See other Christchurch properties

Jailhouse Accommodation

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 88% from 14 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good hostel, great idea to put a hostel in an old jail. We enjoyed our stay very much.
  • 97%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anna-Maria Germany
  • Staff were generally courteous and helpful. Some reception staff needed better training and, as visitors to the country themselves, were ill-equipped to give accurate travel advise and information. Cleanliness of toilets needed more thorough attention.
  • 71%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Helene New Zealand
  • Special atmosphere (located in ancient prison). All other criterias: solid average.
  • 69%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Steve Switzerland
  • It was great fun, we loved it
  • 100%
  • 18 Feb 2014 joseph USA
  • I have absolutely no complaints about this place, but I would not rate it as excellent other than the staff and the cleanliness. I stayed there for the novelty value of staying in a former jail AND because, making reservations kind of at the last minute, I did not have that many choices. But overall I'm still very happy I stayed there.
  • 86%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the greatest hostels in Christchurch. It's very clean and the staff is always nice and open minded. The jail atmosphere is funny and unique. In short the only jail I don't mind living in.
  • 97%
  • 17 Jan 2014 Bolatito Germany
  • The Hostel was very warming. The staff were extremely friendly and ensured that i was always catered for and even became friends with them and hangout out after working hours. The Jailhouse Accommodation had great facilities and at all times were in a clean condition. The atmosphere of the hostel is great and it attracts pleasant travels. I would highly recommend this hostel as it catered for all my needs and it was good value for money.
  • 94%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Jonathan New Zealand
  • We had a twin room and felt really safe in our room because it is an old jail.
  • 83%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Nadia Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »