See other Reykjavik properties

KEX Hostel

Skúlagata 28, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 89% from 30 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really good hostel, great atmosphere, the bar/restaurant/reception was always buzzing with activity and everyone was very friendly. Ate at the restaurant and the food was excellent and not expensive at all. Great facilities both shower and kitchen wise. One down side was that the dorm got VERY stuffy and humid overnight.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Caitlin England
  • Good bar and breakfast, hipster atmosphere which was very nice!
  • 91%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Alicia USA
  • Staff were so helpful with all of my questions. The breakfast was heavenly!
  • 80%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Kristen Canada
  • Knowledgable and very helpful staff. Lots of comfy places to hang out, with lots of plug-ins for electrical gadgets. Loved the pub area, and the live jazz band one evening was icing on the cake. Plenty of showers and bathrooms. Large lockers in the dorms. The breakfast is expensive, but it's a buffet with good variety, so it's still a good value and such a nice way to start the day. The kitchen is ok, but where did the sharp knives go?
  • 97%
  • 24 May 2015 Kerstin Sweden
  • Excellent everything (beds, lockers, bathrooms, breakfast, restaurant). Food and beers in the restaurant / bar are excellent. The old building is awesomely renovated, and its Location is stunning, right on the sea, two minute walk from the main shopping street Laugavegur. A downside is that it's definitely a party hostel and can get quite loud, but reception provides ear plugs free of charge. Also, the hinges on the dormitory doors could be greased, and soft closing mechanisms installed.
  • 91%
  • 22 May 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • A terrific hostel. Good location, good food and drink, but what made it stand out was the exceptional atmosphere. There are always events every night and people from around the world hanging out and drinking in the Kex bar/restaurant/lobby space. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to meet other people traveling through Iceland.
  • 91%
  • 19 May 2015 Noah USA
  • The hostel was perfect. It was really close to the center is perfect got there walk everywhere.
  • 86%
  • 08 May 2015 Andrea Germany
  • Showers and toilets in bad shape and not clean. Very lively place with good bar and plenty of people. Good location.Large kitchen.
  • 74%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Marcin Poland
  • Great location, most things in Reykjavik are easily walkable and on a sunny day you can get great views from the common area. The hostel is pretty big, both in the common room and the rooms themselves. Lockers were big enough for a large backpack as well. Breakfast was somewhat expensive for what they have (bread, meat, jam, oatmeal) but probably cheaper than anything else out there. Another cool thing, there was live music in the bar two of the four nights I stayed. Would stay at KEX again.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Matthew USA
  • KEX hostel was really fun. The location in Reykjavik is perfect. It's close to the water and close to the center of the city. My only complaint is the noise level. It is in an old biscuit factory so the ceilings are tall, making for echoey rooms. Whenever someone would walk down the hallway or shut a door, you could hear it. The beds are also really squeaky. Whenever my roommate would move in the bed above me, we would all hear it. If your a sound sleeper, this is the place for you.
  • 86%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »