See other Edinburgh properties

Kick Ass Hostels

2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 86% from 25 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Central and well kept hostel. Bathrooms and showers weren't top clean unfortunately. Staff had 0 customer service (grumpy, not even a smile, a thank you or nothing - all 3 people I talked to). However, beds are comfy and rooms spacious.
  • 71%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Excellent hostel, lockers provided. Location is within walking distance of most places. Staff were helpful and nice. Atmosphere was pretty good. Nightly pub crawls and a bar. Facilities were clean and kitchen with fridge. Value was great.
  • 94%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything is good.
  • 83%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Titamaporn Thailand
  • Great hostel, very new, rooms are nice. I stayed in the room near the bar, which was a bit loud, but with earplugs it was OK The bar is nice, they serve food. The music was always loud in the bar, which makes it harder to get a coffee and chill out a bit during the day.
  • 91%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Slovenia
  • Reception service a bit slow, otherwise can't complain
  • 80%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • The hostel is located excellent - in the midst of the old town of Edinburgh with a stunning view on the Edinburgh castle. A lot of pubs around invites to a beer with fish and chips.
  • 74%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Elodie Germany
  • Great hostel overall. Will be better atmosphere when the ground floor area is up and running. Helpful and friendly staff. Nice dorms with lockers and lots of bathrooms nearby. I did wonder why they played Phil Collins in the bar every morning, but I was only there two days, so I'll put it down as a coincidence.
  • 71%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The room I slept in was very spacious and clean! It also had a great view of Grassmarket! Staff were courteous and the bathroom were clean, roomy and colourful! The only thing I didn't like about it was the other guests of the hostel! They were so noisy, even till 3am! As it's so central to everything, (specially bars/pubs) that it invited a lot of drunk and inconsiderate people who ruined the experience for me!Overall, it's a pretty place but I wouldn't return as I prefer a quieter location.
  • 66%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Lorena Australia
  • Good atmosphere, staff were friendly and helpful and facilities were clean. Only negative was the design of the showers and not having proper taps. We would definitely stay here again.
  • 80%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The staff were overall pretty awesome with a couple "too cool" people working there. I'll say this, most people I met there loved the hostel. I can see why but what I didn't like is that A) couldn't open windows all the way which made room hotter than hell and B)the common area is also their kitchen and bar so you can't drink or eat your own stuff. Plus, they play club music loud and all day long. It's cool at night but in the day I personally want to relax in a common area.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »