See other Tokyo properties

Khaosan Tokyo Samurai

1-18-3 Higashi Komagata, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 84% from 16 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Amazing price for a 2-bed private room - less per person than the dorms in most other hostels I looked at. Attractive entry and reception area. Bunk in private room doesn't have curtains but hanging a sheet gave enough privacy on the lower bed. Vending machine with cheap drinks. The showers on my floor smelled like mildew which is the only thing I didn't like about this otherwise awesome hostel. Just make sure you go over the BLUE bridge and not the RED one when coming out of the subway.
  • 94%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I loved this place! It's a littehaven from the city but still close enough to everything. Everyone there was super friendly and loved the atmosphere. :)
  • 97%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • - Extremely hard beds. A cleaner or just an idiotic visitor cleaning(drying) the showers at 01.00am with a hair dryer every day, so much for saving electricity.. + Cheap, good location with easy access to all the lines you'll need in Tokyo. Great staff! Good AC on the rooms.
  • 71%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Basic Double Bed Private room was cramped but did the job for one night. Staff was friendly and hostel itself ok but wouldn't stay for more than a couple of nights.
  • 60%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • - room is quite small - I have been to many hostels but this was the worst mattress in an European styled room I've ever had, pls buy new ones! - wifi connection in the whole building is bad
  • 60%
  • 11 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I really enjoyed my stay there and will definitely recommend it.
  • 91%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Elena England
  • Enjoyed my stay, if fact returned for another 3 days…Great staff that s very helpful, Hostel is in a good location in Akasuka, if you're here to party then this isn't your place or area but if your really want to enjoy tokyo and Japan then this is a ggod place to start. Its in a residential area, Close to train station and water taxi, Sky Tree tower and other attractions. My only negative is the noise of the hair dryers as theres no door and it seems they are constantly running!
  • 97%
  • 08 Apr 2014 David USA
  • Staff are super friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are clean, as is the entire hostel. There is a kitchen + living area that is handy, in case you feel like cooking your own meals! Asakusa is a wonderful part of Tokyo - it's much quieter but there are some lovely sites to be seen. Make sure you eat at the nearby Ramen shop a few blocks from the hostel, they serve an awesome bowl of Tonkotsu with kae-dama for only 500 yen, and it tastes amazing! Khaosan Samurai were awesome!
  • 100%
  • 10 Mar 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Nice staff, clean facilities, great location, easy to get on trains and close to shops and restaurants.
  • 89%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »