See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 71% from 32 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Stayed in 6-Beds Dorm.Wide comfortable beds in big rooms but v small lockers.Clean Bathrooms but taps of basins, r pain in the neck.They drop water only by keepin ur hands on them, like in restaurants.Never saw that system in any hostel b4! Kitchen not equippd at all except for big fridge 2 store ur stuff. Located in quiet residential area by West central Park,that feels good goin to after a noisy hectic day in mid town. Subway is 5 mints away. Harlem & 125th st is v close. Check them out.
  • 83%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Anonymous Lebanon
  • Great if you literally want a bed to sleep in. Wifi is only downstairs so the common area is often just a bunch of people working on their laptops. Not very social. Bar crawl is $60 entry to a club (tour guide gets commission)
  • 60%
  • 14 Jun 2016 Anonymous England
  • Had an awesome time with some of the staff; Alex, Omar and the Dutch girl were awesome! It's definitely not the best hostel I've stayed in. No Wifi in the rooms, only in the common room. No kitchen. Showers could be cleaner.. etc. But location is great and I had an amazing time.
  • 71%
  • 06 Jun 2016 Sandra Netherlands
  • One of the staff members couldn't accept being wrong and she wouldn't admit she was wrong, and there is quiet atmosphere. Location is kinda good though.
  • 49%
  • 24 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nersy, Marsha, and the other staff members were amazing! I have stayed at 5 star hotels before, and the customer service I received from these ladies was comparable. They are an asset to your organization. Not enough good things I can say about the service.
  • 83%
  • 21 May 2016 Allison
  • downstairs is a nice community room with tables and couches to sit also some snack machines. The rooms have no atmosphere and aren't really comfortable. We stayed only one night here and we're happy we don't have to stay longer. It didn't feel safe or friendly
  • 46%
  • 11 May 2016 Freya Constanze Germany
  • Ants in the bedrooms. No elevator while we had to bring our suitcase to the fifth floor.
  • 54%
  • 10 May 2016 Pauline France
  • The location of 'Jazz on the Park Youth Hostel' is satisfying, due to the fact that you can get easily access to subway station, cafe and etc.The room is cozy and has sofa and table where you can chill out and do some work. However, what makes me annoyed is their lack of care in keeping rooms clean. I found several ants crawling on the ground. The hostel is required to adopt pest control system. Since the accommodation fee is quite low compared to other hostels near Central park, it is worth it.
  • 63%
  • 08 May 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • This was the WORST place I have EVER stayed at while on vacation. The manager and the workers there were extremely rude and not helpful at all. The whole place was horribly loud and there was a guy snoring right next to me. I complained about the noise, and the hotel did nothing about it. Also, I left shoes there, way under the bed, and I called up to tell them and get them back, and they lied and said they couldn't find them. The biggest bunch of BS I've ever heard. I will NEVER stay here agai.
  • 20%
  • 04 May 2016 Nicole
  • The hostel is good for staying a little while and it has an excellent location. What I think is a big problem that the lockers in the room have no door closers to lock them up und you also cant rent them. So you cant lock up your private and important stuff.
  • 74%
  • 20 Apr 2016 Jonas Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »