See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 71% from 114 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Хорошее расположение у центрального парка, джаз клуба и метро. Хорошее состояние кроватей. Общая зона на первом этаже позволяет не заскучать, найдя себе собеседника. Не работал туалет на всем этаже приходилось спускаться на два ниже.
  • 71%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Ivan Russia
  • WORST HOSTEL I have ever stayed in (and I have stayed in over 100). Fifth floor, no elevators, NO working bathrooms. OLD sign says to use bathroom on 3rd floor. People coming and going all night. No sheets or blankets. I asked for a refund after 4 hours and after arguing with the manager for an hour he agreed to refund my credit card. He ran the card through and when I got home I discovered he not only DIDNT refund the card, but HE CHARGED ME AGAIN. Avoid this hostel!
  • 29%
  • 04 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Sent us to the wrong room, came back late and someone was in one of our beds so we told them and they said they couldn't deal with it until their manager came, so we shared one twin bed. Next day the manager told us we were in the wrong room, so he wouldn't refund us...if we were in the wrong room then why did our keys work? Went to take a shower and someone had thrown up in the sink and they didn't clean it up bc the next day the throw up was still there. horriblen management?
  • 51%
  • 28 Feb 2015 Tucker USA
  • Thought I had stayed there before but it either moved a few blocks or it is another Jazz hostel with similer name. Pros: Great location Cons: Building wasn't that nice, dirty small bathrooms with almost no privacy. Worth the winter rate of about $25/n but at any higher than that it would be better to go to another hostel.
  • 63%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Rooms are poorly isolated - recommended to wear lots of clothing during NY winters. Bathroom on the 5th floor was out of order and there only is WiFi-connection in the lobby.
  • 69%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Rutger Netherlands
  • Gostei muito. Barato e com boa localização. O pessoal da recepção é normal, não foram grossos, mas foram bem objetivos. Deixava minha mala destrancada e meu celular no quarto e não aconteceu nada. A maioria dos hospedes são jovens e há alguns stand ups à noite. Minha cama pelo menos era boa, fui no inverno e as colchas eram suficientes. Lado negativo: não há elevador e os banheiros são separados dos quartos. A internet também só funciona na recepção. No mais vale a pena o custo/benefício.
  • 77%
  • 11 Feb 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Nice place! I'd go back there again if I visit NYC.
  • 74%
  • 10 Feb 2015 Caroline Sweden
  • It's alright.but can be better They need to plan more fun events to get everybody Involved. When I stayed there for 2 night was a fri, sat Was very quite no one talking to anyone no events to get everybody socialising Was a very boring hostel. But in overall you get what you paid for so its okay
  • 60%
  • 23 Jan 2015 derek New Zealand
  • Very poor WiFi. A lot of work to extend a stay, because you have to order online in the lobby to get the online discount. The key cards stop working all the time.
  • 60%
  • 20 Jan 2015 Mathias Denmark
  • Greatly appreciated that they had lockers in each room so you could easily store stuff and without having to pay for it (bring your own lock) and that they provided towels. Room was a bit warm but very comfortable with the window open which was great - the last hostel I was at did not allow us to open the windows which made the room very hot. Great hostel, really enjoyed staying there - I do not know why people give it a lower rating.
  • 74%
  • 15 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »