See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park-Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 74% from 98 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Been to a lot of hostels in my life. I saw the reviews on this one so almost didn't go there, but the price pulled me, luckly! The people are SUPER friendly, and the place is just clean and nice. I don't know if the changed management or what. True, there is some noise from the next door club, but it didn't bother me. I really recommend!
  • 100%
  • 08 Dec 2014 Anonymous Israel
  • Very helpful staff. Great location. My only complaint is that the room was too hot with radiator heating, so we kept window open.
  • 94%
  • 05 Dec 2014 martin USA
  • The separated bathrooms on different floors or hallways is annoying, but doable. The constant partying monday to thursday in somewhat annoying, when the internet only works in the common area, but understandable for it is a youth hostel. So there's no reason to cry about that. The female staff are far more approuchable than the male, wich seem to just lounge around mainly, quite ownerlike, which truly was annoying. The rooms windows could use some isolation and they could use thicker blankets.
  • 57%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Tomi Finland
  • My bed (room 101, bed D) was next to a couple of really hot pipes, so with the heating turned up max in the whole facility, I was superhot during the nights. I'm usually cold when I'm sleeping (no matter how hot the room is) so it must've been absolutely boiling in my bunk. The others in the room were fine though so it must've just been that bunk. I'm not sure if there's anything to do about it but I thought I'd let you know! Thanks for a great stay, the staff were super-friendly and helpful :)
  • 89%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Vendela Belgium
  • It is a really good Hostel, very clean and next to subway and other important points in the city.
  • 80%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Wesley Brazil
  • The staff was great, particularly Mary. She was always smiling and seemed genuinely happy to help with any questions or anything else that came up. Among the best I've encountered in many years on the road...
  • 80%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Jay USA
  • There is no Internet access from the rooms. Half of the time internet was not working at the common area where is the only place with wifi (I had to go out many times and walk in the rain in order to get things done). In the common area, they put many nights extremely loud music (as if you are in a club), while preparing to take the tourists out for club tours. This is definitely not respectful of other people who are not into the same lifestyle. Very poor aesthetics and cleanliness.
  • 37%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • The beautiful, helpful, and kind Maria, Fred the funniest night guy, or the crazy like a cat Omar. Take your pick. Good location, happy tenants, enough space and a sexy staff. This place rocked! Thanks everybody.
  • 94%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Allan
  • the bathroom is really dirty , there is no privacy , no toilet for men and women on the same floor , no wifi in rooms and something that never happened to me they charged and extra rate for keep my luggage a little time after check out. not really recommend this place
  • 46%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Where in usa for a month, stayed half of my time at this hostel. I got a "family " feeling. Everyone was friendly, both Staff and other travellers. Very good transportation methods. Close to Subway. Good/safe area to live in. Definatly Wort The money. 5/5 stark from me!!
  • 89%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Magnus
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »