See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 70% from 59 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall you want a cheap place to stay in NY. This is what you get. HOWEVER, their heaters kept running on super hight and there was no way to turn them off. The lady at the frontdesk tried to tell me that's what central heat is all about. Obviously, she does not know what central heat means. So, even with a cracked window and the waste of all that heat, I could only try to sleep sprinkling water on me at night, cause I was burning up. Horrible night after a long flight. Overall very loud as wel
  • 66%
  • 19 Jan 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • The Hostel has no kitchen at all an even a single dish. If you want to drink something, there is no cup. Besides, the Hostel doesn't serve any breakfast while all other Hostels do. Using the computer is not for free and that sucks. When I booked this hoste on line I had already paid some amount in the form of deposit and supposed to have paid less on arrival. But on arrival I had to pay the same amount of money as if I didn't deposit. So, they asked me to pay more than I was supposed to.
  • 49%
  • 14 Dec 2015 Azamat Uzbekistan
  • I wonder why people think that this is value for money.
  • 49%
  • 29 Nov 2015 MYRTO Greece
  • Its located on the upper west side only a few steps away from central park, which is awesome. The next bus stop & subway station are only 2-3 blocks away. No breakfast is offered, but there are some grocery stores near by and that way you might end up eating in the park which is really nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean & plain, the area around is quiet. For showering I had to go one floor up, for toillet one down (only female facilites on my floor).
  • 77%
  • 22 Nov 2015 Maximilian Germany
  • It was a bad experience, the Hostel is far from everything that matters, has no elevator, several floors confused and without clear communication. Not recommend to anyone.
  • 37%
  • 21 Nov 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Felt more like a hotel, very big with a lot of floors. Wifi only accible in the common area. Went on a free comedy show in the basement of the hostel, which was partly funny but mainly terrible, still for free. More a starting point for city tours than a place to hang out at
  • 71%
  • 14 Nov 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • I had no security problems but I saw several risks, one thing is that the room door doesn't auto-close and since I stayed in a room with other people who didn't close it properly, the room was unlocked at several occasions. Staff is nice and helpful, WiFi works well but only in the lobby (not in rooms). Good atmosphere and I met some other nice travellers here during evenings. All in all, good location and good value for money considering it's Manhattan. I only really miss a cooking space.
  • 71%
  • 03 Nov 2015 Emil Sweden
  • Great that they don't have a curfew, but then the front door is always unlocked without lock combinationa or anything. Having lived in the City for years myself, I'd have felt a lot better - rather than safer as there's no guarantee even with a lock on the doors - if there were some type of a door lock. Maybe they can setup a key combination which can be changed periodically and give it out to their customers or something.
  • 80%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Anonymous
  • Ups: pool table, location is perfect: close to central park and very accessible from LaGuardia Airport (bus M20) Downs: Wifi only accessible at ground floor, Price is still more than I really want to expend on a hostel (but in correspondence with neighborhood)
  • 77%
  • 20 Oct 2015 Matthias Belgium
  • This hostel showed me a new part of the city that I've never explored -it is on the edge of Harlem and it was beautiful, but its far from any typical places to hang out or shop or whatever. There didn't seem to be much group hanging out either, which is usually why i prefer hostels, but I didn't spend much time around the hostel either, so maybe i missed it. It was very clean, I will say that - they must rigorously seriously full clean every day.
  • 74%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »