See other Kyoto properties

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 90% from 42 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great staff - very friendly and helpful! Good vibe of hostel too. Only complaint was that the hostel smelled like feet/BO which made it unpleasant being in the rooms - i even had a private room
  • 71%
  • 09 Dec 2014 Gabriel Australia
  • Had a good stay there, staff was really good. Well located in Kyoto, I'll get there again next time I come visting this city.
  • 91%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Anonymous France
  • Friendly staff. Wonderful neighborhood. Snoring roomies. Can't be helped.
  • 89%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Lauren USA
  • Nice hostel, greatest staff ever with fantastic English! Twin room (bunk beds) was tiny, but the living room is spacious and you're not spending time in the room anyways. Female-only showers available, which is great.
  • 91%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The hostel is right next to Kyoto station so it was very convenient to go sightseeing via public transportation. My friend and I also stayed in a private, two-person traditional Japanese room and absolutely loved the experience. It was well worth the extra money. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Overall, a great stay in Kyoto.
  • 97%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This place is really nice! The staff is welcoming and will help you with everything you might need! I can fully recommend this nice place!
  • 100%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Steffen Germany
  • Khaosan is not only a cheap place to stay, but also has a great atmosphere. So far it is the best hostel I've stayed at, the staff is helpful, they have a nice bar to go to in the evenings, and also they arrange activities so you get to know other backpackers as well as locals. Highly worthwhile!
  • 91%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Gunnar Sweden
  • This was my first trip to Kyoto after working in Tokyo. Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse gave me one of the best memory. They were supportive when I need helps or suggestions about direction to tourist places. Location is the best, close to shopping centres and public transportation. More importantly, thank you for allowing me to use facilities despite already checked out. I love this service very much. For Next trip to Kyoto, I am sure your place will be my first choice.
  • 100%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Watchiranont Thailand
  • Truly the best Guest House ever. You are not just a guest, you soon become a friend. I met a lot of new great people from all over the world, including the personnel at the hostel itself. The facilities are clean, abundant and great. It is close to the center of Kyoto as well as Kamo river. There are many possibilities of public transportation nearby.
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Christiaan Netherlands
  • Khaosan was a great place to stay in Kyoto. They even have many events for all tenants to attend which was really great!
  • 91%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »