See other Reykjavik properties

KEX Hostel

Skúlagata 28, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 89% from 21 reviews

  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not only a nice place to stay but I also enjoyed that they had concerts and a bar that people wanted to go to.
  • 80%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Johnathan Canada
  • Great hostel, great location. I thought the bar/restaurant was a tad pricey considering it´s a youth hostel catering to backpackers, but it still had a nice atmosphere about it. Would stay here again.
  • 86%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Kex was a great place to start my trip. Easy walk to all the shops and city centre and it was a very social place in the evening to meet people and locals. Would absolutely recommend to anyone who is looking for a great place to start on a budget!
  • 80%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • its atmosphere was so good. It also holds some pop-up events( yoga class...) everything was perfect!! eventhough the distance to city center is a bit longer than other hostels there.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • We didn't get to socialize because we were very busy but the hostel's bar and restaurant area were always packed with people socializing. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The front desk was extremely helpful, even making us a dinner reservation nearby. The rooms were quiet and they have blackout curtains because of their long days in the sun. Good hostel!
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed in the 10 person room mixed room. Loved having the common area in the room. Beds and bathroom were all very clean. Staff was amazingly helpful. Loved the bar and atmosphere!
  • 94%
  • 19 May 2014 Geoffrey USA
  • Some of the staff and bartenders aren't exactly outgoing and friendly/approachable, but they will gladly answer any questions you have. Overall the hostel is nice, although the bedposts for the bunk beds were very noisy and squeaky and could be oiled. The doors slam really loud and the hallway is echoey so I would recommend earplugs especially if you are a light sleeper like me. Other than that its a good value for the money.
  • 80%
  • 13 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were helpful when necessary but not very friendly. When we asked them for help or just for general information about Iceland it seemed like it was a chore for them to help us. Other than that, we really had a great time. Kex is a fantastic hostel!
  • 77%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Love this place! Right in downtown and it has a super amazing atmosphere. It's really quirky and fun, bands playing there every week. Beds were comfy and clean, free WiFi, can hang out downstairs. And, if you're jetlagged enough, you may even find a cat out back! Loved one of the bartenders and the woman who works reception around 3:00 am. Lovely hostel. Showers were a bit dirty, but I could deal. Also takes forever for them to heat up, but there is hot water!
  • 89%
  • 24 Feb 2014 Anastacia USA
  • This is by far the nicest hostel i've ever been in. The location was perfect, the view from the window was incredible, all the staff was super friendly, and the decor was adorable! The rooms were really big and the kitchen for customer use was better than anything I could've imagined. Zero complaints. Highly recommended! The only thing i'd say to avoid is eating at the hostel restaurant. Really overpriced and not the best. The coffee was also super $$$. I'll definitely go back one day.
  • 100%
  • 03 Feb 2014 Cassandra Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »