See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 78% from 23 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent hostel, with breakfast, lunch and dinner included. Near the beach and with party all days.
  • 94%
  • 24 Apr 2017 Anonymous Argentina
  • Location exellent, Clean Roms, professionel staff, BUT The hostel COULD be much better IF it had a kitchen, more staff , they girls were working all the time & could therefore NOT check out who was entering the hostel. a woman with tyrett syndrom visited Jazz without paying I was told, not before midnight she was afsked to leave! A hostel is primary for PAYING customers. I saw the nice manager once in (5min.)the 3days I stayed there which is sufficiente with the little space you have.
  • 63%
  • 02 Apr 2017 Anonymous Denmark
  • This hostel is the lowest in cost for the NY area and provides a warm, spacious room with clean bathrooms and friendly staff. like Jan, who checked me in. Thanks Jan for being super nice and also his supervisor, Maria. However, the lounge area is small and often overcrowded since many travelers use the tables for their laptop usage and do not make room for those needing to eat at the tables. Also, sleeping in the one lounge chair should be restricted after 6:30 am. It looks bad!
  • 91%
  • 09 Mar 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I left my sleeper outside of the loker. When I came back to the hostel, it was not there. The womem who cleans the room thought that nobody was there anymore, and she put on the "lost and found". The problem was when I tried to talk with the receptionist when I realized that my sleeper was not in my room. She said "I can not do anything", she was rude and desinterested about it.
  • 69%
  • 05 Mar 2017 Thais Brazil
  • Perfect place for bagpackers. You get what you paid for. Nice people and nice atmosphere.
  • 97%
  • 04 Feb 2017 Anonymous Pakistan
  • excellent front desk staff, caring & helpful
  • 80%
  • 17 Jan 2017 Ath Thailand
  • The staff was great, down to earth and relatable.
  • 100%
  • 01 Nov 2016 Christopher Canada
  • My biggest complaint about this place was the couches in the common area. they need new ones. there was no Wi-Fi in the rooms. It was free in the common area but spotty. Place is not exactly clean, but it isn't that dirty either.no rats no roaches. There is no age restriction unlike some youth hostels. The only restriction is that you cannot be a New York state resident. I would stay there again if I was aiming for that part of town.
  • 66%
  • 27 Oct 2016 scott
  • This hostel is clean, provides a bed, sheets and towell, and is very well situated at meters from central park, subway and bike station. But: wifi is slow when it works and not available in rooms, use of provided computers is not free, no kitchen (though, there is a fridge), they charge for keeping bags the last day. Lockers are small and walls paper thin. Given the paid price, I recommend checking other options before renting there.
  • 60%
  • 25 Sep 2016 Thomas France
  • we stayed just for one night but can't complain! Great location, clean room, helpful staff. Thanks
  • 89%
  • 10 Aug 2016 Anonymous Slovakia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »