See other New York properties

Jazz on the Park-Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.1km

Rating: 75% from 76 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a great time there and I'll probably be back!
  • 89%
  • 10 Mar 2014 Martin France
  • Its a good place for the price they charge. Friendly staff, good restaurant, decent rooms. Washrooms were clean and disinfected and staff is accommodating. They have only female dorms too ! Location was a big drawback as its far up in the north while most of the activities take place in downtown. However, the subway is 3 blocks away and so its good for tourists who don't mind spending extra time and money in travelling. The heater was too strong in the room, and safes don't have locks.
  • 71%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous India
  • I was extremely impressed with this hostel. It is just blocks from the metro line and Central Park. There were some great restaurants around, and we thought it was the perfect place for the weekend. The entire place was decorated in IKEA, and it was very clean. Our 4 person room included a queen sized bed and bunk beds, plus a couch, refrigerator, shelves, and two desks. We were also pleasantly surprised by the inclusion of breakfast and linens.
  • 94%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Ashley USA
  • Jazz on the Park is a great place to stay overall. It can be quite the hike if you're on one of the upper floors (as there is no elevator), so don't forget anything when you leave your room! The walls are paper thin, so pack some ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. Over all though, the venue is incredible and the location couldn't be better (ie - it has easy subway access and Central Park is just steps away). I'm looking forward to going back soon!
  • 80%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Kayla Canada
  • I just want to make sure one point. if the booking is cancelled earlier than my ordered day, when will the money that has already payed on hostel.com be back ?
  • 89%
  • 13 Feb 2014 JIN China
  • Great time to be there
  • 86%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • it was great, the servie was really good and the people
  • 89%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Nathalia Colombia
  • I loved all the activities available (especially the comedy night!)! And thank you so much for providing WiFi and a towel...and the extra heavy blanket when it got very cold outside!
  • 97%
  • 24 Jan 2014 David USA
  • roaches in my room (ok for fairness, I only saw ONE roach). common area was filthy…there was garbage and food wrappers left all over the tables in the dining area when i returned late night, and the front desk clerk (just steps away) was making no efforts to leave his chair and clean up. there was no shower on my floor…i was told i could shower in the women's room one floor below my room (i'm a guy, btw). the common area was cramped and consisted of cafeteria style tables. had clean toilets tho.
  • 49%
  • 24 Jan 2014 joseph USA
  • they charged more money than they said.(service fee 3$/day) NO elevator. this building is higher than 5th floor :d
  • 80%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »