See other Kyoto properties

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 90% from 43 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good value given other choices in kyoto. Prices for accom in kyoto is quite steep in general. The hostel is carpeted almost everywhere. But the carpet smells a bit, with mites that causes me to sneeze.
  • 83%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Zhi Yong Singapore
  • An excellent hostel. + on the location!, + on the facilities!.
  • 91%
  • 08 Apr 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great facilities at the Khaosan Guest House. The location was great and the staff very helpful.
  • 100%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Anonymous France
  • it isnt too far from the train station and its right in the midst of the central shopping area and it is close to a bike shop that does a 500 yen per day rental for a good quality bike which, imo, is probably the cheapest youre gonna get in Kyoto. Absolutely loved my 3 days stay there, you get a lotnof privacy and the beds and nice and soft.
  • 100%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Raykal Yan Jun Singapore
  • I have stayed at hostels before, but this is has been my best experience yet. The hostel is easy to find, the staff is friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable, the abundance of showers and bathrooms are clean, and the personal lockers give peace of mind. They are an A+ in my book.
  • 100%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Heidi USA
  • The hostel is in a brilliant area, right near gion, and between metro stations, so close for travel. Also near a number of nightclubs. Lots of maps and food recommendations given in the lobby, which helped a lot to find cheap food. Private room was a little small for two large suitcases, but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The living room and kitchen area is also a plus if you are wanting to meet other travelers, the living room is very comfortable.
  • 97%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • Great staff - very friendly and helpful! Good vibe of hostel too. Only complaint was that the hostel smelled like feet/BO which made it unpleasant being in the rooms - i even had a private room
  • 71%
  • 09 Dec 2014 Gabriel Australia
  • I booked twin bed room. but they changed double beds room. They never asked to me.
  • 71%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Had a good stay there, staff was really good. Well located in Kyoto, I'll get there again next time I come visting this city.
  • 91%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Anonymous France
  • Friendly staff. Wonderful neighborhood. Snoring roomies. Can't be helped.
  • 89%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Lauren USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »