See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park-Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 78% from 68 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • they charged more money than they said.(service fee 3$/day) NO elevator. this building is higher than 5th floor :d
  • 80%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • i had booked for a full week (8 days) after staying for a while, the front desk helper was constantly bullying me TODAY he threw me out saying i could not stay (then two weeks) while on the doors there are a4 papers saying A MONTHLY STAY is optional (and the price). i am a normal person, but other guests r bad drunken pimp kind of people psychos that would yell scream get deadly drunk and throw up all over the room (dorm) and my bed ! 1 SUPER employee (sergio).. the rest is bastardsssss
  • 29%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Evelyne Netherlands
  • free apple and beach towel were nice but vigorous atmosphere like a popular club was not that great for me cuz I just wanted to take cozy rest. and the street in front of the hotel was under construction; inconvenient. However, it is good for staying cuz it is close to south beach!
  • 69%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Anonymous
  • There was no heating in the room, outside temperature was 23 F (-5 C) and the window was broken, so sleeping in that room was as cold as sleeping in the Central Park across the street. They had some impossible explanations why the heating system wasn't working, but they refused to give any refund because of that. To make long story short, if you don't mind sleeping in a jacket, this could be a convenient place to stay, if not, than just look for something else. Or come in summer period :D
  • 57%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Ante
  • Location was fantastic – convenient to shops, subway station, and of course less than a block from Central Park. I always felt safe in the neighborhood and in the hostel itself, and all the spaces were very clean. I would absolutely stay here again!
  • 91%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Sarah USA
  • The place is OK. Should have free wifi access.
  • 80%
  • 11 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • I´ve been to 5 hostels in Europe so far, this was my first time in an american hostel. And I must say that it was by FAR the DIRTIEST HOSTEL I HAVE EVER BEEN. I was sleeping on the 5th floor, there was 0 organization about the lockers, all of them were full and presented NO SECURITY, another problem was that the bedroom door did not close at all. And downstairs I had to ask for toilet paper to the attendant, but he could not find the keys to get it, so I had to go to the upstairs bedroom.
  • 43%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • The location was great, the staff was friendly and helpful. The facility was good, but not great, you get what you pay for. The downsides are the restrooms, they didn't refill them with toilet paper after we asked them to.
  • 66%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Luis USA
  • People who works there They are friendly, helpful. The hostel is very clean. Location is excellent. It is secure. Only complain would be 4th floor and no elevator. But that is New York. What can U do it. I highly recommend this hostel, Jazz on the Park.
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Yesim USA
  • Good for few days, toilets were not so good, perfect for staying during spring or fall since there is no aircond.
  • 74%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous Serbia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »