See other Reykjavik properties

KEX Hostel

Skúlagata 28, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 88% from 24 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff are friendly and helpful. Only one shower on the 2nd floor but staff did say that they would allow access to more showers on the 3rd floor. The hostel is a busy and lively place at night with entertainment put on for visitors and locals, including live music, although sound pollution into the dormitories wasn't too bad. Had a pleasant stay.
  • 83%
  • 15 Jun 2016 Peter England
  • Super convenient location right on the main street of Reykjavik. Very clean and cute inside -- everything from the bathroom to the social areas. Great views in the dorm and also in social areas. It was a very fun place to stay a night.
  • 86%
  • 08 Jun 2016 Yingchao China
  • I heard that Kex employed a movie set designer to help with the furniture and overall aesthetic, and it shows. Instantly the most interesting, cozy hostel I stayed in while in Europe. It's a place the locals hang out, it's a place you'll want to hang out while you're there, and it's close to downtown, with large windows in each room, and a beautiful view of the bay at the front door.
  • 89%
  • 21 May 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • very cool joint. I loved the breakfasts and hanging out in the common area which had loads of great books. Its in convenient part of Reykjavik, only two blocks from the main shopping street Laugavegur. Very helpful staff, thanks again!!
  • 100%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Derek Canada
  • When I arrived, they told me I had bed n°14. That bed was already taken so they told me I could take another bed. At night, when I wanted to go to bed... Exactly, there was a man lying in my bed (for the record, I didn't invite him ;) ).
  • 83%
  • 30 Mar 2016 Aline Belgium
  • The staff was great, always helpful with anything!! The showers were horrible though. Minimal to no water pressure, one had no hot water but looked exactly like another so I mix them up. There was a 6 person shower which my modest self never tried. To me somewhere like Iceland you need a good hot shower.
  • 66%
  • 24 Dec 2015 John USA
  • Great hostel, fun place to meet people. + Good breakfast. Clean place. Free earplugs. Hot showers. - The staff does not smile, and tend to run off from the front desk a lot. Loud bunkbeds.
  • 94%
  • 22 Nov 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • Common areas are good, the bar / front desk area has plenty of space. The hostel is in a good place for tour pick ups, but about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the city center so you know. The hostel starts with a cheap price, but charge you for the bed sheets and there breakfast (which isn't bad so i bought it )
  • 83%
  • 30 Oct 2015 Anonymous Puerto Rico
  • Great hostel - friendly staff, cool atmosphere, and good location close to downtown.
  • 100%
  • 30 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Best hostel in Reykjavik by far!! The staff were so helpful, the atmosphere was great and the food was absolutely amazing!!!
  • 100%
  • 27 Sep 2015 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »