See other Kyoto properties

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 89% from 22 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was a nice hostel in a great location. There were a mix of people staying at the hostel (couples, groups, older/younger and a mix of nationalities) which was nice, we chose it because we were trying to do Japan on a budget but we're not 20-year-old backpackers so this was a good choice.
  • 77%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • The direction is a bit old from the confirm letter. Need to updated.
  • 91%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Khaosan Kyoto Guest House was in a really nice location that was close to everything and had great small places to eat that were amazing. The rooms were amazing and the beds I think were even memory foam mattresses, which was a great and pleasant surprise. The only issue was that the wifi was not good in the rooms unless you went to the common rooms which were pretty big and nicely done.
  • 97%
  • 03 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It is one of the best hostel i have stayed, right in the heart of kyoto, the facilites were superb, the staff is very pleasant, cheerful and go extra mile to help you out and the best part, their english is superb.The tolilets and bathrooms are very clean just like home. Loved the living room area where you can use, cook your meals , meet new travellers and just laze around. It is a perfect hostel at a perfect location. Would love to stay here again and again.Thanks Khaosan for a memorable stay
  • 100%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Sunita India
  • Am very impress with it.
  • 100%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Kean Leng Malaysia
  • Stayed a night here when I was in Kyoto. Very short distance from Kawaramachi station and most of the bus stops that bring you to the nearby shrines(although I walked). There's a Family Mart a stone's throw away from the hostel so that's very good for travelers on a budget. Very clean place and the staff were more than willing to help. Would definitely recommend staying here if you're ever in Kyoto.
  • 80%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Afiq Fitri Singapore
  • Very nice place! Girls at the reception were very friendly and helpful ( also very cute). Recommended.
  • 86%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • I have only good things to say about Khaosan Guest House. The staff was super nice and helpful, it was very clean and incredibly well organized. It is centrally located near train stations and bus lines so it is really convenient. It is so reasonably priced, incredibly good value for your money. They made my stay in Kyoto so easy. The common room and kitchen is spacious and comfortable. All in all, I loved it and highly recommend Khaosan Guest House.
  • 100%
  • 02 Oct 2013 Carla USA
  • Khaosan Kyoto is in a great location, we were able to easily get to all of the tourist destinations from there. The rooms were spacious and clean, however we couldn't get on to the wifi from our dorm room (weak signal). The common area was great with very new facilities. This hostel definitely is at the top of my list of hostels I've stayed at.
  • 91%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • I thought this hostel was wonderful. The staff was so helpful and the entire place was very clean. I stayed in a dorm with 9 other people but I was still able to get a great night's sleep. Thanks a lot!
  • 97%
  • 30 Jul 2013 Elizabeth USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »