See other Taipei properties

JV's Hostel

2F., No.57, Aly. 50, Ln. 39, Tonghua St., Taipei, Taiwan, Distance from city centre: 6.8km

Rating: 85% from 23 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff were very pleasant. I felt that the furniture was in pretty rough shape and bathroom facilities were inadequate for the hostel's capacity and lacked sufficient counter space.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Jeremy USA
  • It is easy to get to or from the subway station or the airport bus stop and it is located right next to a night market. There are clean toilets and showers. There is a kitchen with a fridge. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again if I went back to Taipei.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Really Nice hostel, actually not a single complaint. And the lady who works there, Rice, omg she is sooo cool! Grtz Nick
  • 86%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • This hostel is definitely worth staying at. Centered right in the middle of Taipei, getting to the nearest metro station (Xinyi Anhe) only takes 10 mins to walk to. I came across 2 staffs of JV's Hostel, Rice and Charles, who were extremely courteous and helpful with my stay in Taipei. They helped recommended many great places for me to visit as well as providing me helpful tips and information. Because of the helpful staff, my stay in Taiwan has been amazing and well worth the money.
  • 86%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Brian Canada
  • best facilities ever met, and staff are so nice and helpful, will definitely choose if i go to taipei again
  • 97%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • Perfect place right in the middle of the night market, but the room, without windows, was kind of oppressive. It would be much better with fresh air.
  • 80%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Martin Czech Republic
  • Right on the corner of 通化街夜市 tonghuajie night market. The staff is very friendly and helpful!
  • 91%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
  • A small hostel close to the night market and a within reasonable walking distance from the MRT station and Taipei 101. Doorm room with comfortable beds,, lockers and a/c. Toilets and showers could be cleaner. One thing hostel badly lacks is some sort of kitchen with a fridge etc.
  • 80%
  • 04 Sep 2013 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Strategic location nearby MRT, Taipei 101 and night markets. Friendly staffs, cozy bed and many facilities availables... GOOD Choices for backpackers!!
  • 71%
  • 29 Aug 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Awesome hostel, I would definitely stay here again. The location is amazing, literally a 30 second walk to he night market. Both staff and fellow travelers were fun and helpful, made some great friends here. Best value you will find in Taipei.
  • 97%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »