See other Kyoto properties

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 87% from 31 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good location, big common room with kitchen, enough number of computers (6), helpful staff, good price....... very good hostel in general
  • 89%
  • 12 Nov 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • The hostel looks old and unfresh compared to ones we stayed before in Tokyo, Kyoto and Konazawa. The most important: sheets, toilets, shower and Barbarossa were clean, but our corridor on the floor with private rooms smelled of dirty socks, which discouraged me the most. The location ok when you get there, but when you count on quick luggage drop off before you hit the city or hurry to Kyoto station in the morning, Backpackers K's is much more convenient.
  • 60%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Stayed two nights in a private twin room - Pros: Located right in the center of the city, Staff was nice but didnt really seem interested, very clean washrooms and common area. Cons: the atmosphere was more of a hotel than a guest house, the room did smell a little of cooking oil and grease (window was above a restaurant), A/C was a little difficult to operate. This Guest House felt more like a hotel, with tons of rooms and a front entrance resembling a hotel. A bit hard to find...
  • 91%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The staff were okay, weren't exactly the friendliest though.
  • 83%
  • 06 Oct 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • This is a great hostel in a great location. The common room is a huge kitchen and lounge room. The rooms are a little cramped but you get that in Japan. The elevator/lift is excellent, very fast. There's a FamilyMart close by and the main shopping streets are close too. The staff are very helpful. Would definitely stay here again
  • 89%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Had a great stay! Location is superb, staff really friendly and everything was nice and clean!
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Beware when putting your umberella in the communal umberella stand. Mine got taken by mistake! Otherewise, the hostel was very clean and the kitchen/common room area were very nice too.
  • 100%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Rebecca England
  • We only stayed one night but we wish we could have booked more!
  • 94%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Catherine Australia
  • Very clean, well located and amazing staff.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Only stayed here for 2 nights, wish it was longer! Fantastic location and the staff are great. Make sure you pay a visit to the bar in the other hostel run by this company, had a great time with travelers and staff on their night off. Take full advantage of any activities run by the hostel, the origami girls were lovely and I met some interesting people.
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2015 toni Northern Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »