See other Dublin properties

Jacobs Inn

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 82% from 63 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful. The hostel was in an excellent location. While we were there, there was construction happening on the room next to us, which started at 7 am, which ment you couldn't sleep, incredibly frustrating.
  • 86%
  • 06 Apr 2016 Michael Canada
  • I stayed there for 2 nights and I have to say that it was really nice hostel. Rooms and bathroom was so clean. So many possibilities how spend free time there like playroom or fabulous terrace with nice view. I highly recommend this hostel. Breakfast was just perfect. Everybody can choose whatever they want to eat like eggs or cereals, toast with nutella 😍
  • 89%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • The game room with the pool table was not appealing because it closed very early and wasn't clean at all. There was a lot of noise from outside at night. (cars, metros, busses, ...) The breakfast on the other hand was very good and I also enjoyed the free walking tour in the morning.
  • 77%
  • 08 Feb 2016 Anonymous Belgium
  • I enjoyed my 2 days stay , l appreciated the help I got from the staff . I would definitely return there, highly recommended
  • 97%
  • 25 Jan 2016 Anonymous Italy
  • The perfect location and the perfect hostel for visitors/travelers , I would recommend this place as friendly comfortable safe in better environment, my experience staying in Jacobs inn was really good and I'll stay n book this place whenever I'll visiting Dublin....thanks Jacobs inn
  • 20%
  • 23 Jan 2016 Patel
  • The cleaning staff and night receptionist are very rude and too "interactive" for lack of a better word. It is nothing for them to bark orders at you or (from personal experience) physically grab you to tell you a new rule that isn't posted in any discernible location. They seem like they hate every second of being there which is weird considering influx of immigrants to Dublin who would do anything for a job. The manager seems oblivious about their conduct.
  • 43%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great place but I have only one complain, the hostel must have one opened area for 24 hrs, kitchen should be opened as well, they close it 3 pm to 5 pm, for different countries that time is lunch time, they should understand
  • 77%
  • 26 Dec 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • The cleaning staff and night receptionist are very rude and too "interactive" for lack of a better word. It is nothing for them to bark orders at you or (from personal experience) physically grab you to tell you a new rule that isn't posted in any discernible location. They seem like they hate every second of being there which is weird considering influx of immigrants to Dublin who would do anything for a job. The manager seems oblivious about their conduct.
  • 43%
  • 20 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Overall this place was lovely. After spending a few horrific nights in another hostel this was a pleasant surprise. The beds and rooms were lovely and the other guests were also just as great! The breakfast was not a full Irish breakfast as previously reviewed however it was the standard of cereal, toast, filter coffee, tea with canned fruit salad. The real only low part would be the black mold on the shower door, yuck but I'm confident it would have been managed had I brought it forward.
  • 80%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Lisa
  • Extremely disappointing. Stayed in the 10 bed coed dorm - bunks were small, there were limited power outlets in room, and no in-room lockers. Upon arrival and departure my experience with the front desk staff was awful. Rude workers who did not seem to care much about the customers. Pretty average free breakfast of toast, cereals, juice and coffee. Overall was not pleased by my experience -- most certainly was not worth the cost.
  • 49%
  • 14 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »