See other Tokyo properties

Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki

1-17-2 Asakusa Taitou-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.7km

Rating: 96% from 52 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 96%Value for money
  • 95%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was my first hostel experience and it was AMAZING!! I was a little nervous about staying in a hostel, especially traveling alone as a young female... but here, I immediately felt comfortable and felt like I was staying with extended family. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the hostel was tidy and secured. The first night, the staff even hosted an evening gyoza making party!!! I would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Tokyo, and will definitely stay here my next trip.
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic hostel with beautiful rooms and in the perfect location. The staff are incredible and we had a great stay.Would definitely recommend!
  • 100%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Sienna Australia
  • loved my experience at this place, the facility was awesome and so were the people. Thank you
  • 100%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One word... AMAZING. literally have nothing bad to say. Rooms were above standard, staff were everything and more and we LOVED Asakusa. Asakusa was more interesting than Central Tokyo. If you're going to Tokyo i 100% recommend staying here.
  • 100%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Rhiannon Kate Australia
  • Wonderful staff, small rooms but no need to spend much time in them. Great location.
  • 94%
  • 27 Feb 2015 Rachel Australia
  • Staff were gracious & very helpful. No TV in the room (not that we need it). Wifi in entire hotel. There's free flowing drinking water, coffee and tea. Overall cleanliness is superior too. Location perfect. Asakusa is not as cosmopolitan as Shibuya, Ginza or Shinjuku, but its got all that a traveller needs (food, shopping, convenience stores for most daily needs). It's also a perfect jump off point to all major tourist spots in Tokyo. Definitely recommending this hotel to family and friends.
  • 91%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • One of the best hostel experiences I've had in Japan! The hostel theme is very fun, and the staff contribute to a warm atmosphere. Every guest has their own locker/key, and the dorm rooms have their own showers and bathrooms (so you don't have to leave your room to use them). Stylish rooms and lounge!
  • 100%
  • 21 Feb 2015 Kimberlin USA
  • Next time I'm in Tokyo, I'm absolutely coming back here. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to help out any way they could. The beds are surprisingly comfortable; the other facilities are excellent as well. Especially if you haven't made plans, they have great recommendations on where to go and how to get there. The location is both safe and convenient to subways & a major cultural spot (Sensoji Temple). Staying here definitely made my trip to Japan even better. Highly recommend!
  • 100%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had a wonderful stay at Khaosan Kabuki. I could not say enough nice things about the staff and facility. The staff were excellent. Very friendly, helpful, and they spoke excellent English. The rooms are shared but there is plenty of privacy and this is an ideal location to meet other travelers. The location of the hostel is also great. It's easy to get there on the subway and it's located right next to Sensoji Temple. A great value for the price, I will be staying with them again!
  • 100%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Zachary
  • Very Clean and very comfortable. All the staff are super friendly and helpful :) Went to Japan without a plan and they were able to suggest great things to do and places to eat. Felt pretty safe just leaving my luggage around, even though they did have a security room and etc. Also you get to hang out with the staff sometimes at the Khaosan World Bar which was super cool :D
  • 100%
  • 23 Jan 2015 William USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »