See other Christchurch properties

Jailhouse Accommodation

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 86% from 23 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Even though our stay was short lived, I thought it was a unique experience!! I would definitely recommend this place and would love to stay again. Only thing that we had trouble with was the internet being slow.
  • 100%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Strangely, our "jail cell" was bigger than some hostel rooms that we've stayed in. The staff was warm, welcoming, and helpful with advice. The place was clean. It's jail, so of course it's secure. A fun place to try something new. Wifi was strong. My only complaint is that the kitchen can get a bit crowded if many guests happen to use it at once.
  • 94%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent hostel ! Clean, super helful staff, very relaxing and quiet. And the location, in a prison, makes it something you have to try !
  • 94%
  • 29 Jan 2015 clement France
  • Very interesting to stay in the jailhouse. Original artwork in some cells. I would stay there again as it's very friendly and clean!
  • 86%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Elizabeth England
  • Great place to stay, worth the slightly higher price tag. As you would expect, the security is good, and the rooms/common areas are suprisingly spacious. One downside would be that there could be more showers, but otherwise very little negative to say. Its also located in a regenerated part of town so plenty of places to eat/shop nearby.
  • 91%
  • 15 Jan 2015 Anonymous England
  • The staff organized a christmas dinner and almost everybody showed up with their part of the dinner. Well done!
  • 74%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • It was a unique experience. In a way a bit creepy but that is the point of the hostel. Price is a bit high for what you get but for one night it is ok.
  • 80%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Lisa
  • I loved this hostel, totally unique and cool concept. Clean space, friendly staff and good location!
  • 91%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Alexandra
  • Loved it! Different to a normal experience, but great fun.
  • 100%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Anonymous
  • Nice stay at Jailhouse. Fairly close to main things to do in Christchurch. Pretty cool staying in an old jailhouse. There were a couple cells and things left the way they were to look at. Free movie and popcorn was a bonus. Rooms were clean, the staff were helpful and nice. Would recommend this place.
  • 86%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Katherine Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »