See other Taipei properties

JV's Hostel

Ln.101, Tonghua St., Taipei, Taiwan, Distance from city centre: 6.8km

Rating: 87% from 12 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very cool!
  • 83%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Anonymous Romania
  • Staff named Rice is super helpful and friendly. She recommends the best places to visit for our itinerary. She also helps arranging our trip Sun Moon Lake by buying the high speed rail tickets & bus tickets. The place is clean and good facility, near MRT only walk around 10 minutes.
  • 91%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Anonymous Thailand
  • thanks to your hospitallity, my brother and I had a great time. i was really surprised when you remember me. thanks 깔끔하고 조용한 분위기 속에서 편안히 휴식을 취할 수 있었습니다. 세탁기와 건조기를 저렴한 가격에 이용할 수 있어 매우 편리하였습니다. 직원분이 매우 친절하고 오래된 친구같이 편하였습니다.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Wonderful experience really good.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Arun kumar
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel. I stayed in the private room with 2 other friends. The apartment itself was very secure. Rice was a wonderful staff. She was very friendly and showed us where everything we needed. The bathroom was kept well cleaned and trashed was taken out everyday by the staff. Will stay again. Since I only pay the deposit on, the hostel should make a note that they only accept cash (Taiwan currency only) when making the rest of the payment in person.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2015 Iris USA
  • I didn't get to meet Rice, but she must really be something for this hostel to receive such rave reviews. I was disappointed and suspicious because there is honestly nothing special about this hostel. The lounge area is small, the rooms have dim, yellow lighting, and there is a wait for bathrooms because there are only 2 or 3? There is also this list of JV's home etiquette on the wall that carries a very off-putting tone of voice and attitude that definitely requires attention and revision.
  • 51%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Sandy Yi USA
  • Rice and the staff took wonderful care of all the guests. They tried their very best to facilitate a friendly atmosphere and took us out, personally, to a few of the sights in Taipei.
  • 86%
  • 23 Apr 2015 stephen USA
  • Location was great, just a 2 min walk to the night market (we weren't in the dorms building but in the private rooms one) Staff were super friendly and really helpful, giving us advice on transport, sights, booking train tickets for us... Olivia even gave us her personal phone number, which helped a lot. Room was basic but beds were comfortable. We didn't like so much that our room (for which we paid a premium, as it was Chinese New Year and also a private room) wasn't cleaned on a daily basis.
  • 80%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Rice, great customer service! We enjoyed our stay at JV and hope to visit again soon!
  • 69%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Jemarley USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »