See other Taipei properties

JV's Hostel

Ln.101, Tonghua St., Taipei, Taiwan, Distance from city centre: 6.8km

Rating: 88% from 18 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wonderful experience really good.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Arun kumar
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel. I stayed in the private room with 2 other friends. The apartment itself was very secure. Rice was a wonderful staff. She was very friendly and showed us where everything we needed. The bathroom was kept well cleaned and trashed was taken out everyday by the staff. Will stay again. Since I only pay the deposit on hostels.com, the hostel should make a note that they only accept cash (Taiwan currency only) when making the rest of the payment in person.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2015 Iris USA
  • I didn't get to meet Rice, but she must really be something for this hostel to receive such rave reviews. I was disappointed and suspicious because there is honestly nothing special about this hostel. The lounge area is small, the rooms have dim, yellow lighting, and there is a wait for bathrooms because there are only 2 or 3? There is also this list of JV's home etiquette on the wall that carries a very off-putting tone of voice and attitude that definitely requires attention and revision.
  • 51%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Sandy Yi USA
  • Rice and the staff took wonderful care of all the guests. They tried their very best to facilitate a friendly atmosphere and took us out, personally, to a few of the sights in Taipei.
  • 86%
  • 23 Apr 2015 stephen USA
  • Location was great, just a 2 min walk to the night market (we weren't in the dorms building but in the private rooms one) Staff were super friendly and really helpful, giving us advice on transport, sights, booking train tickets for us... Olivia even gave us her personal phone number, which helped a lot. Room was basic but beds were comfortable. We didn't like so much that our room (for which we paid a premium, as it was Chinese New Year and also a private room) wasn't cleaned on a daily basis.
  • 80%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Rice, great customer service! We enjoyed our stay at JV and hope to visit again soon!
  • 69%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Jemarley USA
  • I love everything about JV's Hostel. The staff there is so nice. She used at least 20min to explain to me where to go, after she knew I didn't really have a plan. She is so nice! Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Yao Singapore
  • Thanks for everything! I ve been traveling for a long time, but Ive never been in a hostel Like this one. The location and facilities are really good and the staff just amazing! They helped me with some problems I had and they make you feel right at home. It was too bad that I could not stay any longer. Next time I visit Taipei I know where to stay. I wish everyone at JV's hostels all the best and thanks again for everything!
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Pieter Netherlands
  • Really good place with fantastic facilities and comfortable enviourment, the best part is the convenient location! And really big thanks for your warm assistance Rice Mi! Remarkable experience and strongly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Anonymous China
  • good location - walkable from MRT station, near to Taipei 101 and night market. Staff (rice) was really friendly, cheerful, and informative! The private room we stayed in was clean however had no window. Overall, it was a good stay.
  • 77%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Ricky Indonesia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »