See other Reykjavik properties

KEX Hostel

Skúlagata 28, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 85% from 27 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was the best hostel I've ever stayed in--they do a fantastic job of moving a lot of people through there every day in a way that is friendly and has a great deal of personality. The breakfast is fantastic, if a little expensive. Amazing bread. Things were clean, though sometimes late at night the bathrooms got a little dirty. Skip the smaller rooms--those just amplified the sounds/smells of others. The larger rooms were more accommodating and somehow quieter for being less cramped.
  • 91%
  • 21 Aug 2016 Andrew USA
  • I paid 5300 isk for a bed and the blanket wasn't included... seriously?! And the room was next to the bar so good luck to sleep. I think you pay only for the decoration...
  • 63%
  • 13 Aug 2016 Sonia Canada
  • The food was a little overpriced for what it was - even for Iceland. The salad I got was nothing more than some grated cheese, spinach, and a small piece of fish. For ~2400 ISK! Other than that, we have a magnificent and magical time staying at Kex Hostel. Lovely employees, serene environment, and beautiful views of the sea and the mountains. What a great place to stay! Thank you so much for such a comfortable time!
  • 97%
  • 10 Aug 2016 Nadia Canada
  • Staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent music playlist and atmosphere in common area.Bunk beds very creaky. Food at bar was reasonably-priced. Excellent breakfast/lunch buffet with amazing tuna salad.
  • 86%
  • 09 Jul 2016 Jake Canada
  • Overall this is a very good hostel, if a bit disorganized. I was assigned a specific bed but someone else was in it when I arrived. I was then told to simply pick whichever other bed was open. Basically no one was ever in the bed they were assigned to, but we made it work. The bar downstairs is a popular night spot among the locals, so bring ear plugs if you plan to try to sleep at a decent hour. Other than that, it was a great place to spend a week.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2016 Kristi USA
  • Really nice place to stay for 1 or 2 nights. Helpfull staff, really nice bar on 1st floor, but in the night it can be a little loudly.
  • 83%
  • 23 Jun 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • Staff are friendly and helpful. Only one shower on the 2nd floor but staff did say that they would allow access to more showers on the 3rd floor. The hostel is a busy and lively place at night with entertainment put on for visitors and locals, including live music, although sound pollution into the dormitories wasn't too bad. Had a pleasant stay.
  • 83%
  • 15 Jun 2016 Peter England
  • Good frequent events, great place to start out as it's a social hub for both travellers and locals. Food is tasty but a bit pricey; though there's good happy-hour offers on booze. Comfy.
  • 97%
  • 14 Jun 2016 Anonymous Ireland
  • Super convenient location right on the main street of Reykjavik. Very clean and cute inside -- everything from the bathroom to the social areas. Great views in the dorm and also in social areas. It was a very fun place to stay a night.
  • 86%
  • 08 Jun 2016 Yingchao China
  • I heard that Kex employed a movie set designer to help with the furniture and overall aesthetic, and it shows. Instantly the most interesting, cozy hostel I stayed in while in Europe. It's a place the locals hang out, it's a place you'll want to hang out while you're there, and it's close to downtown, with large windows in each room, and a beautiful view of the bay at the front door.
  • 89%
  • 21 May 2016 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »