See other Edinburgh properties

Kick Ass Hostels

2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 91% from 14 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Highly recommendable hostel! Location can´t be better, friendly staff and good facilities. Excellent value for money.
  • 91%
  • 20 Sep 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • My earphones were stolen...
  • 77%
  • 15 Sep 2016 Salvador Mexico
  • Very good hostel with a lot of facilities. But, on two nights passed in, we can't sleep because of the noise in the hostel and in the street under the windows . We left very tired .
  • 89%
  • 31 Aug 2016 Anonymous France
  • Kickass hostel is a very nice hostel. Great place to meet people and excellent location.
  • 89%
  • 30 Aug 2016 Anonymous Japan
  • Overall great experience. Perfect location. Easy to find and check in. Clean showers. The rooms can get pretty hot though.
  • 97%
  • 19 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is great! You can meet friendly people from all over the world there, they have a funny daily programm in the hostel bar and you have a big, clean room with an own bathroom (only thing whats missing is a mirror) and cozy beds. Best Hostel ever I'll come back!
  • 100%
  • 08 May 2016 Kim Germany
  • The location was excellent, about 15 minutes from the train station and close to many restaurants.
  • 97%
  • 11 Feb 2016 Michelle USA
  • Having stayed at both Budget Backpackers and Kick Ass Hostels (I think they're the same company or group), I prefer Budget Backpackers. They cook more food at Budget than at Kick Ass, but KA does have food available also. The pool table at Budget is definitely better than the one at Kick Ass, tho both are free. That said, both are great hostels, especially for the price. Very, very clean, unique artwork all over the place, good bathroom facilities. I'll stay at Budget next time though.
  • 89%
  • 25 Dec 2015 Justin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »