See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 71% from 106 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We booked a private 2-bed bedroom; what a disappointment ! The room was very small and old, quite dirty and smelt really bad. The bathroom on our floor was not very clean as well (let's not talk about the toilet !). We were on the fifth floor, without a lift (imagine how nice it was to carry the suitcases all the way to the top...). The wifi only works in the common room downstairs (it felt like 2003 all over again) The staff was helpful though, which is the only nice thing about this place.
  • 57%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Thomas Canada
  • Don't have a kitchen with utensils, only a fridge, my food got stolen more than once. Also dont have a shower for both sexes on each floor so my girlfriend had to go downstairs to shower. No elevators which can be a bit annoying when your carrying bags up 5 floors, also the keycards stopped working on average once a day. Staff are friendly and helpful if you approach them but mostly not too engaging. Location is outstanding, 30seconds to centralpark and 1min to good subway lines. Very clean+tidy
  • 60%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Anonymous New Zealand
  • I loved it!
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staff behavior was not what i expect from people who work in a hotel/hostel. They only gave me a doorkey and told directions to room, and the way the guy on the check in desk communicated was not customer service. I felt like he is only doing what he have to do plus his behavior were rude. Also this same guy were staring at me when i was in living room.
  • 46%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • We had aan amazing time at Jazz on the Park! It made our visit to NYC one to never forget. The staff is really nice, helpfull and fun, and the atmosphere is amazing, so many fun, international travellers! The balance between a place to have fun and party and a place to rest after a exhausting day of sightseeing in NY is perfect! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a hostel in New York!
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The floor had major water stains. The beds were not very clean. My key stopped working three times. I had to keep asking them to redo my keys (which is annoying when you are on the fourth floor).
  • 43%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Daniel USA
  • Perfect location to explor the Central Park, museums and downtown Manhattan.
  • 69%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Hung Germany
  • At 8.00. am one of the staff-member at the front desk stormed into my room and questioned me why I was there. I got scared because suddenly this man stood in my room and yelled at me that I shouldn't be there, that there should be a Japanese girl.I showed him my card and receipt and he walked out. Very unproffesional behavior. If he had checket the reservation ,before he stormed into my room, he would have seen that I, with a non japanese name, had booked and payed for this specific room. Rude..
  • 49%
  • 23 May 2015 Ing-Marie Sweden
  • They charge per night booking fee they dont initially disclose and pretend its part of ny tax. Their keys dont work. I got locked out twice in one day. Second time i got locked out nobody was there to let me in. Loud music went on till 4-5 am and they deemed it normal. U cant use water because their conserving taps dont let u unless u keep pushing every second which makes it practically impossible to collect water. I had to wash my hands and face in the nasty shower.
  • 26%
  • 08 May 2015 Anonymous Georgia
  • The Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel is perhaps one of the best hotels in New York City. The hostel is very clean and well maintained, and rooms are large. The hostel provides free wifi and towels. However, the hostel wifi system does NOT work well on the 3rd or 4th floor. Furthermore, the hostel does not provide breakfast. Despite those issues, the hostel is an excellent choice for budget travelers who wants to live near Columbia University. Highly recommended!!
  • 91%
  • 06 May 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »