See other Kyoto properties

J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House

51-2, Nakagoryo-cho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 3.6km

Rating: 90% from 15 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Convenient and easy with a good location, would come again!
  • 89%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • My favourite part about this hostel was the staff. Very friendly and helpful! The place was very clean and had a great kitchen and common room area.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Room was a bit musty the first night but better the second. Still slept okay since the beds and such were comfortable. Could do with a lower setting on the AC and some fresh air.
  • 77%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Matthew USA
  • Excellent, warm and genuinely useful greeting by Yuria. Lots of tips given on what to see and do, and how to get there. Clean beds and linens and facilities. Would definitively stay here again!
  • 97%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I had NO problem finding it and it was literally under 10 min walk from Kyoto station. What I didn't like was the stuffiness of the room, it smelled musky (granted it was a rainy day and a mixed dorm) but ventilation could have been better and the AC did not produce clean smelling cool air. The beds were decent with privacy curtains but the beds creaked a lot. The people that slept in the room were also very rude w/ no hostel etiquette. WE ARE ALL TIRED BE QUIET! I
  • 77%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Catherina USA
  • The staff was friendly and extremely helpful and the facility is what you would expect from a hostel. The only improvement I can think of is they should have a way to make rental towels available at all hours as some people (like me) get up early to shower and you can't get a towel before 8 A.M. If you don't want to pay ridiculous hotel prices and are ok with the hostel atmosphere, then I would definitely recommend J-Hoppers.
  • 91%
  • 09 Oct 2014 William USA
  • I Stayed at J-Hoppers Guesthouse for one night arriving in Kyoto. It was a little hard to find, but most things in Kyoto are the first time. Everything was very clean and it was a great place to rest my head after a long day of traveling.
  • 89%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Kevin USA
  • Kind of a pain in the ass walking up all those stairs, but everything else was good. We stayed in the traditional private room with tatami mats and it was really comfortable and nice. Definitely worth the money. A little far from most of the good sights, but very conveniently close to Kyoto station. It's not a huge city like Tokyo, so it was manageable.
  • 91%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This Place was awesome, the customer service was great. Everything was great, when I come back next year am staying here again.
  • 100%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A pretty good hostel. It's run by a kind staff who organized a fireworks party and helped with anything we needed and it was adequately clean. If you can manage a 15ish min walk from Kyoto Station, this is a fine choice.
  • 83%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »