See other Tokyo properties

Khaosan Tokyo Original

2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.8km

Rating: 79% from 15 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice river view in our twin private! The city noise didn't bother me but it's there all the time. Just enough room for two backpackers.
  • 77%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • The hostel staff are really friendly, helpful and they try to create a home environment which makes your stay more personal, and the location of the hotel is so close to Asakusa Metro Ginza line that it's worth it. However the hotel space is extremely tiny, guests enter straight into the kitchen/ common area when first walk into the hostel, because there's no space for reception. The facilities at the hotel (shower, kitchen etc) are quite old but the staff in general do a good job in cleaning.
  • 74%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Good hostel! Location was perfect and easy to find. Staff was super helpful! I was looking for a certain souvenir and Jun called the shops for me! Thanks for the wonderful stay!
  • 83%
  • 08 May 2014 Casey
  • This hostel is VERY run down, especially by Japanese standards. Our twin room was a cupboard with bunkbeds inside - not enough room to open our suitcase, had to go into the corridor. If you were 2 people with 2 big bags you would struggle! Stayed at the Khaosan in Kyoto which was excellent so we were v disappointed with this one. The shower drain was blocked (full of hair) so you were standing in several inches of old shower water, the whole place needs new furniture and a coat of paint.
  • 46%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • I really loved the atmosphere here, it was comfortable and relaxed. I felt right at home. My only real complaint is that the vent for the shower was just a window to the outside. I'm sure this is fine most of the year, but in winter when it's snowing outside it makes for a very cold shower. Other than that it was a great value and only a couple minute walk from a subway stop, very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 05 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel office hours are suppose to open at 8 A.M. Waited outside in the cold past 8 A.M. Staff offered no apology for being late. If you state these are your office hours, BE THERE. Doors lock automatically anytime you come & go. Lounge area small. Two computers available. Not allowed to leave bags there once you check out & don't get back before 10 PM to collect them. Bathrooms decent. Lockers & keys in dorms great. Better if they had privacy curtains. Staff were incredibly helpful at times.
  • 66%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere, really comfortable common area and it was great to have access to such a well-equipped kitchen. I had a very pleasant stay here, thank you very much!
  • 94%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • Very nice little cozy hostel. Our room was very small, but hey, it's Japan haha. We really loved it. Everything was clean, we had AC in the room and the bathroom and showers were real close to the room and clean ( the bidet is awesome and seat warmer as well ). The staff was really nice and very helpful when we needed something. Location was incredible. 2 min away from the asakusa station and Kaminarimon temple ( markets as well). Really recommended, of all, Asakusa was our favorite district.
  • 86%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel has a public space on top of the building ,filled with artificial lawns. you can use from around 8 00 to 8 00. Very confortable for me to do some yoga strech or some excercise.
  • 83%
  • 04 Sep 2013 TAKAHITO Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »