See other Dublin properties

Jacobs Inn

21 Talbot Place, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 84% from 44 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • While Jacobs Inn isn't the worst place I've ever been it isn't nearly as wonderful as all the reviews lead me to believe. The cost of the room was far higher than it's worth and the hostel isn't very close to the actual city center. It's close to o'connell st and the spire but most of the interesting part of Dublin is on the other side of the river. The quality of the place was also lacking. The toilet didn't flush, the heater didn't work, and the breakfast was only between 7-9.
  • 60%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Breakfast is average. Good security system.
  • 83%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Staff was fun and rooms were good!
  • 100%
  • 27 Mar 2014 victoria Canada
  • I'm not a massive hostel 'user', but I just though it impersonal that customers could just enter and leave the room freely when others are trying to sleep. In my case I had to get up a 7 a.m to do a fitness test for a job application process I was unable to sleep at all due to the above mentioned problem and funnily because a certain customer was talking in their sleep. I just think a 12 person bunking set up is too many. Facilities were great and a free breakfast was also very welcome.
  • 80%
  • 24 Mar 2014 catthal Ireland
  • I thought the breakfast was poor.
  • 83%
  • 20 Mar 2014 dale USA
  • Great location! Walking distance to some awesome restaurants and pubs but not right in the middle of everything which is kind of nice. The staff was great at answering questions and even helped us book a taxi to the airport at the end of our stay.
  • 100%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Linden USA
  • Staff was great but everything else was nothing special. Location was ok, at night didn't particularity feel safe. During my trip it was booked with either larger groups or long term stay which is fine but not the atmosphere I personally enjoy. Only major complaint was that there were no lockers, cubbies, or any sort of storage in the actual rooms
  • 60%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A nice place to stay, only should note it is a rather big hostel and therefore busy all the time with lots of people around. Personally, I prefer a bit less mayhem.
  • 89%
  • 23 Feb 2014 Anonymous Slovenia
  • Overall experience was great! No WI-FI in rooms is a bit weird. The security was excellent though I would've preferred lockable luggage cages under the beds.
  • 77%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Unfortunately I only stayed at the Jacobs Inn for 2 night, but I loved it. Everyone working there was really friendly and helpful, a free light breakfast was included in the price, they had common rooms you can use, a lot of offers like a walking tour for free... I can't complain about anything. I liked the room with a private bathroom, I met great people at the hostel... Next time I'm in Dublin, I'll go to the Jacobs Inn again for sure!
  • 94%
  • 29 Jan 2014 Alexandra Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »