See other Dublin properties

Jacobs Inn

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 81% from 66 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I enjoyed my 2 days stay , l appreciated the help I got from the staff . I would definitely return there, highly recommended
  • 97%
  • 25 Jan 2016 Anonymous Italy
  • The perfect location and the perfect hostel for visitors/travelers , I would recommend this place as friendly comfortable safe in better environment, my experience staying in Jacobs inn was really good and I'll stay n book this place whenever I'll visiting Dublin....thanks Jacobs inn
  • 20%
  • 23 Jan 2016 Patel
  • The cleaning staff and night receptionist are very rude and too "interactive" for lack of a better word. It is nothing for them to bark orders at you or (from personal experience) physically grab you to tell you a new rule that isn't posted in any discernible location. They seem like they hate every second of being there which is weird considering influx of immigrants to Dublin who would do anything for a job. The manager seems oblivious about their conduct.
  • 43%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great place but I have only one complain, the hostel must have one opened area for 24 hrs, kitchen should be opened as well, they close it 3 pm to 5 pm, for different countries that time is lunch time, they should understand
  • 77%
  • 26 Dec 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • The cleaning staff and night receptionist are very rude and too "interactive" for lack of a better word. It is nothing for them to bark orders at you or (from personal experience) physically grab you to tell you a new rule that isn't posted in any discernible location. They seem like they hate every second of being there which is weird considering influx of immigrants to Dublin who would do anything for a job. The manager seems oblivious about their conduct.
  • 43%
  • 20 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Overall this place was lovely. After spending a few horrific nights in another hostel this was a pleasant surprise. The beds and rooms were lovely and the other guests were also just as great! The breakfast was not a full Irish breakfast as previously reviewed however it was the standard of cereal, toast, filter coffee, tea with canned fruit salad. The real only low part would be the black mold on the shower door, yuck but I'm confident it would have been managed had I brought it forward.
  • 80%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Lisa
  • Extremely disappointing. Stayed in the 10 bed coed dorm - bunks were small, there were limited power outlets in room, and no in-room lockers. Upon arrival and departure my experience with the front desk staff was awful. Rude workers who did not seem to care much about the customers. Pretty average free breakfast of toast, cereals, juice and coffee. Overall was not pleased by my experience -- most certainly was not worth the cost.
  • 49%
  • 14 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Overall it was an okay stay. I stayed in an all girls dorm, and the bathrooms were not clean. There was hair everywhere for the entire time we were there. I decided to wash my clothes and the dryer shut off before I could start it, so I had to hang my clothes all over the dorm to let them dry. It was in a good location to the city overall though, and comfortable enough of a stay.
  • 66%
  • 06 Oct 2015 Mandy USA
  • The hostel is very well located, perfect if you intend to only spend the night in dublin and then go on with a journey across Ireland. It is only two steps away from one of the train stations of Dublin (where you can take the DART), and walking distance from the big bus station. Plus, the police office stands nearby too, which kind of add something to the feeling of security, cause the neighborhood might seem to be a bit freaky when you first see it (lots of low cost shops & gambling areas).
  • 89%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Soukaina Belgium
  • This place had the best breakfast that we encountered on our 10-day tour over Ireland! It was fantastic, the ground floor felt like a cafe where you could chat with whomever you wanted, and the setup was definitely very very nice. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.
  • 97%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Melanie Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »