See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 71% from 109 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved it!
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staff behavior was not what i expect from people who work in a hotel/hostel. They only gave me a doorkey and told directions to room, and the way the guy on the check in desk communicated was not customer service. I felt like he is only doing what he have to do plus his behavior were rude. Also this same guy were staring at me when i was in living room.
  • 46%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • We had aan amazing time at Jazz on the Park! It made our visit to NYC one to never forget. The staff is really nice, helpfull and fun, and the atmosphere is amazing, so many fun, international travellers! The balance between a place to have fun and party and a place to rest after a exhausting day of sightseeing in NY is perfect! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a hostel in New York!
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The floor had major water stains. The beds were not very clean. My key stopped working three times. I had to keep asking them to redo my keys (which is annoying when you are on the fourth floor).
  • 43%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Daniel USA
  • Perfect location to explor the Central Park, museums and downtown Manhattan.
  • 69%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Hung Germany
  • At 8.00. am one of the staff-member at the front desk stormed into my room and questioned me why I was there. I got scared because suddenly this man stood in my room and yelled at me that I shouldn't be there, that there should be a Japanese girl.I showed him my card and receipt and he walked out. Very unproffesional behavior. If he had checket the reservation ,before he stormed into my room, he would have seen that I, with a non japanese name, had booked and payed for this specific room. Rude..
  • 49%
  • 23 May 2015 Ing-Marie Sweden
  • They charge per night booking fee they dont initially disclose and pretend its part of ny tax. Their keys dont work. I got locked out twice in one day. Second time i got locked out nobody was there to let me in. Loud music went on till 4-5 am and they deemed it normal. U cant use water because their conserving taps dont let u unless u keep pushing every second which makes it practically impossible to collect water. I had to wash my hands and face in the nasty shower.
  • 26%
  • 08 May 2015 Anonymous Georgia
  • The Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel is perhaps one of the best hotels in New York City. The hostel is very clean and well maintained, and rooms are large. The hostel provides free wifi and towels. However, the hostel wifi system does NOT work well on the 3rd or 4th floor. Furthermore, the hostel does not provide breakfast. Despite those issues, the hostel is an excellent choice for budget travelers who wants to live near Columbia University. Highly recommended!!
  • 91%
  • 06 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • There were no one present at the front desk when i arived. ( Jose wasnt engaging and told me' make sure you choose the right bed or else you woudl be charged extra $15- great......After entering the room the bed was a mess as well as the room and having going back downstairs again the front desk was unstaffed. Finally Jose returned and i had to wait for further 20 mins as he was busy training his colleague....very poor customer service.
  • 49%
  • 06 May 2015 Alok USA
  • This hostel's good location was one of the few good things about it. When I arrived and went to the room, there was a brown spot on my pillow that smelled like fecal matter (wish I was joking). Reception gave me a new pillow case but not a new pillow. The rooms were freezing cold (even through it was the end of April), and many of the people in my room (myself included), were forced to sleep in our jackets (the one super-light blanket was simply not warm enough). I would NOT recommend!
  • 46%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Jennifer Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »