See other Dublin properties

Jacobs Inn

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 85% from 59 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very competent staff and nice common rooms. Dorms clean and include bathroom for each room rather than for each floor. Basic security good and they offer lockers for those looking for a bit extra. Location is excellent -1 minute from Busaras where you can get a bus to either the airport or Dublin Port and maybe 5 from the river- all for average price. Would recommend for anyone visiting Dublin on a budget, or in general actually.
  • 100%
  • 22 Jul 2015 David USA
  • I was really happy how connected they were to other things like the Free Walking Tours and the Pub Crawl. However, the typical hostels that I am are 18+ and this was swarming with kids from summer break who haven't even hit puberty. I wish that restriction was on it because I was woken up a few nights by kids screaming at the top of their lungs at 7 in the morning.
  • 66%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Timothy USA
  • The hostel is in the excellent location that you can walk to the city center around 15-20 minutes. I stayed in 12-bed dorm and it's spacious. The only drawback is that there's no locker in the room and you need to rent a lock if necessary. There's not enough plug-ins in the room. There are are 3 beds with plug-ins for 12 people...Other than that I am pretty happy about the experience here.
  • 91%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • We had an excellent stay at Jacobs Inn! Loved it. Clean. Friendly. Helpful. Close to everything including bus transportation. Direct bus from airport to Jacobs Inn. When we return to Ireland, we will be staying here.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Tammy USA
  • I had a great stay at Jacobs. It is a great value for the price. Not super close to the center of town, but it's an easy 15 minute walk. Very lively atmosphere and rooms/showers were clean. Staff was great, really helpful. I would stay here again!
  • 80%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • My feed back reflects that I stayed in a single room, which was exellent. Breakfast was chaotic. The room and the furniture were in a bad condition (water dripping down from the roof, chair seats torn), and it had a horrible acustic.
  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Aase Denmark
  • Huge rooms with very limited bathroom(s).
  • 63%
  • 13 May 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The breakfast was included but I didn't find anything
  • 66%
  • 06 May 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Very nice hostel. Located in the center of the city, but close to the railway. Very clean and tidy. Awesome staff.
  • 86%
  • 01 May 2015 Anonymous Croatia
  • Shower drain was clogged. Otherwise, pretty clean. One tiny safe for a room of 4. You needed to rent a locker downstairs for anything larger or private. Staff was cool about watching a bag for a few hours if you arrived before check in time.
  • 77%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Matthew USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »