See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park-Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 76% from 63 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nise. Dovolen. Try and u will not be disappointed
  • 80%
  • 31 Mar 2014 ruslan Russia
  • My room was in two of three nights so cold, that I had to put on long pants and a pullover and I even caught a cold. The stuff didn't apologize and said it's because of the weather. But the heater didn't work... I had to complain several times. My worst stay at a hostel.
  • 49%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • No free Wifi, small bed, simple shower room without the space to put your cloth...only the staff is good.
  • 51%
  • 21 Mar 2014 weixuan China
  • This is the best hostel I've ever been to! You get to meet many people from different countries, employees can speak at leas two languages and they are friendly, and awesome. Especially Jose, Pedro and Sergio at hostel were not only such professional workers but also fun people to talk to about anything. They have decent amount of toilets and shower rooms separated for men and women each floor. There is a huge TV, pool table, couch , massage machines, etc. Variety of breakfast is good too.
  • 100%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • The rooms are always well kept, heated in the winter and air conditioned in the summer. The showers are abundant and the water pressure is always strong, some even have hairdryers. There's complimentary breakfast every morning as well as washing machines and dryers in the building for your convenience. There's a lounge in the basement that host weekly comedy shows. Central Park is literally across the street, and there's a corner store right next door if you fancy a snack. Close to trains.
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Giang
  • I had a great time there and I'll probably be back!
  • 89%
  • 10 Mar 2014 Martin France
  • Its a good place for the price they charge. Friendly staff, good restaurant, decent rooms. Washrooms were clean and disinfected and staff is accommodating. They have only female dorms too ! Location was a big drawback as its far up in the north while most of the activities take place in downtown. However, the subway is 3 blocks away and so its good for tourists who don't mind spending extra time and money in travelling. The heater was too strong in the room, and safes don't have locks.
  • 71%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous India
  • I was extremely impressed with this hostel. It is just blocks from the metro line and Central Park. There were some great restaurants around, and we thought it was the perfect place for the weekend. The entire place was decorated in IKEA, and it was very clean. Our 4 person room included a queen sized bed and bunk beds, plus a couch, refrigerator, shelves, and two desks. We were also pleasantly surprised by the inclusion of breakfast and linens.
  • 94%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Ashley USA
  • Jazz on the Park is a great place to stay overall. It can be quite the hike if you're on one of the upper floors (as there is no elevator), so don't forget anything when you leave your room! The walls are paper thin, so pack some ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. Over all though, the venue is incredible and the location couldn't be better (ie - it has easy subway access and Central Park is just steps away). I'm looking forward to going back soon!
  • 80%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Kayla Canada
  • I just want to make sure one point. if the booking is cancelled earlier than my ordered day, when will the money that has already payed on hostel.com be back ?
  • 89%
  • 13 Feb 2014 JIN China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »