See other Kyoto properties

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 83% from 20 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fun staff, great common room with a social atmosphere, sufficient lockers, clean, great kitchen. No complaints!
  • 100%
  • 18 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nice location, walkable distance to metro station and shopping area.
  • 89%
  • 10 May 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Great location and friendly staff
  • 74%
  • 10 Apr 2016 QUOC-KHANG Australia
  • Should use automatic electric boiler rather than kettle in the kitchen. So it's enough supply when more people wanted hot water in the morning.
  • 80%
  • 07 Apr 2016 Anonymous Singapore
  • Room in the dorms are very tight.
  • 83%
  • 01 Apr 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • The twin room quite small :(
  • 71%
  • 20 Feb 2016 Anonymous Indonesia
  • Great hostel!
  • 89%
  • 30 Dec 2015 Marta Spain
  • Very good location, big common room with kitchen, enough number of computers (6), helpful staff, good price....... very good hostel in general
  • 89%
  • 12 Nov 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • The hostel looks old and unfresh compared to ones we stayed before in Tokyo, Kyoto and Konazawa. The most important: sheets, toilets, shower and Barbarossa were clean, but our corridor on the floor with private rooms smelled of dirty socks, which discouraged me the most. The location ok when you get there, but when you count on quick luggage drop off before you hit the city or hurry to Kyoto station in the morning, Backpackers K's is much more convenient.
  • 60%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Stayed two nights in a private twin room - Pros: Located right in the center of the city, Staff was nice but didnt really seem interested, very clean washrooms and common area. Cons: the atmosphere was more of a hotel than a guest house, the room did smell a little of cooking oil and grease (window was above a restaurant), A/C was a little difficult to operate. This Guest House felt more like a hotel, with tons of rooms and a front entrance resembling a hotel. A bit hard to find...
  • 91%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »