See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park-Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 78% from 69 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • this is a very good place to be in NYC. Facilities, location, staff and breakfast are pretty good. I enjoyed the free Friday afternoon BBQ offered by the Hostel. Very nice atmosphere. Nex time in NYC, I will stay there... for sure!
  • 94%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • I had two small issues. First, no ice available. I enjoy hiking and taking a cold water bottle with me when I do. Most hostels I go to have free ice, a freezer, or cold water. Jazz didn't. Also, I checked out at 11am but didn't leave until 9:30 in the evening and they charged me to store my luggage for the afternoon. It was only $4, but most hostels and hotels I've gone to provide it as a service. Other than that, it was a very good place to stay.
  • 100%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Mark USA
  • Really enjoyed my stay here! Facilitites were good, breakfast was great, lovely staff, perfect location! Too bad there's no guest kitchen, though.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Nienke Netherlands
  • Loved my stay here! There are lockers to stow away valuables and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. Jose in particular helped me with various questions I had as a first-time NYC traveler. Thanks to him I would definitely reccomend this hostel to anyone going to New York City. The atmosphere makes it easy to meet others in the lounge area. Clean and orderly facilities. I had a great time!
  • 94%
  • 15 Jun 2014 Amy USA
  • If you expect lights to work, your towels not to be missing half the time, and the doors to actually, you know, shut from the outside, don't stay here.
  • 46%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice atmosphere, warm reception at the desk. As for the facilities they would be better if bathrooms weren't located so far away from the dorms. Mattress quality left something to be desired and breakfast in the morning could use more protein-rich options. Overall, if one isn't too picky for quality, then it's a pass!
  • 77%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Alejandro Canada
  • Stayed in this hostel with my cousin. We stayed one night , we had a great time . Great location , easy to get to lots of attractions and train stations. Will stay here again. Oisin Ireland.
  • 83%
  • 11 Jun 2014 oisin USA
  • Such a welcoming hostel. Everybody is very open and friendly and there's a good comfortable yet energetic vibe in the canteen. And free bagels is never a bad thing! Good for travellers coming to New York for a week as it's a great distance to beautiful central park and vast subway...
  • 91%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Ailish Ireland
  • I personally had a great experience there. Got to meet people from all over the world. Events were very fun at night. Francky did a great job!
  • 91%
  • 19 May 2014 Joachim France
  • Plastic on bed matrass was very sweaty. Had to sleep on blanket to not wake up during the night due to sweating.
  • 51%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »