See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 73% from 64 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the staff members couldn't accept being wrong and she wouldn't admit she was wrong, and there is quiet atmosphere. Location is kinda good though.
  • 49%
  • 24 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • downstairs is a nice community room with tables and couches to sit also some snack machines. The rooms have no atmosphere and aren't really comfortable. We stayed only one night here and we're happy we don't have to stay longer. It didn't feel safe or friendly
  • 46%
  • 11 May 2016 Freya Constanze Germany
  • Ants in the bedrooms. No elevator while we had to bring our suitcase to the fifth floor.
  • 54%
  • 10 May 2016 Pauline France
  • The location of 'Jazz on the Park Youth Hostel' is satisfying, due to the fact that you can get easily access to subway station, cafe and etc.The room is cozy and has sofa and table where you can chill out and do some work. However, what makes me annoyed is their lack of care in keeping rooms clean. I found several ants crawling on the ground. The hostel is required to adopt pest control system. Since the accommodation fee is quite low compared to other hostels near Central park, it is worth it.
  • 63%
  • 08 May 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • The hostel is good for staying a little while and it has an excellent location. What I think is a big problem that the lockers in the room have no door closers to lock them up und you also cant rent them. So you cant lock up your private and important stuff.
  • 74%
  • 20 Apr 2016 Jonas Germany
  • I would stay again.
  • 77%
  • 15 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The first night we were frozen in the room because they didn't put the heater (I caught a cold), the second night we complained and the put on the heater, so we slept much better. We arrive at 13 but the check in was at 15.00 but they allowed to stay in the lunch room waiting, they were nice. In general we had a good time there. :)
  • 83%
  • 17 Mar 2016 Miriam Spain
  • This hostel lacks a kitchen but it has a microwave which can be used as a substitute for a kitchen, However, the bathrooms and bedrooms were quite spacious and very clean. Also, the staff was quite friendly and helpful. Good value for the price charged,
  • 89%
  • 29 Feb 2016 Norma USA
  • This hostel was decent. They only provide a fridge, hot water and microwave but people manage well enough with that. No utensils, plates, cups or anything. They had a can opener and that was very useful. The tv with like 1000 channels was useful for me at least. Near a lot of useful markets and restaurants. Staff were nice enough. Wifi only works in the common area. Good price overall.
  • 77%
  • 28 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is poorly laid out. There are no comfortable areas to hang out. A few tables and chairs in a large, cold room that also has two very smelly sofas in it. The management is absolutely terrible. There is often nobody manning the front desk. We had problems with our reservation which they blamed on us and we had to meet the cost. They do not even provide basic materials such as knives and forks. Maids start cleaning at 9am in the morning. I want to have a shower at this time and can't.
  • 43%
  • 11 Feb 2016 Leora England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »