See other Reykjavik properties

KEX Hostel

Skúlagata 28, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 90% from 28 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel. The staff is amazing, the beds are comfortable, and it's easy to meet people in the bar downstairs. The live music and locals in the bar are a nice touch.
  • 94%
  • 14 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Unbelievably fantastic bar/hang out area. I would go out of my way to visit the bar again, even if staying elsewhere. Coziest and most well decorated hostel I've ever seen, bed was better than most hotel beds. I stayed in a private room, felt like a cozy hotel room.
  • 100%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Chantelle Canada
  • Great place to stay in Reykjavik! Close to shops and restaurants (this thing is built above a Domino's Pizza!). It's also nice to have free parking available overnight if you're coming with a car.
  • 100%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Breakfast is not included but worth the money. Also, it is very nice that they have a lot of bathrooms for showering so that you won't have to wait for your turn in the morning. A bit expensive if you think of general hostel prices everywhere else but reasonable when you realize how expensive Iceland is. If you get here during the night, your first enlighted view of the city should be from the Hostel's bar/café (breathless, to say the least).
  • 91%
  • 12 Nov 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I would recommend KEX!
  • 89%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Trevor
  • Best hostel ever. Helpful staff. King single/comfortable beds. The bar is popular among locals which was a great way to meet people (over a few beers of course)
  • 100%
  • 04 Nov 2014 Tim Australia
  • I loved loved loved KEX! They are wonderful people there, the facilities are awesome (and pretty reasonably priced for Reykjavik). Its also nice because a lot of people from town hang out there as well, so there is an opportunity to meet people from Reykjavik as well as other travelers!
  • 94%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A great, fun place with a wonderful atmosphere. Cool and kitschy with a ton of interesting people, and different places to hang out. Location is awesome - right outside of the main "downtown" of Reykjavik but far enough away that's its still fairly quiet and right by the water. The staff were of varying degrees of competency/helpfulness, but all of the important stuff was taken care of. And sure, it's expensive (particularly the bar/restaurant), but this is Iceland - everything is expensive.
  • 94%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Daryl Canada
  • pretty good location, very clean, private showers/washrooms, staff was helpful, kind of noisy as room window faces bar patio, looks cool inside
  • 97%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Joseph Canada
  • KEX is a great place to hang out. The cafe, bar and terrace are nice. Location is very nice, near the water. The hostel however is filthy! The kitchens were always Dirty with backed up sinks. The bathroom had standing Water on the floors. The refrigerators could never pass a health inspection. I have stayed in hostels all over Iceland, KEX is the worst! Very disappointing. It was so bad, we cancelled after 2 nights and found another hostel. The staff were not very helpful.
  • 37%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Ronda USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »