See other Dublin properties

Jacobs Inn

21 Talbot Place, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 82% from 47 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious, comfortable and clean rooms (small beds though). Breakfast is fine but a little early. It's about a 10-minute walk to the actual city center. The keycard system is good but could definitely use an upgrade, we couldn't get our door open half the time (talk about security :)).
  • 86%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The staff was friendly, the free tour was absolut great and the tipp for the hostel in Glasgow perfect for us!!
  • 86%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Andrea Germany
  • Was pleasantly surprised at the room and bathroom! Definitely value for money. Do recommend either rearranging the bunks in the private 4 bed rooms on level 4 as the top bunk by the window had no support on one side.
  • 94%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Caroline New Zealand
  • This was a good value hostel in a great location. One staff member was great in helping me quickly join a pub crawl at the last minute. Most of the other staff I dealt with seemed indifferent. This was my fist experience at a hostel, but nobody offered any advice or told me how things work in a hostel.
  • 77%
  • 23 May 2014 Curtis USA
  • The staff was helpful and knowledgable. We loved our stay and all of the discounts Jacobs Inn had to offer.
  • 94%
  • 07 May 2014 Jennarose USA
  • It was a good hostel, but not especially great...the kitchen was large and accommodated a lot of people at once, but the burners were so slow it took 10 minutes to melt butter on them and another 20 to fry an egg. There was very good security. The rooms were spacious but curtains were dark..probably necessary on first floor, and someone always wanted them closed. Fresh air was a problem. Bathroom for 12 women was good..there were other bathrooms available. Lobby was unattractive but not awfu
  • 74%
  • 25 Apr 2014 mary USA
  • Great staff, extremely helpful. Rooms were clean and worth the stay. Further away from temple bar district then desired but easy to get around.
  • 94%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • While Jacobs Inn isn't the worst place I've ever been it isn't nearly as wonderful as all the reviews lead me to believe. The cost of the room was far higher than it's worth and the hostel isn't very close to the actual city center. It's close to o'connell st and the spire but most of the interesting part of Dublin is on the other side of the river. The quality of the place was also lacking. The toilet didn't flush, the heater didn't work, and the breakfast was only between 7-9.
  • 60%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Breakfast is average. Good security system.
  • 83%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Staff was fun and rooms were good!
  • 100%
  • 27 Mar 2014 victoria Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »