See other Reykjavik properties

KEX Hostel

Skúlagata 28, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 88% from 25 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • pretty good location, very clean, private showers/washrooms, staff was helpful, kind of noisy as room window faces bar patio, looks cool inside
  • 97%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Joseph Canada
  • KEX is a great place to hang out. The cafe, bar and terrace are nice. Location is very nice, near the water. The hostel however is filthy! The kitchens were always Dirty with backed up sinks. The bathroom had standing Water on the floors. The refrigerators could never pass a health inspection. I have stayed in hostels all over Iceland, KEX is the worst! Very disappointing. It was so bad, we cancelled after 2 nights and found another hostel. The staff were not very helpful.
  • 37%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Ronda USA
  • This was a great hostel! Nice accommodations (huge lockers, lots of bathrooms, kitchen, separate hang out areas, and bar area), flexible about luggage storage before and after your stay, great recommendations (thanks so much for telling me about the Reykjavik City Walk!), good atmosphere (easy to meet other travelers), great location (easy walk to everywhere in the city, a pick up location for every day tour, super close to grocery stores and bakeries)! Basically everything that you want/need!
  • 100%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Jennifer USA
  • Very nice and clean hostel. I will stay there again if I go back to Iceland.
  • 100%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Morten Hitz Denmark
  • Not only a nice place to stay but I also enjoyed that they had concerts and a bar that people wanted to go to.
  • 80%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Johnathan Canada
  • Great hostel, great location. I thought the bar/restaurant was a tad pricey considering it´s a youth hostel catering to backpackers, but it still had a nice atmosphere about it. Would stay here again.
  • 86%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Kex was a great place to start my trip. Easy walk to all the shops and city centre and it was a very social place in the evening to meet people and locals. Would absolutely recommend to anyone who is looking for a great place to start on a budget!
  • 80%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • its atmosphere was so good. It also holds some pop-up events( yoga class...) everything was perfect!! eventhough the distance to city center is a bit longer than other hostels there.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • We didn't get to socialize because we were very busy but the hostel's bar and restaurant area were always packed with people socializing. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The front desk was extremely helpful, even making us a dinner reservation nearby. The rooms were quiet and they have blackout curtains because of their long days in the sun. Good hostel!
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed in the 10 person room mixed room. Loved having the common area in the room. Beds and bathroom were all very clean. Staff was amazingly helpful. Loved the bar and atmosphere!
  • 94%
  • 19 May 2014 Geoffrey USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »