See other Christchurch properties

Jailhouse Accommodation

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 87% from 17 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved it! Different to a normal experience, but great fun.
  • 100%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Anonymous
  • Nice stay at Jailhouse. Fairly close to main things to do in Christchurch. Pretty cool staying in an old jailhouse. There were a couple cells and things left the way they were to look at. Free movie and popcorn was a bonus. Rooms were clean, the staff were helpful and nice. Would recommend this place.
  • 86%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Katherine Canada
  • Great hostel, a historic jail. close to the railway station. The night i was there we had movies and popcorn :) Nice clean dorm room with attached ensuite. Cleanest kitchen i have seen for a long time :) Will definitely stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Really cool hostel. Would have been nice if there were more organized hostel activities, but easy to talk to other people. Facilities like the cinema and tv room were very nice. Rooms got cold at night - no heating, just hot water bottles. The 2 person "dorm" is a very good value for Christchurch. Location isn't central, but it's easy to get where you want to go by walking/biking/bus. Also, kitchen was great. If you have a room off the main area it can be very noisy and hard to sleep.
  • 77%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Katie USA
  • It's a really cool old building, but far from the city center and was a bit expensive compared to other places I've stayed. The kitchen was really nice though. It was very well equipped and this is the only place I've stayed that had sharp knives. That made cooking so much easier! The place was very clean but the bathrooms were a bit cramped--your knees touch the door of the stall in the toilets. Overall was pretty good but $10 more per night than other hostels.
  • 74%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Caroline USA
  • Very good hostel, great idea to put a hostel in an old jail. We enjoyed our stay very much.
  • 97%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anna-Maria Germany
  • Staff were generally courteous and helpful. Some reception staff needed better training and, as visitors to the country themselves, were ill-equipped to give accurate travel advise and information. Cleanliness of toilets needed more thorough attention.
  • 71%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Helene New Zealand
  • Special atmosphere (located in ancient prison). All other criterias: solid average.
  • 69%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Steve Switzerland
  • It was great fun, we loved it
  • 100%
  • 18 Feb 2014 joseph USA
  • I have absolutely no complaints about this place, but I would not rate it as excellent other than the staff and the cleanliness. I stayed there for the novelty value of staying in a former jail AND because, making reservations kind of at the last minute, I did not have that many choices. But overall I'm still very happy I stayed there.
  • 86%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »