See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 70% from 60 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • we stayed just for one night but can't complain! Great location, clean room, helpful staff. Thanks
  • 89%
  • 10 Aug 2016 Anonymous Slovakia
  • Clean and in a nice location right next to central park really close to subway stations. Wifi only available in common areas which makes for really good atmosphere but could be inconvenient for some. Only downside is lack of power outlets in rooms. Would definitely recommend.
  • 77%
  • 06 Aug 2016 Anonymous England
  • I was taking our high school drama guild on its first trip outside of Boston. We chose the Jazz on the Park because of it's affordability and it's school-friendly marketing. What we got was a staff that released a bed we had reserved, lied about having other rooms available to put the guest when we asked them to be moved, and we had this repeated 3 times. No one offered to comp the cost of our trip or make this right in any way. I will make sure myself, nor anyone I know goes here.
  • 34%
  • 24 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed in 6-Beds Dorm.Wide comfortable beds in big rooms but v small lockers.Clean Bathrooms but taps of basins, r pain in the neck.They drop water only by keepin ur hands on them, like in restaurants.Never saw that system in any hostel b4! Kitchen not equippd at all except for big fridge 2 store ur stuff. Located in quiet residential area by West central Park,that feels good goin to after a noisy hectic day in mid town. Subway is 5 mints away. Harlem & 125th st is v close. Check them out.
  • 83%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Anonymous Lebanon
  • Great if you literally want a bed to sleep in. Wifi is only downstairs so the common area is often just a bunch of people working on their laptops. Not very social. Bar crawl is $60 entry to a club (tour guide gets commission)
  • 60%
  • 14 Jun 2016 Anonymous England
  • Had an awesome time with some of the staff; Alex, Omar and the Dutch girl were awesome! It's definitely not the best hostel I've stayed in. No Wifi in the rooms, only in the common room. No kitchen. Showers could be cleaner.. etc. But location is great and I had an amazing time.
  • 71%
  • 06 Jun 2016 Sandra Netherlands
  • One of the staff members couldn't accept being wrong and she wouldn't admit she was wrong, and there is quiet atmosphere. Location is kinda good though.
  • 49%
  • 24 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nersy, Marsha, and the other staff members were amazing! I have stayed at 5 star hotels before, and the customer service I received from these ladies was comparable. They are an asset to your organization. Not enough good things I can say about the service.
  • 83%
  • 21 May 2016 Allison
  • downstairs is a nice community room with tables and couches to sit also some snack machines. The rooms have no atmosphere and aren't really comfortable. We stayed only one night here and we're happy we don't have to stay longer. It didn't feel safe or friendly
  • 46%
  • 11 May 2016 Freya Constanze Germany
  • Ants in the bedrooms. No elevator while we had to bring our suitcase to the fifth floor.
  • 54%
  • 10 May 2016 Pauline France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »