See other Kyoto properties

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 90% from 25 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The best part of staying in a hostel is meeting other travelers. However this hostel was full of staff that lived and worked at the hostel which was really odd. They had their own clique and everyone seemed a bit exclusive. Also, the lounge being on the 4th floor is an odd setup. The hostel overall was fine, but I wouldn't stay here again.
  • 71%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff was very helpful and warm, the beds are comfortable. I had good roommates so that added value to my stay. Other places are easily accessible from this guest house.
  • 86%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Nidhi India
  • In a really awesome neighborhood, a TON of good restaraunts and shops super close. Beds were the comfiest we've had so far in japan, room was small but was all we needed.
  • 86%
  • 19 May 2014 Raven USA
  • the room was pretty big for 6 people to stay. A lot of space to put your luggage. Central location of the shopping distinct. Hostel is very clean and affordable. Cons are that its pretty far from the train station and exit to the hostel. Recommend to take bus to the hostel instead of train and subways. Will definitely book there again
  • 100%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • This was a nice hostel in a great location. There were a mix of people staying at the hostel (couples, groups, older/younger and a mix of nationalities) which was nice, we chose it because we were trying to do Japan on a budget but we're not 20-year-old backpackers so this was a good choice.
  • 77%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • The direction is a bit old from the confirm letter. Need to updated.
  • 91%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Khaosan Kyoto Guest House was in a really nice location that was close to everything and had great small places to eat that were amazing. The rooms were amazing and the beds I think were even memory foam mattresses, which was a great and pleasant surprise. The only issue was that the wifi was not good in the rooms unless you went to the common rooms which were pretty big and nicely done.
  • 97%
  • 03 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It is one of the best hostel i have stayed, right in the heart of kyoto, the facilites were superb, the staff is very pleasant, cheerful and go extra mile to help you out and the best part, their english is superb.The tolilets and bathrooms are very clean just like home. Loved the living room area where you can use, cook your meals , meet new travellers and just laze around. It is a perfect hostel at a perfect location. Would love to stay here again and again.Thanks Khaosan for a memorable stay
  • 100%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Sunita India
  • Am very impress with it.
  • 100%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Kean Leng Malaysia
  • Stayed a night here when I was in Kyoto. Very short distance from Kawaramachi station and most of the bus stops that bring you to the nearby shrines(although I walked). There's a Family Mart a stone's throw away from the hostel so that's very good for travelers on a budget. Very clean place and the staff were more than willing to help. Would definitely recommend staying here if you're ever in Kyoto.
  • 80%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Afiq Fitri Singapore
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »