See other Reykjavik properties

KEX Hostel

Skúlagata 28, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 89% from 32 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Showers and toilets in bad shape and not clean. Very lively place with good bar and plenty of people. Good location.Large kitchen.
  • 74%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Marcin Poland
  • Great location, most things in Reykjavik are easily walkable and on a sunny day you can get great views from the common area. The hostel is pretty big, both in the common room and the rooms themselves. Lockers were big enough for a large backpack as well. Breakfast was somewhat expensive for what they have (bread, meat, jam, oatmeal) but probably cheaper than anything else out there. Another cool thing, there was live music in the bar two of the four nights I stayed. Would stay at KEX again.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Matthew USA
  • KEX hostel was really fun. The location in Reykjavik is perfect. It's close to the water and close to the center of the city. My only complaint is the noise level. It is in an old biscuit factory so the ceilings are tall, making for echoey rooms. Whenever someone would walk down the hallway or shut a door, you could hear it. The beds are also really squeaky. Whenever my roommate would move in the bed above me, we would all hear it. If your a sound sleeper, this is the place for you.
  • 86%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • What an awesome place to stay! We had a great trip and met tons of cool people at Kex, which we were hoping to do. Best place to meet people to chill with.
  • 94%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Annie USA
  • Great hostel. The staff is amazing, the beds are comfortable, and it's easy to meet people in the bar downstairs. The live music and locals in the bar are a nice touch.
  • 94%
  • 14 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Unbelievably fantastic bar/hang out area. I would go out of my way to visit the bar again, even if staying elsewhere. Coziest and most well decorated hostel I've ever seen, bed was better than most hotel beds. I stayed in a private room, felt like a cozy hotel room.
  • 100%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Chantelle Canada
  • Great place to stay in Reykjavik! Close to shops and restaurants (this thing is built above a Domino's Pizza!). It's also nice to have free parking available overnight if you're coming with a car.
  • 100%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Breakfast is not included but worth the money. Also, it is very nice that they have a lot of bathrooms for showering so that you won't have to wait for your turn in the morning. A bit expensive if you think of general hostel prices everywhere else but reasonable when you realize how expensive Iceland is. If you get here during the night, your first enlighted view of the city should be from the Hostel's bar/café (breathless, to say the least).
  • 91%
  • 12 Nov 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I would recommend KEX!
  • 89%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Trevor
  • Best hostel ever. Helpful staff. King single/comfortable beds. The bar is popular among locals which was a great way to meet people (over a few beers of course)
  • 100%
  • 04 Nov 2014 Tim Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »