See other Tokyo properties

Khaosan Tokyo Original

2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.8km

Rating: 83% from 13 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really loved the atmosphere here, it was comfortable and relaxed. I felt right at home. My only real complaint is that the vent for the shower was just a window to the outside. I'm sure this is fine most of the year, but in winter when it's snowing outside it makes for a very cold shower. Other than that it was a great value and only a couple minute walk from a subway stop, very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 05 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel office hours are suppose to open at 8 A.M. Waited outside in the cold past 8 A.M. Staff offered no apology for being late. If you state these are your office hours, BE THERE. Doors lock automatically anytime you come & go. Lounge area small. Two computers available. Not allowed to leave bags there once you check out & don't get back before 10 PM to collect them. Bathrooms decent. Lockers & keys in dorms great. Better if they had privacy curtains. Staff were incredibly helpful at times.
  • 66%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere, really comfortable common area and it was great to have access to such a well-equipped kitchen. I had a very pleasant stay here, thank you very much!
  • 94%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • Very nice little cozy hostel. Our room was very small, but hey, it's Japan haha. We really loved it. Everything was clean, we had AC in the room and the bathroom and showers were real close to the room and clean ( the bidet is awesome and seat warmer as well ). The staff was really nice and very helpful when we needed something. Location was incredible. 2 min away from the asakusa station and Kaminarimon temple ( markets as well). Really recommended, of all, Asakusa was our favorite district.
  • 86%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel has a public space on top of the building ,filled with artificial lawns. you can use from around 8 00 to 8 00. Very confortable for me to do some yoga strech or some excercise.
  • 83%
  • 04 Sep 2013 TAKAHITO Japan
  • Very nice hostel, if you want to stay close to the main attracions in Tokio! Beautifull view on the river from hostels rooms!
  • 97%
  • 10 Jun 2013 Anonymous Poland
  • I thought it was good place to stay given it was great value for the price. Location is a bit far being Asakusa, but at least it was close to Senso Ji temple and the Asakusa stop is only 2 minute away by foot. Security is good. Rooms are awfully small, but it will suffice as long as you do not have huge luggage or multiple for that matter. Second floor shower room is kinda wierd b/c I coudln't find the light switches and at one point I was showering in the dark.
  • 69%
  • 15 May 2013 William USA
  • Easy to find, close to the subway, clean. Wireless internet was available from each room. They had the smallest bathrooms I've ever seen.
  • 89%
  • 11 May 2013 Christopher USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »