See other Kyoto properties

J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House

51-2, Nakagoryo-cho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 3.6km

Rating: 90% from 15 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had NO problem finding it and it was literally under 10 min walk from Kyoto station. What I didn't like was the stuffiness of the room, it smelled musky (granted it was a rainy day and a mixed dorm) but ventilation could have been better and the AC did not produce clean smelling cool air. The beds were decent with privacy curtains but the beds creaked a lot. The people that slept in the room were also very rude w/ no hostel etiquette. WE ARE ALL TIRED BE QUIET! I
  • 77%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Catherina USA
  • The staff was friendly and extremely helpful and the facility is what you would expect from a hostel. The only improvement I can think of is they should have a way to make rental towels available at all hours as some people (like me) get up early to shower and you can't get a towel before 8 A.M. If you don't want to pay ridiculous hotel prices and are ok with the hostel atmosphere, then I would definitely recommend J-Hoppers.
  • 91%
  • 09 Oct 2014 William USA
  • I Stayed at J-Hoppers Guesthouse for one night arriving in Kyoto. It was a little hard to find, but most things in Kyoto are the first time. Everything was very clean and it was a great place to rest my head after a long day of traveling.
  • 89%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Kevin USA
  • Kind of a pain in the ass walking up all those stairs, but everything else was good. We stayed in the traditional private room with tatami mats and it was really comfortable and nice. Definitely worth the money. A little far from most of the good sights, but very conveniently close to Kyoto station. It's not a huge city like Tokyo, so it was manageable.
  • 91%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This Place was awesome, the customer service was great. Everything was great, when I come back next year am staying here again.
  • 100%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A pretty good hostel. It's run by a kind staff who organized a fireworks party and helped with anything we needed and it was adequately clean. If you can manage a 15ish min walk from Kyoto Station, this is a fine choice.
  • 83%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Another great stay at a J-hoppers! Clean, quiet despite the main road, extremely knowledgable staff, tons of tourist info, and great kakidoori (shaved ice) party!!! Book as early as you can, this place is always full!
  • 100%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Justine Wales
  • Good facilities but the ac was too strong! It was turned so low I got sick for 1 week. Staff should control it so it isn't out of hand
  • 80%
  • 27 May 2014 Grace USA
  • Location good and friendly staff
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Close to Kyoto train station & Kujo subway station. Clean & value for money. Suggest to those who carry big luggage with short stay, may pack hand carry bag as the guesthouse don't have elevator.
  • 91%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »