See other Kyoto properties

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 90% from 32 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Khaosan was a great place to stay in Kyoto. They even have many events for all tenants to attend which was really great!
  • 91%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were comfortable, there are back out curtains on the beds. Many clean showers and toilets. It was much nicer than many hotels I've stayed at. The common room was huge with a large kitchen. And very close to the Gion area and located off one of the main shopping streets in Kyoto. One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed at.
  • 89%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Jessica USA
  • We stayed in two different rooms, 5 person room was so great. There was lots of space for luggages, room was big and comfortable. But the two person room was terrible. There is no way to refresh the air in the room due to the closeness of next buliding (20 cm between the buildings). And showers were good except the rush hour. In the rush hour you have to take shower with a few water (drop by drop). But generally it was fine to stay there.
  • 80%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • Room is a bit small but comfortable. Good facilities of showers and toilets.
  • 83%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous Nepal
  • Excellent hostel,friendly staff, excellent location!
  • 100%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Maya France
  • 地點優~設備乾淨
  • 94%
  • 15 Jul 2014 CHENCHUN Taiwan
  • Awesome hostel, has safe for a small back pack, clean facilities, helpful staff, and great location. It is located close to the Shijo-Kawaramachi shopping area and not far from Gion district
  • 94%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Marcos Brazil
  • The best part of staying in a hostel is meeting other travelers. However this hostel was full of staff that lived and worked at the hostel which was really odd. They had their own clique and everyone seemed a bit exclusive. Also, the lounge being on the 4th floor is an odd setup. The hostel overall was fine, but I wouldn't stay here again.
  • 71%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff were amazingly helpful and friendly - made it a super great experience. Everything was as advertised and a really clean, great space to live. Would definitely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The staff was very helpful and warm, the beds are comfortable. I had good roommates so that added value to my stay. Other places are easily accessible from this guest house.
  • 86%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Nidhi India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »