See other Kyoto properties

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 91% from 35 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had a great stay! Location is superb, staff really friendly and everything was nice and clean!
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Beware when putting your umberella in the communal umberella stand. Mine got taken by mistake! Otherewise, the hostel was very clean and the kitchen/common room area were very nice too.
  • 100%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Rebecca England
  • We only stayed one night but we wish we could have booked more!
  • 94%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Catherine Australia
  • Very clean, well located and amazing staff.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Only stayed here for 2 nights, wish it was longer! Fantastic location and the staff are great. Make sure you pay a visit to the bar in the other hostel run by this company, had a great time with travelers and staff on their night off. Take full advantage of any activities run by the hostel, the origami girls were lovely and I met some interesting people.
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2015 toni Northern Ireland
  • This is my second time in Kyoto. The location is great and the price is reasonable. Will probably stay here for my next trip in Kyoto.
  • 77%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • You can't beat the location of this hostel! Facilities are great. I really liked the layout of the lounge/kitchen area, very large. Staff is great. We stayed in a private two person bunk. So many good restaurants close by. The only bad thing was it was younger people on their cell phones instead of talking in the lounge area and someone ate my cheese naan bread leftovers! But seriously this was a great hostel!
  • 97%
  • 18 May 2015 Anonymous
  • Very good value given other choices in kyoto. Prices for accom in kyoto is quite steep in general. The hostel is carpeted almost everywhere. But the carpet smells a bit, with mites that causes me to sneeze.
  • 83%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Zhi Yong Singapore
  • An excellent hostel. + on the location!, + on the facilities!.
  • 91%
  • 08 Apr 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great facilities at the Khaosan Guest House. The location was great and the staff very helpful.
  • 100%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »