See other Reykjavik properties

KEX Hostel

Skúlagata 28, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 82% from 18 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If you like to look cool at all costs this is the place for you. Otherwise, KEX is not the best hostel to stay at. The aesthetic is best described as "prison chic". Lighting in the dorm rooms are not bright enough, the communal areas are not the most conducive to meeting new people, the shower are communal, and the cleanliness of the place is mediocre because there is no management for all the snow that gets treaded into the building.
  • 60%
  • 26 Feb 2017 Samantha Canada
  • Great vibe and atmosphere, clean dorms and bathrooms. Highly recommend staying here, especially gor the central location and ease of access for tour buses.
  • 86%
  • 20 Feb 2017 Prerna Australia
  • Pros: - Good location - Good Common Space including bar and restaurant in lobby- very easy to meet other people - Very nice ambiance/decor - Private bathrooms - Helpful staff Cons: - Strict policy- no early check-in- will have to sleep on the couch in the lobby until check-in time even when there are available beds- ridiculous! - Cold Showers! - Common space can get very loud- kitchens located next to rooms and bar downstairs - Very expensive breakfast- almost $20 per breakfast
  • 63%
  • 23 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This was the best hostel I've ever stayed in--they do a fantastic job of moving a lot of people through there every day in a way that is friendly and has a great deal of personality. The breakfast is fantastic, if a little expensive. Amazing bread. Things were clean, though sometimes late at night the bathrooms got a little dirty. Skip the smaller rooms--those just amplified the sounds/smells of others. The larger rooms were more accommodating and somehow quieter for being less cramped.
  • 91%
  • 21 Aug 2016 Andrew USA
  • I paid 5300 isk for a bed and the blanket wasn't included... seriously?! And the room was next to the bar so good luck to sleep. I think you pay only for the decoration...
  • 63%
  • 13 Aug 2016 Sonia Canada
  • The food was a little overpriced for what it was - even for Iceland. The salad I got was nothing more than some grated cheese, spinach, and a small piece of fish. For ~2400 ISK! Other than that, we have a magnificent and magical time staying at Kex Hostel. Lovely employees, serene environment, and beautiful views of the sea and the mountains. What a great place to stay! Thank you so much for such a comfortable time!
  • 97%
  • 10 Aug 2016 Nadia Canada
  • Staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent music playlist and atmosphere in common area.Bunk beds very creaky. Food at bar was reasonably-priced. Excellent breakfast/lunch buffet with amazing tuna salad.
  • 86%
  • 09 Jul 2016 Jake Canada
  • Overall this is a very good hostel, if a bit disorganized. I was assigned a specific bed but someone else was in it when I arrived. I was then told to simply pick whichever other bed was open. Basically no one was ever in the bed they were assigned to, but we made it work. The bar downstairs is a popular night spot among the locals, so bring ear plugs if you plan to try to sleep at a decent hour. Other than that, it was a great place to spend a week.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2016 Kristi USA
  • Really nice place to stay for 1 or 2 nights. Helpfull staff, really nice bar on 1st floor, but in the night it can be a little loudly.
  • 83%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • Staff are friendly and helpful. Only one shower on the 2nd floor but staff did say that they would allow access to more showers on the 3rd floor. The hostel is a busy and lively place at night with entertainment put on for visitors and locals, including live music, although sound pollution into the dormitories wasn't too bad. Had a pleasant stay.
  • 83%
  • 15 Jun 2016 Peter England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »