See other Hiroshima properties

J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse

5-16, Dobashi-cho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima-shi, Hiroshima, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 87% from 14 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was friendly and extremely helpful and the facility is what you would expect from a hostel. The only improvement I can think of is they should have a way to make rental towels available at all hours as some people (like me) get up early to shower and you can't get a towel before 8 A.M. If you don't want to pay ridiculous hotel prices and are ok with the hostel atmosphere, then I would definitely recommend J-Hoppers.
  • 94%
  • 10 Oct 2014 William USA
  • Nice facilities, clean and in a great quiet area close to everything, but the staff were not too helpfull and kind of rude... everything else were great!
  • 80%
  • 25 Sep 2014 guillaume
  • Truly wonderful hostel!!! Shame i could only book one night as they were full but its great location means a short walk and your in the Abomb memorial park which as a tip is amazing to visit at night which i did after my 9pm arrival! Also sunrise is recommended for peace and tranquility! Clean dorm, great shower, good kitchen and cute chill room with internet! Lovely staff to top it all off with great information of Hiroshima! Enjoy!
  • 100%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • + Great location near tram station. 5 mins walk from Peace Park. + Kind staff, who also speak English. + Even the shared dorm rooms have tatami mats, and have a "traditional' feel to them. + Dorm bunk beds are very clean, and have privacy curtains, power outlets, and luggage placement area next to each bunk bed. Very thoughtful layout! - Lockers in the rooms are a bit too small. A 15" laptop will not fit in them, although a 13" one will fit. - Towels not provided by default. Felt strange.
  • 89%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous India
  • Spacious (big) room at affordable price.
  • 74%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous Nepal
  • Everything is clean and nice, but the atmosphere feels like one of a chain. But in rest, everything was good :)
  • 91%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous Romania
  • Good hostel, helpful and friendly staff, very good location. Only downside to the hostel is the somewhat sparse common room. Like a lot of Japanese hostels it seems that they haven't really caught on to how much a good area to meet / hang out with other travelers can do for a hostel. Other than that, it's a good place. Free rental bike for a day for every 3 nights you stay.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Very nice kitchen, well set up to actually cook in. Great to have LAN line in the rooms. Good wi-fi. Helpful staff. Very clean. Good value for money. Decent location near tram line. Very good directions on how to get there from tram stop. Hard beds on floor (tatami mat room). Reading lights at each bed. Enough room for bags, etc. Lots and lots of tourist information available. Good value for money.
  • 94%
  • 26 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very nice staff but the hostel is. Not that clean the carpet is desuet. I know it is cheap but was nicer to go to public bath.
  • 69%
  • 27 Apr 2014 ginette Canada
  • Excellent location, a short walk away from the Peace Memorial Park and city centre and closer to Miyajima than many other hostels. Staff were outgoing and friendly, and helped to build a very friendly atmosphere with theme parties and bar nights with locals and guests alike. The beauty of Hiroshima, along with my experience in this hostel, made the city a highlight in this trip.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »