
  • 97%
  • 02 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I was very satisfied with this hostel. The location is excellent, the staff was very friendly, the facilities were clean. There were only two things that keep me from giving this hostel 100% all-around. 1: The lockers were so tiny that you can't fit anything bigger than a purse in there. My 30L backpack wouldn't fit! (Most travel backpacks are 50-80L). 2: Have to pay for to use a computer with internet (WiFi is free). It's 2013, that should be free! Still, I would highly recommend staying here!
  • 86%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Overall very good hostel with decent size room and good facilities although there isn't a shower on every floor and our room had a slight smell. Good location within short walk of Peace Park and tram stop.
  • 77%
  • 09 Oct 2013 Anonymous England
  • Really nice hostel, a little far from the station but walking distance to the main tourist sites and town centre. Super helpful staff with great local recommendations for restaurants, bars, things to do :D More space than I expected in the Japanese style dorm room :) Other guests friendly and welcoming. Really nice hostel, go there!!
  • 91%
  • 15 Sep 2013 Justine Wales
  • I takes quite some time from the station to get there by tram (~25 min) but otherwise the location is great.Relatively near to the sights.The hostel itself has all you need. Showers on nearly each floor, air conditioning, windows in the room,... nothing to complain. Which actually i expected for the price. They also sell the 2 day trip card which can save you over 2000 yen if you also want to go to Miyajima and use the tram regularly. So if you didn't already get it at the station, get it there.
  • 80%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Raphael Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »