See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 71% from 109 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • At 8.00. am one of the staff-member at the front desk stormed into my room and questioned me why I was there. I got scared because suddenly this man stood in my room and yelled at me that I shouldn't be there, that there should be a Japanese girl.I showed him my card and receipt and he walked out. Very unproffesional behavior. If he had checket the reservation ,before he stormed into my room, he would have seen that I, with a non japanese name, had booked and payed for this specific room. Rude..
  • 49%
  • 23 May 2015 Ing-Marie Sweden
  • They charge per night booking fee they dont initially disclose and pretend its part of ny tax. Their keys dont work. I got locked out twice in one day. Second time i got locked out nobody was there to let me in. Loud music went on till 4-5 am and they deemed it normal. U cant use water because their conserving taps dont let u unless u keep pushing every second which makes it practically impossible to collect water. I had to wash my hands and face in the nasty shower.
  • 26%
  • 08 May 2015 Anonymous Georgia
  • There were no one present at the front desk when i arived. ( Jose wasnt engaging and told me' make sure you choose the right bed or else you woudl be charged extra $15- great......After entering the room the bed was a mess as well as the room and having going back downstairs again the front desk was unstaffed. Finally Jose returned and i had to wait for further 20 mins as he was busy training his colleague....very poor customer service.
  • 49%
  • 06 May 2015 Alok USA
  • This hostel's good location was one of the few good things about it. When I arrived and went to the room, there was a brown spot on my pillow that smelled like fecal matter (wish I was joking). Reception gave me a new pillow case but not a new pillow. The rooms were freezing cold (even through it was the end of April), and many of the people in my room (myself included), were forced to sleep in our jackets (the one super-light blanket was simply not warm enough). I would NOT recommend!
  • 46%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Jennifer Canada
  • Its was pleasure to as this low cost of money in Manhattan with all facilities.. its was great experience for me, Thanks to all Jaz team members..
  • 100%
  • 20 Apr 2015 Anand
  • Хорошее расположение у центрального парка, джаз клуба и метро. Хорошее состояние кроватей. Общая зона на первом этаже позволяет не заскучать, найдя себе собеседника. Не работал туалет на всем этаже приходилось спускаться на два ниже.
  • 71%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Ivan Russia
  • WORST HOSTEL I have ever stayed in (and I have stayed in over 100). Fifth floor, no elevators, NO working bathrooms. OLD sign says to use bathroom on 3rd floor. People coming and going all night. No sheets or blankets. I asked for a refund after 4 hours and after arguing with the manager for an hour he agreed to refund my credit card. He ran the card through and when I got home I discovered he not only DIDNT refund the card, but HE CHARGED ME AGAIN. Avoid this hostel!
  • 29%
  • 04 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Sent us to the wrong room, came back late and someone was in one of our beds so we told them and they said they couldn't deal with it until their manager came, so we shared one twin bed. Next day the manager told us we were in the wrong room, so he wouldn't refund us...if we were in the wrong room then why did our keys work? Went to take a shower and someone had thrown up in the sink and they didn't clean it up bc the next day the throw up was still there. horriblen management?
  • 51%
  • 28 Feb 2015 Tucker USA
  • Thought I had stayed there before but it either moved a few blocks or it is another Jazz hostel with similer name. Pros: Great location Cons: Building wasn't that nice, dirty small bathrooms with almost no privacy. Worth the winter rate of about $25/n but at any higher than that it would be better to go to another hostel.
  • 63%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Rooms are poorly isolated - recommended to wear lots of clothing during NY winters. Bathroom on the 5th floor was out of order and there only is WiFi-connection in the lobby.
  • 69%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Rutger Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »