See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park-Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 73% from 95 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was great, particularly Mary. She was always smiling and seemed genuinely happy to help with any questions or anything else that came up. Among the best I've encountered in many years on the road...
  • 80%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Jay USA
  • There is no Internet access from the rooms. Half of the time internet was not working at the common area where is the only place with wifi (I had to go out many times and walk in the rain in order to get things done). In the common area, they put many nights extremely loud music (as if you are in a club), while preparing to take the tourists out for club tours. This is definitely not respectful of other people who are not into the same lifestyle. Very poor aesthetics and cleanliness.
  • 37%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • the bathroom is really dirty , there is no privacy , no toilet for men and women on the same floor , no wifi in rooms and something that never happened to me they charged and extra rate for keep my luggage a little time after check out. not really recommend this place
  • 46%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Where in usa for a month, stayed half of my time at this hostel. I got a "family " feeling. Everyone was friendly, both Staff and other travellers. Very good transportation methods. Close to Subway. Good/safe area to live in. Definatly Wort The money. 5/5 stark from me!!
  • 89%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Magnus
  • I lived there for 7 days, there is no kitchen for cooking and the washroom was really poor. The doors always close very loudly.
  • 49%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • the staff, Jose, Subrena, and Maria are all very friendly
  • 100%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Zhaohua China
  • Great location- just next to the Central Park. Perfect for morning run in this great park :) There is a metro station just around the corner. The room was good, basic but sufficient for my needs. Unfortunately wifi works only in the common area downstairs, not in the rooms. There is no lift so keep this in mind if you have huge baggage.
  • 80%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Ewelina Poland
  • The "Free breakfast" was a voucher for a deli "around the corner" (really 2 blocks away), Wi-Fi was spotty, mens room was on a different floor from my room. Common area had music playing a bit loud.
  • 71%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Tom Canada
  • Had a great time at Jazz on the Park. Enjoyed being so close to the park. Subway is also very close. Thanks to Maria for her great service, as well as Jose. Omar was a really good entertainer. Well done all...
  • 94%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous South Africa
  • Sucks...no matter wi-fi ,bathrooms(the shower curtain is too small to cover),restrooms(door can't be locked,hair dryer doesn't work),mattress(very noisy).... The worst thing is we have a lot of luggages but no elevator....
  • 37%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »